We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bure River Cottage Restaurant

27 Lower Street | Horning, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
+44 1692 631421
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (31 reviews)
“seafood” (31 reviews)
“lemon sole” (17 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Lower Street | Horning, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 329 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We have been holidaying on the Broads for a number of years and have always wanted to eat here but we usually have our dog and I won't leave him on the boat,so we've spent years reading the super menu and drooling!! Due to our...More

Thank jacquelinefleet
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We dined at Bure River Cottage Restaurant this week whilst holidaying on the Norfolk Broads! Wow! Wow! Wow!! Absolutely superb in every aspect! Staff we polite and helpful, the menu was excellent and OMG the food was simply superb! Probably the best Fish dish I...More

Thank Geoff F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I visited this lovely Little place on the last night of our Broads boating holiday. We were luckily able to get a table on the day and when we arrived we were seated immediately, with a choice of a few tables. The...More

Thank Tuffcustard
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a result of our holiday, in August and early September, we returned to the restaurant via the Southern Comfort Broads trip taking my mother-in-law and two aunts respectively. On both subsequent occasions, the standard was exceptional both in terms of food and how it...More

Thank Jenks008
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant opened over 10 years ago serving only fish in a small village. We all said 'they won't survive without serving meat'. That was until I ate there. A devotee of a certain Seafood Restaurant in Padstow I was blown away by the quality...More

Thank Les24Norwich
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! What a fabulous place! It is by far the best fish i have ever eaten and I have eaten at a lot of good fish restaurants. The waiting staff were all very polite and helpful. The food was piping hot and so so fresh!...More

Thank Sophie J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst visiting Norwich we took the opportunity to try this restaurant. Friendly welcome and a good vibe. You choose from a blackboard which is brought to your table and contains a varied list of seafood dishes. I had Taramasalata with smoked and pickled fish, and...More

Thank john m
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love this little riverside restaurant, with its sheltered courtyard and thatched cottached, Great for snacks throughout lunchtime . Have not tried an evening yet , but certainly will in future. Friendly staff.

Thank Sharon P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us made the mistake of arriving half an hour early for our table booking but it was available for us to sit at. However, the young lady who greeted us had obviously not been on a PR course and we were told in...More

Thank Sally G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed, this restaurant masquerades as a Michelin accredited establishment, according to the sign in the window. Firstly, not very comfortable, more like a fish and chip restaurant by the sea. Mackerel pate very salty, lobster small, sea bream burnt. Nobody checked to see if...More

2  Thank clam49
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The New Inn
683 reviews
.29 km away
The Galley
188 reviews
.07 km away
The Ferry Inn Restaurant
885 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
BeWILDerwood
1,629 reviews
1.03 km away
RAF Air Defence Radar Museum
325 reviews
1.03 km away
Woodforde's
28 reviews
2.81 km away
Ranworth Broad
113 reviews
3.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cabbie0
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fiona v | Reviewed this property |
Hi I'm not the proprietor so you would need to contact them direct. This is a very popular seafood restaurant nice veg is served as sides but I didn't notice any veg options for mains. I'd definitely recommend booking you... More
1
Vote
Spanishharlem83
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from DrunkenWeasel | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately not open for lunch.
0
Votes
FleurCraven
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nigel D | Reviewed this property |
No the Head Chef is Abi and her husband Nigel manages front of hous
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$40 - US$161
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 9:15 AM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 9:15 AM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 9:15 AM
Friday
6:00 PM - 9:15 AM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:15 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Lower Street | Horning, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich  >  Horning
  • Phone Number: +44 1692 631421
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing