We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worth Matravers Tea and Supper Room

Opposite the Duck Pond, Worth Matravers, Swanage BH19 3LQ, England
+44 1929 439368
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (60 reviews)
“roast beef” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Opposite the Duck Pond, Worth Matravers, Swanage BH19 3LQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

There may be but we did not find out if there was as they were closed .An idyllic spot but disappointing that is not possible to add to the sineage ‘ ‘Closed On Monday ,Tuesday ,Wednesday ‘ We drove several miles out of our way...More

Thank APavl0va
diana l, Owner at Worth Matravers Tea and Supper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

It is a shame that you came out of your way on a day we were closed. You obviously use TripAdvisor ...it is a shame you didn't look at our opening times on this site, or others, before making your journey. We clearly advertise our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been to the Worth Matravers tea and supper rooms a number of times and it is always superb. Fresh fish, local ciders and even a chocolate cream tea. Service is friendly and prompt. Decor is delightfully mismatched vintage. Always a pleasure.

Thank MunsterJo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful scones, cream and jam. All tasted home made and scones served warm. Coffee was rich and strong, and tea served in a proper teapot. Made very welcome. Highly recommended.

Thank mallyinswanage
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday lunch (roast beef, or smoked haddock) was absolutely delicious. The kids nearly took the pattern off the beautiful vintage crockery. The welcome was relaxed and warm even though we arrived with snowy boots and a dog. It felt like home. Couldn’t have asked for...More

Thank AJB21
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Eaten here several times and always been impressed with both the quality of the food and the friendly service. The place is small and quirky but with loads of local character. Best food in the Purbecks without a doubt and close to the best Pub...More

Thank Paul C
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The food just gets better and better Lovely staff a real favourite of ours very hard not to have three corses All locally sourced Thank you

Thank nickwM862LK
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Been visiting here for many years with my family and it is always a pleasure. Great staff and food. The sun always seems to shine when we visit so sit in the garden and enjoy the coffee and scones. See you again very soon.

Thank hrkkent
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

What wonderful staff amazing service, if you go to the Isle of Purbeck you have to eat here. Gratin of Dorset crab beautiful, sticky toffee pudding and lemon pot dessert awesome. Can not recommended this wonderful place high enough.

Thank fiona c
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We ate here on a Saturday night and had booked well in advance. The food was good with a non-standard menu. The dessert choice was unusual but they were good too. The service was good.

Thank cngj
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We have visited many times at different times of day, this was our first supper visit. We were not disappointed, the service was brilliant, the food amazing both the vegetarian and meat dishes. I read some reviews that thought it expensive but I recently visited...More

Thank Denise4518
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Worth Matravers Hotels
Mortons House Hotel
999 reviews
4.73 km away
The Bankes Arms Hotel
144 reviews
4.81 km away
Gainsborough House Hotel
1 review
5.68 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
566 reviews
5.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Arms
175 reviews
2.95 km away
Corfe Castle Model Village
264 reviews
4.78 km away
The New Inn
465 reviews
5.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Aldhelms Head - South West Coast Path walk
59 reviews
2.30 km away
South West Coast Path - Dancing Ledge and Langton Matravers
45 reviews
2.76 km away
Dorset Waterpark
1,016 reviews
5.51 km away
Corfe Castle
2,213 reviews
4.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
milli447
1 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from diana l | Property representative |
Hello, It is best to phone in advance to reserve a table as we can get very busy.
0
Votes
Sue B
4 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from diana l | Property representative |
Oh yes we can, it would be lovely to have you all.... give me a call and we can discuss 01929 439368
2
Votes
24 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from nickylancaster | Reviewed this property |
Hi, My daughter & son-in-law took their well behaved dog into the restaurant, as did several other customers.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Opposite the Duck Pond, Worth Matravers, Swanage BH19 3LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Purbeck  >  Swanage  >  Worth Matravers
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 439368
Description
The perfect place in Purbeck for lunch, vintage afternoon teas and lovely suppers too!!! Come dine with us in vintage splendour. Sip tea in our pretty garden. Our food is always fresh and lovely. This is an experience that will make you smile.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing