We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare & Hounds

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Tarbock $$ - $$$ , British,
Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good13%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (3 reviews)
“pub grub” (3 reviews)
“busy pub” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We came for father's day throughly enjoyed our afternoon really nice food staff very welcoming and attentive. My children love the play area and me and my boyfriend enjoyed a nice cold drink watching our children play. Lovely beer garden to enjoy the glorious weatherMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Hellokitty87jj
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for choosing to spend your special day with us. It's good to hear you enjoyed your food, and it was served with a smile. We're constantly looking to improve our facilities and have now updated our beer garden with some parasols to make...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Standard of food has dropped again, Gammon used to be lovely and there was a nice portion of chips... Gammon quality has dropped and very few chips with meal.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank thompsonp21
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. I will pass on your comments on the quality of the gammon to our meat supplier as this is a concern. The chips should be a measure and therefore standard across the brand, again I will pass these comments...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As part of the Flaming Grill chain, the food is excellent. The staff are lovely too. Great place to visit with family or as a couple. There is a little enclosed section near the bar which is lovely.More

Thank CeePeeB
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It's great to hear that you enjoy coming to see us and that you like our staff. We've worked hard with our kitchen team to ensure quality every time. We do feel that it is indeed our team and lovely customers who make the pub...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with family, food was really good, very reasonably priced,staff and managers very helpful and friendly will definitely be going backMore

Thank Jackie W
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind words Jackie, I believe we spoke during your visit whilst you paid your tab. I'm glad that you and the family enjoyed our 'Funday' overall I feel it was a success and we are already looking at what else we can...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I heard this place was on the up but boy i was wrong. It was the worst meal id eaten i asked 4 a steak med/rare but wen i got it, it was was like eating an old boot and the chips dont get me...More

Thank topdog311
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. We have a new team in and the reviews on the whole have been good. I would be interested to know which steak it was you have had as it could possibly be an issue with the...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We really enjoy coming to the hare and hounds prescot great selection of food and drink excellent value for money and ideal place to eat with family as there is an outdoor play area our 2 children age 4 and 6 play out there for...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Hellokitty87jj
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

It's fantastic that we've helped your anniversary be something special and that you chose us to help you celebrate. Our staff work hard to make people feel welcome and it's wonderful to hear they are getting it right. We look forward to welcoming you and...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Ok visit menus sound mad but to much meat on offer how many types of stakes and burgers do you really need kids area poor could be better ok for a quick drink and the usual pup grubMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank boomarangLiverpool
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks for your review. Our brand is based upon great steaks and burgers hence the diversity we offer around these food items. The kids play area is something we offer within our beer garden area in order to accommodate a little for everyone with limited...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Love the new menu in here. Just been and had the tomahawk pork steak. Beautifully cooked. Same great friendly staff.More

Thank Jonny2011
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

It's great to hear that you like our new menu. There has been a real effort to get new fresh dishes with a blend of our much loved classics. It's also good to hear that the staff are still giving the service that you expect...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were staying at the nearby Village Hotel and found this pub on the internet. Food was fantastic and great value. I had a mixed grill and it arrived about 15 minutes after ordering. The locals were friendly and the manager very welcoming as we...More

Thank Powelly1990
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal and our hospitality. We hope that you visit again soon. Try a Saturday night when our entertainment is on we're rocking! Or even a football match, Liverpool games there's especially a great atmosphere although the general manager...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

My greatest experience in life was going I mean coming there and the people are amongst the greatest people I have ever met and the staff are. but the back room is one of. or the best place I have ever. or wished to have...More

2  Thank John E
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks for your review John. It's funny you notice the clock in the back room, this is two of our regulars. As I'm sure you've got from the vibe we love our regulars and they are what make our pub so special. I'm also sure...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hare & Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Tarbock
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing