We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fairfax Arms

Main Street, Gilling East, England
+44 1439 788212
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“samphire” (2 reviews)
“halibut” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Gilling East, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here on a Saturday evening with five friends, service and food was excellent. Would definately recommend.

Thank Thetourists15
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your recommendation

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here with two friends for a bite to eat and found the food excellent , one of the nicest Sunday dinners that I have had . Servers and staff were very good and the tetleys draught was excellent. Price was slightly on the high...More

Thank Wincando
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked four days in advance to sit in the new orangery, on arrival orangery full of cyclists so we were put in the bar. Long wait for order to be taken, food arrived and in fairness was excellent. At no point did anyone come and...More

Thank Tim P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On entering the restaurant we were told we would have to sit in the bar as our pre booked table was not available as they had let a crowd in our place, a little disappointed as a birthday meal so we were shuffled to an...More

1  Thank hazel s
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We call here on our way back from Helmsley although too early to eat this pub looks excellent and we will definitely return. We enjoyed a drink sat outside in the sun by the stream- what an idyllic setting - a quintessentially British pub definitely...More

Thank Mark L
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for your review, you are completely right about the stream running in front of the pub, we are very lucky to be where we are!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't complain about the food at all and the service from the staff is very pleasant but when we visited last there were only two waitresses on duty and we had to ask twice for our drinks, the extra knife never arrived and generally the...More

Thank C M
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you weren't explained about the shortage of staff, you should have been, I am pretty sure of the day that you were on about, when we had 2 staff members ring in sick at the last minute. I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a lunch both Whitby Haddock and Local Roast Beef excellent, great service/beer/wine and nice location for a walk e.g. Ampleforth. New addition of the Conservatory is superb very well built looks great, but on a sunny day we sat out near the stream....More

Thank Por99ter
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the complimentary review, I am glad tat you like us so much, however will not stop until we make it your number one pub in North Yorkshire! See you again soon

Reviewed 18 August 2017

good food , pleasant staff , good ambiance , wine selection excellent and meals to suit all tastes would definitely go back-- the chef should be complimented , i live locally but gave up due to disappointing meals

Thank maldivesfundiver
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, we are always trying to improve, I will most certainly pass on the compliments to the chef

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Visited with 12 umpires at the Ampleforth Festival. We went on a Wednesday when it is discounted haddock and chips. All meals were excellent, great staff, friendly landlord. Could not be faulted.

Thank sjcsystems
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

It is always a pleasure to have you at The Fairfax during the festival, just a shame there was so much rain this year! Hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We had very nice rooms with a modern touch and the dinner was very good!! The young staff is friendly and helpful. Ich can defenitely recommend this place!

Thank Ute J
EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for writing your review and recommending us.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
White Horse Inn
195 reviews
3.79 km away
The Malt Shovel
142 reviews
5.40 km away
The Royal Oak Inn
125 reviews
5.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ryedale Miniature Railway
24 reviews
.18 km away
Ampleforth Abbey
206 reviews
2.41 km away
Hovingham Hall
13 reviews
5.35 km away
Nunnington Hall
541 reviews
6.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jomo59
22 March 2017|
Answer
Response from FairfaxArms | Property representative |
Yes of course, we have tables in the bar area where we allow dogs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Gilling East, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Gilling East
  • Phone Number: +44 1439 788212
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing