We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor

) #103 of 550 Restaurants in Cambridge $$ - $$$ , British,
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
+44 1223 353554
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (19 reviews)
“pudding” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

A lovely spot on the riverside terrace - definitely get there as early as possible to get a table by the water. Be prepared to give up your spare seats and have people sharing the table! So while the setting is great the food is...More

Thank hannahclarkson
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Great to see that you were happy to share your table and thanks for that, as you know tables are limited! Our chicken flatbread is super popular and wonder if you could mail us to let us know what the problem was. We are however...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

If the sun is shining (and you are able to get a seat outside), then there is no better spot in Cambridge for enjoying a cold beer on a hot day.

Thank brawandmichty
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We agree and we are also amazing in winter so do visit us again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here as part of a stag do, it is right by the river and the canal boat jetty. It makes for a perfect place to have a drink and people watch. The only problem is the pub gets extremely busy due to its location...More

Thank ghockley1981
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hope you enjoyed your time in Cambridge and on our terrace! We do indeed have a great range of drinks from bottles to ales, to local spirits including the very local Cambridge gin - a must try! We do get super busy but we think...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a good pub in Cambridge with a riverside terrace, gets a busy on a sunny day bcs everyone wants to sit next to the river. Helpful staff and prices average for drinks. I know the food is good but a tad pricey for...More

Thank TomAndBeth2017
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are indeed a lovely place by the river and we do indeed get very busy especially when the sun is shining - we are also an amazing place to be in the winter as the river is just as mesmerising and the punts are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Anchor has very good food, excellent burgers, pretty good service and a pleasant experience. 10% service charge automatically added? Should leave it to the customers to decide.More

Thank ianwebb75
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey, glad to hear you enjoyed and thank you for your feedback. It is on our menus that we add a discretionary service charge for our table service however we by no means are offended if you ask us to remove it our main priority...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Anchor has a really nice atmosphere, service was great and all our meals where lovely. We received our bill and to our surprise a 10% service charge had been added. We looked around and we couldn't see any obvious signs on the wall stating...More

Thank milliejp2017
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We do advise that a discretionary 10% service charge is made to all our bills however this is discretionary and we will always happily take it off for you, just let us know. We are however delighted to hear that you had a lovely time...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely table in the upstairs restaurant that overlooked the river. Food was great and service was good.

Thank livinglifetothefull1
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving us a review and we are delighted that you got one of the best tables in the house! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing special at all. The food is average, you could get the dishes and quality in any pub, and the place is a bit not that great... Overall a very average affair which makes it overpriced.More

Thank Apostolos T
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we always strive to be well above average in everything we do from drinks to food and to service. Our team training is never ending. Our location speaks for itself and do...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a team drinks session. Excellent pub with interesting beer selection that is well worth sampling. Ideal location right on the Cam. Ideal for a punt !

Thank Peter B
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great we could help and there is always an interesting selection of drinks on our bar - we never stop exploring new and old! See you next time....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant view and friendly staff. Great place to go and fuel up especially after punting. Food was okay.

Thank Kaylee C
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you had an amazing day in Cambridge and the combo of punting and the Anchor goes hand in hand. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bread & Meat
522 reviews
.31 km away
The Cambridge Chop House
1,417 reviews
.27 km away
Smokeworks
656 reviews
.30 km away
Loch Fyne
1,193 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
King's College Chapel
2,440 reviews
.34 km away
Fitzwilliam Museum
2,500 reviews
.34 km away
King's College
438 reviews
.29 km away
Corpus Clock
351 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mellor2015
3 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from anchor c | Property representative |
Hey Great to hear that you enjoyed your ales here. On the pump on Friday we had our Greene King IPA and Stedfast - both available at all times and we also had we believe as they they fly out Bishop Nicks 1555, Hop Stash... More
1
Vote
Amanda M
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from anchor c | Property representative |
Our apologies that we did not come back to you our account had been blocked and we were unaware! We have access at road level to our upper seating area but due to the nature of our old building there is no access anywhere... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$35
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Delivery, Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 353554
  • E-mail
Description
The Anchor Pub boasts an enviable location on the River Cam which proves an amazing spot to watch all the punters going by.

A great selection of real ales, craft beers from local brewers, a wine list from around the world with a great selection of soft drinks too. We have something for everyone!

Our menus change with the seasons and our dining room is very popular so make sure you make a reservation. Innovative food using seasonal & locally sourced ingredients.

Great for every occasion summer or winter we have it covered and we truly look forward to welcoming you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing