We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mekong River

625 Island Hwy E, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1T5, Canada
+1 250-586-8000
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“spring rolls” (25 reviews)
“chow mein” (19 reviews)
“ginger chicken” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Vietnamese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
625 Island Hwy E, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1T5, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Visited MR with family for dinner. The 3 of us each ordered a meal and we shared, so we could try everything. We shared a spring roll, which was very flavourful. We then shared ginger chicken, chicken chow mein, and seafood hot pot. Although they...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Norstor1
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This was pretty good Vietnamese restaurant. Their dishes were somewhat different from what we got used to in Vietnamese restaurants in SF Bay area but still very good. We ordered 2 small soups (wonton and hot & sour) and lettuce wraps w/ chicken. As we...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank nadia_pleasanton
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

The most amazing food. I had curry scallops with noodles and it was top notch. Huge portion for leftovers. We came back for a second meal while we were here as food was that great and customer service was wonderful. Teen(ager) is part comedian part...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 100mile
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Absolutely terrible and overpriced. Despite being really hungry we only had a couple of bites. I found all our dishes very bland, and none of that traditional Vietnamese taste. Horrid decor. Kitchen and dishes seemed dirty. Avoid.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Elisabeth C
Thien P, Manager at Mekong River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

I apologize for your bad experience at our establishment. After reading your review, I checked with all of my staff to see if we had any complaint about our food these last few days. None of my staff recalled anyone complaining or leaving their plates...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018

You want? No Crave Good Asian food? Then this is the place. You will get good personal service, generally by the owner, who has plenty of suggestions if you just can't manage to make the final choice because there is so much good stuff here.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank bob b
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We have been several times and the food and service have always been great. Our most recent visit was no exception. Being creatures of habit, we ordered the 'usual': Crispy Chowmein with beef for me and Crispy Seafood Chowmein for my wife (X14 and F1...More

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank MesaMac
Thien P, Manager at Mekong River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you! It was our pleasure to server your table.

Reviewed 21 May 2018

Was craving lettuce wraps, so a tripadvisor google of that lead us to Mekong for the first time since moving to the Oceanside area. The establishment is right on the lower Island highway, so easy to get to. Very low key looking building, nicely ramped...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lynda D
Thien P, Manager at Mekong River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you! Hope to see you 2 again!

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Wow the food just gets better and better fast friendly service I highly recommend the soup or lemon grass ckicken always hot always good great prices clean place clean silver ware at least a 10/10 will be back again and again! 😊

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Donn T
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The restaurant is definitely dated and need upgrading. The food is average and service is quite good. This would not be a place that I would take someone for a special night out...or a celebration. When I look at it, it is more of an...More

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Elly Y
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Finally was able to make it for lunch and try the Pho. It was good, not the best I have had but still worth checking out. The staff are always awesome and the food is consistent. My favourite is still the curried chicken.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lenoralustik
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 206 hotels in Vancouver Island
Skylite Motel
45 reviews
.46 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
650 reviews
1.51 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1,456 reviews
1.82 km away
Sea Edge Motel
72 reviews
1.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lefty's Restaurant
872 reviews
1.03 km away
Amrikko's Fine Indian Cuisine
231 reviews
.41 km away
Sushi Deco!
61 reviews
1.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Parksville Community Park and Skate Park
387 reviews
1.17 km away
Mount Arrowsmith Brewing Company
19 reviews
.53 km away
Eat Fresh Urban Market
15 reviews
.92 km away
Sunset Lanes
12 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Donn T
2 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sharon863 | Reviewed this property |
I often have a plate that has rice noodles, spring rolls and chicken. It comes with a light slightly sweet dipping sauce. Food is very authentic Vietnamese. My partner has a dish with crispy noodles. Mine is GF. They also... More
1
Vote
HelenS4943
10 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Thien P | Property representative |
No there isn't a buffet and we are all booth so the max is 7 but we can seat you at 2 booth side by side
0
Votes
TonyRenzetti
22 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Daywalca B | Reviewed this property |
They do not deliver based on the flyer I took away in 2015
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 625 Island Hwy E, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1T5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Parksville
  • Phone Number: +1 250-586-8000
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing