We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gravetye Manor Restaurant

Vowels Lane | Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
+44 1342 810567
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good13%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (19 reviews)
“turbot” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Vowels Lane | Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 448 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Another wonderful meal at Gravetye - it just seems to get better and better ! The new conservatory is wonderful and makes the dining experience far more enjoyable - light and airy and not dingy and stuffy. The food was excellent and the service impeccable...More

Thank Christian V
Reviewed 2 days ago

Went with friends for a 50th birthday treat. Nothing but praise all round. None of us could fault the experience. Definitely the best afternoon tea experience in Sussex (and I've had a few!)

Thank David D
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

It is 20 years since we last ate at Gravetye. We stopped coming as it really was so very dull and old fashioned. We came on a perfect glorious summer day for lunch and everything just couldn’t have been better. Service was friendly and efficient,...More

Thank EMALULA
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the dinner menu paired with wines. The sommelier was excellent and gave really helpful guides to the wine which was matched very well with the excellent food. Sadly the service was not what we would expect from such a pricey venue. It took...More

1  Thank Helen R
Reviewed 1 week ago

the 3 course menu was worth it! cocktails were good too service was great, all of the staff looked experienced did not stay at the hotel though but the rooms looks great. will surely come back if we go to UK again

Thank kimberly l
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I lunch/dine here on a fairly regular basis, but this was my first visit to the new dining room, which is undeniably beautiful. The gardens at Gravetye are very beautiful and the setting enchanting. All the dishes LOOKED beautiful and exhibited promise, which sadly failed...More

Thank tessie1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gravetye has become quite a special place. The new dining room works really well and, as well as feeling more modern, it gives diners the feeling of being close to the beautiful gardens. The gardens themselves are stunning and it is nice that there are...More

Thank wsxtraveller
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us enjoyed a superb meal here this week. We enjoyed drinks in the exceptionally pretty garden beforehand. The meal was served in the new restaurant which overlooks the gardens. Wonderful. The very friendly staff added to the whole experience.

Thank Lajoux
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a tragic shame. Been a regular here for years. The refurbished restaurant has been spectacularly done and is a veritable feast for the eyes, wall-to-ceiling glass overlooking part of the beautiful gardens. More of the glass anon... The food maintains its very high standard....More

3  Thank Want_the_facts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here for Afternoon Tea last week with a friend, as we are always looking for new spots to try out! And I can honestly say it was probably the best afternoon tea I have had in a very long time. Couldn't fault the...More

Thank Emily F
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
787 reviews
.01 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2,446 reviews
2.22 km away
Travelodge East Grinstead
1 review
5.35 km away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge - Gatwick
1,456 reviews
5.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tarana
534 reviews
2.07 km away
The Gardeners Arms
517 reviews
3.83 km away
Dal Nonno Restaurant and Pizzeria
298 reviews
4.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Priest House
31 reviews
1.35 km away
Standen
635 reviews
3.21 km away
Tulleys Farm
1,360 reviews
3.56 km away
St Margaret's Church
13 reviews
1.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AmyMiddlesex
29 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew T | Property representative |
We have a private room that can seat up to 30. The hotel will be closed however, from January 2nd till May for refurbishment. The hotel line will remain open. 01342 810567
1
Vote
DaisyB8887
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew T | Property representative |
Unfortunately not, Breakfast is for residents only
0
Votes
theresa s
12 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mark F | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure they do you can get married there .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$41 - US$41
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Vowels Lane | Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  West Hoathly
  • Phone Number: +44 1342 810567
  • E-mail
Description
From unhurried classical dining in our atmospheric wood panelled restaurant to leisurely lunches in the garden, from traditional Afternoon Teas to our very reasonable Table d’Hote menu – we hope to delight and enchant with our food regardless of the occasion. We are incredibly fortunate to have a one acre walled kitchen garden, which during the summer months provides 95% of all fruit and vegetables we use in the kitchen, assuring you of the very freshest ingredients. "We have an exceptionally talented team in the kitchen who are very keen to keep ingredients as fresh and local as possible. Dishes will change as often as is practical and will offer something new to try regardless of how often our guests dine with us. I look forward to inviting you into our restaurant at an exciting time to try, what I firmly believe to be, some of the most honest and delicious food in food in the area." Executive Chef – Rupert Gleadow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing