We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Oak

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
385 Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8TN, England
+44 117 989 2522
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our local and how a pub should be. Friendly service, Warm atmosphere, and SUPERB rump steak. Seriously. Do not miss this pub if you're in the area. Long may it reign.

Helpful?
Thank TingleUK
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Six of us had prebooked for Sunday lunch and we ordered 2 beef, 2 Lamb and 2 kids meals. The pub was not even half full. The first 3 plates came out fine along with side plates of veg. It was another 15 minutes before the second 3 came out. So, one half of the table eat after the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve E
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fancied a beer with my Brother after Christmas and whilst strolling past thought we'd drop in for a beer and munch. Ordered an Otley beer which was lovely if not a tad over priced but the food was where the surprise lay. At £10.50 for a burger and some chips that is a way too much. The food was tasty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
lincoln
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Great atmosphere, very good service - friendly, helpful, smiling and courteous - with good food at a reasonable price too! Couldn't have asked for more!

Helpful?
Thank simonevolincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Great food, great price and quick service would highly recommend. Menu looks great & staff were friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing Sunday roast. Expensive (£14 for beef) but worth it. Pretty big place, easy to get a table. Table service too. Go check it out .

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Popped out for a roast, arrived to the pub, a few tables reserved but one was not, asked the waitress if it was ok to sit to which she replied 'uh probably' so took our chances. Ordered drinks and 1 beef and 1 veggie roast at the bar (as they were 'too busy for normal table service') and settled down... More 

Helpful?
Thank loupan85
Royal O, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our pub. Sundays are an incredibly busy day for us and generally we are fully booked and tend to run out food towards the end of the day. We always provide vegetarian options and they are incredibly popular, hence why they sometimes sell out. Please accept our apologies that you did... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

The resturant was not very busy, however staff were rushing around all flustered and unwilling to help get things such as clean cutlery or sauces for the table. When i went into the bar area to hunt down some cutlery there were none around so i asked one of the members of staff, she said i would have to wait... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bells03
Royal O, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our pub. Sundays are incredibly busy for us and clearly some staff need a help in coping with the pressure of serving a lot of people in a relatively short space of time. We will certainly look at ways to improve this as we pride ourselves in ensuring people leave feeling... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The pork is amazing soft with perfect crackling, and I mean best in the 30 odd other Bristol roasts we have had. Otherwise nice detail and well seasoned extras. Nice pub but Sundays are busy for good reason

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Mismatched furniture, ok beer, out of place bland jazz, lovely beams painted over with grey-green camouflage style paint. Nothing to make me stick around for a second pint.

Helpful?
Thank Tony C

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 385 Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bristol
  • Phone Number: +44 117 989 2522
Description
The Royal Oak, situated on Gloucester Road in North Bristol, reopened in July 2009 after an extensive refurbishment by owners Neil and Olivia Greenwood. The pub offers a relaxing environment to enjoy a range of quality drinks and fresh, seasonal food. We are very proud to have won Pub of the Year in our first of year of opening as voted for by Evening Post readers.

We are very welcoming of children and have a large family friendly garden to be enjoyed throughout the year. A new addition to the garden for 2012 is our outdoor kitchen and wood fired pizza oven - check our What's on page for information on opening hours.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?