We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar

183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
+44 1246 251674
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (31 reviews)
“poppadoms” (24 reviews)
“rice” (22 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepalese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is probably the fifth time that we have visited this restaurant. never had a bad experience yet. We took my sister and brother in law this time as a surprise treat they loved it ,had a real good time. The staff were friendly, polite,...More

Thank pebble1950
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be clear I must say that the staff were very good - friendly, polite, quick and professional - no complaints. The food was a mixed bag - others in our party enjoyed the food but I think I ordered bad. Royal Duck failed to...More

Thank jim m
kathmandu G, General Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jim, Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It's terrible to hear that you didn't your meal. The Royal Duck is a new meal, and so far many people have enjoyed it. It maybe that you didn't pick the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ordered a takeaway from this place a couple of weeks ago. While it was tasty and arrived quickly, the lamb was as tough as old boots and very gristly. I could not eat it. For a place that charges a 33% premium over similar businesses...More

Thank David S
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David, We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us. We believe that our price matches the quality & quantity of our product and has been for many years. It's the first time we heard a complaint about price.We hope you understand...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for food on Tuesday & it was BEAUTIFUL the service was brilliant & nothing was to much trouble! Would recommend

Thank Mark W
kathmandu G, General Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mark, Thank you so much for time and your great review.It's great to hear to enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year, Kathmandu Gurkha Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another excellent veggie meal. Had my first ginger and date naan bread - OMG! Staff are lovely. Cannot be beaten!

Thank Lyn D
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lyn, Thank you for your great review , we hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Came across this place by accident whilst staying in the area. The food was really good especially the naan bread, and different from standard curry house menus. I would definitely recommend it. Service was friendly and fast.

Thank torabashiri
kathmandu G, Owner at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, It's fantastic to hear you have enjoyed your time with us , we hope we see you again very soon. Best Regards, Kathmandu

Reviewed 4 November 2017

hi all went to the katmandu last sunday for the 1st time our normal indian restaurant was closed so we thought we would give it a try we arrived at 2.30 we were welcomed on arrival shown to our table ordered the drinks then went...More

Thank wendyemma
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Wendy, Thank you for your lovely feedback it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed our Himalayan spices. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Best Wishes, Kathmandu

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Had the sizzling lamb it was fantastic they even made a milder version for my wife. Excellent service and at a reasonable price. Will be returning soon.

Thank Ian W
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Namaste Ian, It's great to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and we hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Kathmandu

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This was a challenge for this restaurant as we were 17 people however the food arrived at the same time and was hot. Unfortunately the food quality and service was average and having been to Nepal didn't straightaway recognise all the dishes we were served...More

Thank Wookeymartin
Reviewed 12 October 2017

A friend suggested we visited here..and I loved it! great presentation and good food flavour! needed a little help with the extensive menu..but was very impressed! I had a duck starter,followed by a very tasty lamb dish! we also had a great bottle of wine...one...More

Thank andyfab
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you Andy for your great review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope we see you again very soon. NAMASTE, Kathamndu Gurkha

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Horseshoes
267 reviews
.47 km away
The Six Halts
206 reviews
1.12 km away
Cobs R Us Ltd
9 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chuckles
11 reviews
.92 km away
The Crispin Inn
117 reviews
4.27 km away
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
102 reviews
6.13 km away
Hardwick Hall and Gardens
1,844 reviews
7.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bazatpond
25 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Craig M | Reviewed this property |
Agreed, apparently if the restaurant is busy (all 6 tables booked) then you have to wait 2 hours to eat. ps. my name is Craig!
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Clay Cross
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 251674
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing