We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Inn

Crook Road, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LA, England
+44 1539 821351
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
“roast dinner” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Crook Road, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LA, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at The Wild Boar and ventured to the Sun Inn as we hadn't booked dinner. We hadn't booked at the Sun Inn but we're welcomed and were delighted to see the menu, all if which was homemade. Service was great with a...More

Thank Joe B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed my meal on a recent visit. Delicious baked whole sea bream stuffed with herbs and lemon served with new potatoes and side salad. It was delicious. Great service too.

Thank paleninteresting
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to your next visit. Regards From the team at The Sun Inn

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the Sun Inn having not visited for a few years. We knew it had been taken over since our last visit some years ago hoping to enjoy it as much as we used to. The décor is nice and comfortable but the menu...More

Thank shirlManchester
Pauline H, General Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, this is disappointing to read we will look into the pork pies as this is the first time mentioned, our ham is cooked on site, served with duck eggs and hand cut chips. Lunch times we serve a light snack...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sun inn is a nice old pub on the main crook road from kendal. We happened across it while walking the dogs and stopped for a couple of pints and a nice large sandwich. I can recommend the theakston's Tour de Wot and a...More

Thank Geoff H
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for the review, our seasonal ales from Theakstons change monthly along side our Sundowner and a local ale from many of the breweries in the area Thanks again The team at The Sun Inn

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We recently returned to the sun inn on Thursday lunchtime. It was only a quick visit but the food and pub setting was as good as ever. I had the BLT and my partner had the Fish finger sandwich, they were both delicious! The service...More

Thank globetrotter2k16
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Regards Team at the Sun

Reviewed 22 April 2017

From the moment we arrived at the pub you could not fail to be impressed. We received a friendly welcome from a young lady that I took to be Pauline. We were offered a choice of seats and she ran through the 'specials board' with...More

Thank stevewt4
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Regards The team at The Sun Inn

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Third pub of the week and we are regular Lake District pub visitors, and the welcome here was outstanding. Food equally brilliant. Highly recommended. Good service, good beers, good parking, children and dogs welcome. Well done Crook Inn

Thank Jenny M
Pauline H, General Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you we are delighted you enjoyed your experience and will be back. Regards The team at the Sun Inn

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed both the ambience and food at this establishment. The staff are great and again the food is both reasonably priced and superb quality.

Thank TiggyLancashire
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you for taking the time. Regards Team at The Sun Inn

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We have been coming here a number of times now and the staff are so polite and caring . They cater for all your needs and always check if you need anything else. The food here is amazing the duck off the special board was...More

Thank Stack_11
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very kind to take the timer to review we will see you again next visit. Regards Team at the Sun Inn

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Went for Lunch. Was told menu on the table and not offered anything else like snacks or sandwiches like everyone else. Told to sit in restaurant on that table not even shown to table. Chose food off the basic un imaginative menu and when it...More

Thank Amanda L
Pauline H, General Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review positive and not so positive reviews help us react and improve as sometimes things are seen different from the customers prospective in response to your review You rang a head to book a table of 3 for Sunday lunch at...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Labrador
244 reviews
2.98 km away
The Eagle and Child Inn
329 reviews
3.00 km away
2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths
429 reviews
3.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hawkshead Brewery
405 reviews
3.26 km away
Brant Fell Above the Bustle
93 reviews
5.57 km away
Brewery Arts Centre
314 reviews
5.66 km away
The Antiques Emporium
29 reviews
5.25 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
charlielakedistrict
How much is Sunday lunch
2 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Pauline H | Property representative |
Hiya apologies in my delay, 3 courses £16.50, 2 courses £14.50 1 course 11.50 children are half price and under 2 are free
0
Votes
Andrea67_13
Hi we have booked for Xmas 2017 in a nearby holiday cottage which is within walking distance , what are the opening times etc over Xmas ? and would we have to book in advance for Xmas Eve / Boxing Day ? also I see you have real ales , what are your regular ones ? only asking because my husband loves Old Peculiar ! do you ever stock that one ? Thanks X
16 January 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Pauline H | Property representative |
Hello thanks for your question, we stay open all day from 11am until close over the Festive period I would recommend making a reservation, Christmas Day we are open for food to pre bookings only and close around 5pm. We... More
0
Votes
Monica M
Is the pub dog friendly and should we p rebook a table for Friday lunch
22 September 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Virginia M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they welcome dogs and it's probably best to book, if you want to be on the safe side!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$22
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:30
Thursday
11:00 - 22:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crook Road, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal  >  Crook
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 821351
  • E-mail
Description
Recently refurbished country pub, with two open fires,real ales, extra cold Heineken served from glasses straight from the freezer, locally produced spirits. Selection of Ciders and a seasonal wine list to match the menu.

Seasonal menu with a weekly changing specials board.

All sauces are gluten free, we also use sour dough bread.

Vegetarian choices available.

Children more than welcome