We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fish House Ely

The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England
+44 1353 662720
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (27 reviews)
“quality fish” (2 reviews)
“chip shop” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 8:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Seafood
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The fish and chips here are mediocre and certainly not the best in Ely. Today my round pound coins were refused here! The deadline for spending them is tomorrow (15th Oct)! Businesses then have 6 months or so to cash them in at their bank...More

Thank Catherine M
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

First of all I must apologies on behalf of our staff for not excepting your old £ coins we should have taken them, you are right the deadline was the 15/10/17 but the banks have not given the retailer a deadline on how long we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here on Tuesday, very busy as it was Market day. Superb fish and chips. Lovely light batter on the cod and great chips, not greasy. Very good portion and well priced. Very friendly staff. The best fish and chips I have had for a...More

Thank Allan R
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for you kind comments.

Reviewed 1 week ago

After buying fish and chips from another outlet in the recent past I was almost put off, so to restore my liking I returned here. As always not let down, great service from the ever friendly staff and excellent freshly prepared food.

Thank Dunelm59
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

So pleased to read you enjoyed you meal with us today, thanks for leaving a review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent fresh fish and newly cooked chips, with hot mushy peas, sitting in the sun watching the world go by. What a great place to have a lunch!

Thank TheCiotog
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, pleased to read you enjoyed you meal and time with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fish and chips are nice - but sometimes can be dry as there can be a big queue on sunny days - as this face the market square.

Thank Kevin911T
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is much appreciated.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was here 2 years before this trip from USA and it has really improved. This is the best Fish N'Chips we found on our 17 day trip. Naturally when you visit England you try to eat as much as you can when it comes to...More

Thank KINGOFOMAHA
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was also nice to read that you thought we had improved since your last visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the team. Enjoy the rest of you stay...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited whilst in Ely on Saturday, busy with the market being on but great service and lovely hot food, best fish and chips this far from the coast, lovely white fish and chips to die for, sat outside to eat as nice day but seating...More

Thank brodybunch1117
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for all your positive feedback.

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Got to be one of the best chip shops I've visited. Love the idea of a mini meal as my fiancée can't eat a full portion. Great curry sauce, friendly and highly efficient staff. Love it!

Thank Meat-eater249
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Very pleased to see you enjoyed your meal with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments.

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

A very delicious lunch with very generous portions! Quick service with a smile and outside seating on the square. They even sell the crispies you get at the bottom of a packet of chips!! 😍

Thank emsswild
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments.

Reviewed 31 July 2017

A very warm welcome in a traditional fish and chip shop, seating indoors and out. Beautifully cooked food, good size portions, big mug of tea, jolly good prices, friendly staff, premises nice and clean, nothing fancy. What more could you ask for? A lovely break...More

Thank Effie G
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us, many thanks for you kind comments.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coxs
7 reviews
.07 km away
Market Street Brasserie
132 reviews
.11 km away
Samovar Tea House
163 reviews
.20 km away
The Almonry
393 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ely Cathedral
2,067 reviews
.19 km away
Oliver Cromwell's House
462 reviews
.44 km away
The Stained Glass Museum
161 reviews
.21 km away
Ely Museum
100 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nick B
21 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Barry S | Property representative |
Many thanks for your quick reply, I will follow up on the poor quality of the chips you purchased.
0
Votes
CharlesF39
5 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barry S | Property representative |
Hi Charles, I can confirm that the Fish House Ely has nothing to do with the Petrou Bros, I have spoken with Tripadvisor to try and get them removed but it is proving very difficult.
1
Vote
Barry F
5 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Barry S | Property representative |
We are a 2 minute walk from the Waitrose car park in Brays Lane CB7 4QJ, please be aware that parking is limited to 2 hours but is free of charge. Thank you for you enquiry and we hope you visit us.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$9
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England (Formerly Petrou Brothers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 662720
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing