We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Inn at Forton

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Eccleshall Road | Forton, Newport TF10 8BY, England
+44 1925 812169
09:00 - 05:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 05:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 156: English reviews
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in advance to book. On arrival we were promptly shown to our table - window seat in a bay/conservatory area of the restaurant. Decor was in keeping with an old inn. Starters and mains ordered for myself and my husband - I can happily recommend the soup and the pate, followed by lamb shank and pie. My food was... More 

Thank emma_k_evans
Swan F, Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you so much to taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am really glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and will pass on your lovely comments to all the team. It really is nice getting such lovely feedback! We look forward to seeing you next time. Best regards. More 

Mid Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice old coaching Inn, large bar & dining room, warm comfortable bedroom, ample car park. In spite it being beginning of May the weather was on the chilly side. The room was clean and looked over the car park. Thick towels, tea/coffee, shower in room. Ate with 2 friends in the evening, plenty on the plate! And home cooked. Seemed... More 

Thank Welshdragon4
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here for Sunday lunch and found it to be excellent. We had starters, I had Pate and my wife had a prawn cocktail. Both very nice, there was so much Pate I could have just had it for my lunch. We then went for the carvery which had 4 different meats, beef, turkey, ham and pork. I had... More 

Thank Nick G
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were given a warm welcome and shown to our seat in the bay window, which was super. We opted for the £5.00 main course menu. Once we had told our very pleasant and helpful young waiter, we strolled up to make our choice. My wife had the ham pie and I had the fish pie. There... More 

Thank DavidFrasier
Swan F, Front Office Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your lovely review, i am so pleased you were happy with both the service and food, this is a new venture for us and we are really hoping it proves as popular as our monday night carvery, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the swan soon. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Monday evening carvery is a special £5.00 per head night. It was booked for us by my son and daughter in law who had goneaway on honymoon' and we were up for a fortnight looking after their property. We went not expecting much for a fiver and we were amazed at the quality of the meal. Everything fresh, piping hot... More 

Thank Bryan B
Swan F, Front Office Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review, we pride ourselves on our monday night carvery and are so pleased you enjoyed it, like you say it has proved exceedingly popular and become a great success, we hope you will visit us again soon and why not try our new launch on a wednesday evening of a... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's been a few years since eating at the swan. Tonight was great. Six of us ate and we were all completely satisfied with our meal. The gammon was exceptional as was the lasagne and fish and chips. The veg was fresh and cooked to perfection. The food was fresh and obviously hand cooked with nothing processed in sight. The... More 

Thank Gill M
Swan F, Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you o much for taking the time to write a review for us! It really is great receiving positive feedback when we do try hard to make sure everything is great for our diners. Really glad you enjoyed the food on our new menu and that the service also lived up to the food! I believe the waiter you... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped after a long drive, although late we hoped that we would be able to get a table. It has always been popular our last visit was probably about 10 years ago , when we lived closer. The pub is very welcoming N/B the site will not let me rate the restaurant but it is 5 stars.

Thank wendy e
Swan F, Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a little review for us. We are really glad you enjoyed your recent visit to us and that we could look after you so well after your long drive! Hope to see you again next time you are passing. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived on a very busy day, having pre-booked. Although the food was lovely, service was incredibly slow, including a long wait for our table. This was a shame as previous visits had been really good.

Thank Rosalind M
Swan F, Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you for writing a review about your visit to the Swan. Sorry to hear about the delay with your service on this occasion, I can only apologise for this as usually we do pride ourselves on looking after our customers extremely well and making sure we have tables ready for all our bookings within 5 minutes. sorry... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

OK, it's a Sunday afternoon and you feel like meat and two veg !! obviously in a Sunday Roast dinner format. Being a child of the 50's and growing up with home cooked Sunday dinners then I think I know a thing or two about the Sunday Roast. So, do you go conveyor belt pub grub or seek out a... More 

Thank telfordpete
Swan F, Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks so much for taking the time to detail your visit to the Swan a couple of weeks ago. It is really nice to hear such a lovely comprehensive review that is so nice about the food and service here at the Swan. I am so glad we lived up to your memories and hope that next time... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

7.00pm table of 8, quite busy, service for drinks poor, Carvery not too busy, poor pieces of meat, little put on plates, veg small dishes for customers to get in a queue without running out every 2nd customer. Worst Carvery for years, then the plates and food almost cold. By 9.00pm deserted of customers, staff looking at you as though... More 

Thank Graham P
Swan F, Manager at Swan Inn at Forton, responded to this review

Hello there Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Swan. I see that you attended in the evening so it must have been for our £5 carvery offer on a Monday. Not to make excuses but your message reads like we had a really quiet shift that Monday where in fact, as this offer... More 

Travellers who viewed Swan Inn at Forton also viewed

Newport, Shropshire
Newport, Shropshire

Been to Swan Inn at Forton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
09:00 - 05:00
09:00 - 05:00
09:00 - 05:00
09:00 - 05:00
09:00 - 05:00
09:00 - 05:00
09:00 - 05:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Eccleshall Road | Forton, Newport TF10 8BY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: +44 1925 812169

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Swan Inn at Forton and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Gnosall, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Swan Inn at Forton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?