We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Green Man

) #358 of 549 Restaurants in Cambridge $$ - $$$ , , Vegetarian Friendly
55 High Street | Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9HZ, England
+44 1223 844903
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (6 reviews)
“gammon” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
55 High Street | Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9HZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of friends walked from Cambridge on a quiet Tuesday lunchtime, a regular journey. It has an attractive long and narrow garden with plenty of tables/benches within a short distance but out of sight of the river. We selected from and enjoyed the good...More

Thank biggreentravel
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

biggreentravel, Thankyou for your 4 star review! I am glad you found us accommodating. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Alice Waterson Deputy Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We've lived just outside of Cambridge for nine years now and been to the Green Man about ten times during that time. Its always been pretty average, but at least it was close and edible until Sunday 6th August that is. Service was as I...More

Thank orbitaluk
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

orbitaluk, Thankyou for your review. Its pleasing to hear that you found the service to be of a good standard, but am sorry to hear that the food on this occasion was not and you were let down with poor main courses. I am glad...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here more than once since it's very close to where I live. On occasion people I am to meet with suggest this venue. The place is OK ish for drinking, but the kitchen is AWFUL! DO NOT EAT HERE! Not only will...More

1  Thank AndersWR
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

AndersWR, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review on several sites. I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your Wagyu burger. I know from your other reviews that you ate this last Friday- the same day I ate one on...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice meal but a little over priced. Staff were welcoming and helpful. The meal arrived quickly. The veg on the roast menu had a strong herb flavour which wasn't to my tast. Red cabbage is served a lot but I find it unusual to have...More

Thank Helen D
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Helen D, Thankyou for your 4 star review! Its great that you enjoyed yourselves on Sunday. Next time if you would prefer us to alter an element of the dish to your liking do let us know as our chefs will be happy to help....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had one day in Trumpington and this place was recommended by our hotel. Overall it was a good experience. The food was very good and we had no problems. I had the expensive burger - massaged cows. Go for the regular burger. The soup...More

Thank Pjay99
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pjay99, Thankyou for you 4 star review! I am really pleased you enjoyed yourselves at The Green Man. I hope you come in again if you are ever near by. Kind regards Alice Waterson Deputy Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten here on many occasions. The food is good if expensive. However, the service is abysmally slow.More

Thank rickfoster
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

rickfoster, Thankyou for your review. I am glad you consistently enjoy the food our chefs prepare here at The Green Man, but I'm sorry you have experienced slow service. Our Front of House team work tirelessly to look after every one of our guests so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I wa really looking forward to going for a meal last night here with husband and friend. Furniture falling apart, dirty tables, guessing that's why lights low. Drinks expensive. Thought oh well restaurant will be great, waited ages for food to arrive, my chicken and...More

Thank Nicky L
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Nickly L, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us feedback. It is so important to us to know what our guests think we can improve on. I am really sorry that you had a poor experience. I myself was working on Thursday evening and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at a local hotel and this restaurant was recommended to us, the food was delicious and the staff were very good, would definately visit again.

Thank Les-Mike
Green_Man_Cambs, Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Les-Mike, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a glowing review! I am so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed dining with us. Kind regards Alice Waterson Deputy Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for lunch, the food was nice but very over priced for the amount of food you get. Probably won't return to eat but would go back for drinks.More

Thank meganjennieh7
Green_Man_Cambs, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Megan, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent visit. I do hope that you passed your comments on to the Duty Manager - we strive to deliver great value for money within the demographic we sit in. If you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went with a group of friends. Friendly, helpful service. Although the food was good and nicely presented it was on the expensive side. Great position in the centre of the village which is wasted.More

Thank sharonhassan
Green_Man_Cambs, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to pop onto Trip Advsior and leave some feedback regarding your recent visit. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed great service, food and loved the presentation. I would love to hear further feedback based on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hudson's Ale House
82 reviews
.23 km away
The Orchard Tea Garden
858 reviews
1.13 km away
The Rupert Brooke
329 reviews
1.43 km away
Red Lion
603 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cambridgeshire Wine School
407 reviews
2.45 km away
Cambridge University Botanic Garden
1,079 reviews
2.20 km away
Grantchester Village
254 reviews
1.45 km away
Sheep's Green / Lammas Land
15 reviews
2.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane M
14 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I am not the manager / owner of the pub...
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 High Street | Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 844903
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing