We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tannery

6 Chestnut Hill Road, Moira BT67 0LW, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9261 1409
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (145 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Chestnut Hill Road, Moira BT67 0LW, Northern Ireland
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

2 courses for ten pounds.that is main and dessert.none of the mains were appetising so ended up ordering from main menu.fish was big and very nice.chicken and bacon Pitta also very good.pleasant setting and reasonable price. 22.6.17

Thank Eaglehunter T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely start to the evening. Karen was a lovely, attentive and professional member of staff. Ordered oysters to start ..frankly they were disappointing. Personally feel the chorizo compromised the lack of oyster meat ! Midway through the mains a large blue bottle (fly) landed on...More

Thank fionaIreland
The_Tannery, Manager at The Tannery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Fiona, Thank you for taking the time to use Trip Advisor to leave a restaurant review. However, you have left your review on the wrong Tannery page. We are in Moira, Northern Ireland, and there is no one by the name of Karen who...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Tannery for Lunch today. On arrival we were give the choice of two tables, there were at least ten to fifteen tables free. The next couple to arrive wanted a table by the window, they were told that these tables were for four...More

Thank Robin M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Being the Tannery, I went with quite high expectations, as the food in the other restaurants they own is incredible. Unfortunately, i left dissapointed. The Sunday carvery, a poor selection of starters, although the chicken wings were very good. The main course was terrible, flavourless...More

Thank Stephen M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was amazed by the recent visit to the Tannery from the moment we stepped inside. I have seen the advert many, many times on the airport road and chose to ignore it. The ambience of the place hits you immediately you walk through the...More

Thank Smyck1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was my third time here, this time with family. I had the Aberdeen Angus sirloin, which was amazing. Really impressed with this place. Great food, friendly staff, lovely surroundings. Recommended

Thank D B
The_Tannery, Manager at The Tannery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food and friendly staff in bistro but little things do count like no Dingle gin available and no steak knife brought with steak and spoon with noodles dish. It was a Bank holiday so understandable. Overall, will return on next visit to NI.

Thank grahambignell
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was average . The staff were completely devoid of personality, couldn't hold a conversation. Unable to smile.

1  Thank morrison177
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second time here. Staff were helpful. Food was delicious. Would certainly come back. My daughter who is a teenager and can be a bit fussy but for the second time left her plate empty. Nice atmosphere. Good choice of food. Lots of...More

Thank dustybrains
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Saturday 27th May my partner and I had a most unpleasant dining experience in your Bistro. Initially when we rang to make a reservation we were told by an obnoxious person that they don't take bookings for less than six people, and his tone and...More

Thank Sherdo
The_Tannery, Manager at The Tannery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

At The Tannery we strive to deliver excellent food and customer service and on this occasion have obviously not done so for which I sincerely apologise. Your comments regarding the quality of food and service you received have been passed on to the relevant departments...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wine & Brine
299 reviews
1.77 km away
Edenmore Golf & Country Club
184 reviews
4.33 km away
Afternoon Tea at Newforge House
6 reviews
4.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Moira Library
6 reviews
1.94 km away
Ulster Aviation Society
95 reviews
6.51 km away
Hillsborough Castle
57 reviews
9.03 km away
Dromore Library
6 reviews
9.83 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
linwil
Does this restaurant do gift vouchers
16 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from sidley000 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do. We had a gift voucher but when we went to use it, it was out of date. However,we phoned the Tannery and the told us they would still accept it, which was great.
0
Votes
Colleen56
Are you open Christmas day and if yes how much is the set menu regards. Colleen Crothers. My mob is 07940373278
5 November 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Carol C | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I can't answer that. But I doubt that The Tannery is open on Christmas Day best to give them a ring
0
Votes
Kabiven
Is it possible to walk to this restaurant from Moira train station and if so in which direction should I go?
16 September 2015|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Tom M | Reviewed this property |
If you are travelling by train fro Belfast, on leaving platform turn right , cross over the rail lines and keep on this road approx 400 metres Tannery a major building on right Good luck Tom
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$32
Meals
Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Chestnut Hill Road, Moira BT67 0LW, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Armagh  >  Moira
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9261 1409
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on the outskirts of Moira village Co. Armagh, The Tannery Bar, Bistro & Chop House is growing its reputation to match that of its already very well established sister restaurants The Plough Inn Hillsborough and The Pheasant Annahilt. Opened in November 2009 as the newest addition to the Patterson Family Portfolio The Tannery has become a vibrant and dynamic arena for delicious food specialising in the finest local cuts of steak (along with some specials from around the world) with great hospitality & service. We cater for all types of functions, including Weddings, with a large selection of menus available to suit all budgets.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing