We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shady Rest Waterfront

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3109 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C5, Canada
+1 250-752-9111
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 594: English reviews
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

The food us pretty good with a large and varied menu but what stands out is the excellent service and the wonderful view.

Helpful?
Thank Doochie41
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer We are pleased to read that your time with us was well enjoyed, and thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding our service. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Always a nice view from shady and even know it was busy we got great service and I loved the banana french toast yummy

Helpful?
Thank Barb D
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share a positive comment with the TripAdvisor world. We are a team of hard working, real people, and we take pride in knowing that our efforts helped to make your New Year's Brunch worth remembering. Please do come again soon. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

After reading several reviews and some recommendations from some friends, we joined another couple for a meal at the Shady Rest. It was late evening, we were one of the last tables of the night. All of our parry ordered standard pub style fair, (wings, nachos, burgers etc) and a drink. Given the reviews I had read, I was excited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Quinsam80
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer This is the world we are living in. Despite rave reviews from your friends and fellow reviewers, we didn't blow your mind so it's two stars for us. Fair? Just? No matter. Decision made. We are here to serve, and we will always try our best to ensure our guests feel value while in our care. The challenge... More 

Level Contributor
123 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The family went here for lunch to enjoy the view. The food was generally your typically greasy bar food, but the veggie curry on the seasonal menu was particularly bad. It was very mushy and mostly grey-brown. Quite disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey L
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer Generally speaking, it sounds like the curry bowl was not for you. We are sorry that you felt disappointed with your choice, but, hey, nothing ventured nothing gained, right? Next time you stop by to enjoy the view, perhaps you should try one of our other items to see if there is a better fit for you. After... More 

Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

We frequently go to this Restaurant & Pub, as the view is fantastic, and food is good. We always take our out of town visitors there. Portions of food are quite generous.

Helpful?
Thank Berthab41
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer Thank you for your kind review and continuing to choose us when treating your out of town guests to a meal. We look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Had lunch with family. Great place to eat. The staff were very attentive to our requests of substitutions and other nuances. Lovely view of the ocean, Seals, Eagles and ducks. Would recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer We are proud that you took the time to post a positive comment for us, as it is nice to read that our hard work helped our deserving guests feel looked after. Many thanks for joining us, and we hope to serve you again soon. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We dropped in for quick apps and beverage before the wedding. We were a large crowd and on a schedule but accommodated well. Kettle chips were fab, dry ribs - won't have those next time. Service was fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank Dave1xyz
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer Thanks for stopping by - all twenty of you!! We are pleased to read that your party felt well looked after, and we were able to serve everyone while maintaining your schedule. That's a solid win/win in our books. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

a beautiful view of the ocean and cruise ships going by .the food is excellent /fish and chips are the best .order extra crispy a must .reservation is a must on weekends . staff very friendly.very easy foe handycap people .

Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer We, too, enjoy the view. Never gets old. Thank you for writing us a positive review. We are glad to read that your time with us was well enjoyed, and kudos for adding some detail for those who have not been before. Hope to see you again soon at The Shady Rest. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

We stopped at the Shady Rest for lunch, two couples. Food was great and spectacular view of the water. A great afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank John R
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer Thank you for your kind words of encouragement. We read and respond to all of our feedback here on TripAdvisor, and our staff are always appreciative when guests take the time to share a positive reflection of their time with us. Cheers, Shady Management More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Looked forward to lunch at the Shady. Ordered my usual Nicoise Salad and was really disappointed when it was served with way past ripe grape tomatoes with obviously the bad parts cut off, but missing a couple of whole bad ones. They knocked 25% off the bill after this was pointed out, what is the kitchen thinking and is there... More 

Helpful?
Thank NanimoMelissa
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer We - like the rest of the world, I'm sure - are very sorry to read that you had a less than awesome salad while in our care. Our kitchen team sincerely prefers when our guests are satisfied with the products they create. Judging by the story you told, it seems that you have been to The Shady... More 

Travellers who viewed The Shady Rest Waterfront also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Shady Rest Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$24
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3109 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Qualicum Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 250-752-9111
Description
The Shady has been a local tradition since 1924!Come see for yourself why we're still having fun after all these years. Great food, friendly service, and a breathtaking oceanfront setting await. We look forward to serving you!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Shady Rest Waterfront and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Calgary, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shady Rest Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?