We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Maid's Head

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unpretentious, lovely log fire, excellent sausages and mash & beef stew and dumplings. Just what was needed after a beautiful, bracing walk around Wicken Fen. Well done- very pleasant service.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalker1954
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered the fish and chips and it was fantastic! Large portions and great service! I can't wait to go back and try the rest of the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved how warm and cozy the restaurant felt when I was away from home for Christmas. Everyone who works there is lovely and the food is superb. I would definitely recommend The Maid's Head to anyone looking for a pleasurable meal.

Helpful?
Thank Liv P
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoy your time with us, we hope you will visit us again soon More 

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall I had a great experience at The Maid's Head. Some friends and myself stopped in over the holidays, and the staff makes every effort to have you feeling at home. A warm and inviting fireplace, paired with good drinks and even better food, led to a great evening. I will definitely be back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Savannahjen
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A small group of us went including someone who can only eat a small amount. The staff were very helpful, even cutting down the cost of the person with small amount eating. Cuisine was local produce plus some other British modern cuisine and it was very well cooked, very well seasoned and served piping hot. Would recommend this restaurant to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred W
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are always pleased to meet the requirements of our customers, be it smaller portions or allergy issues. As all of our food is cooked to order we can make adjustments as required. More 

London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fish and chips priced at 13 pounds needs to be spectacular. This was battered like a school dinner and with undercooked peas and oven chips. A great way to leave someone feeling disgruntled and cheated ahead of a walk around the fen. A decent enough quaint setting makes this a 1 rather than 2 but id still avoid unless left... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm79
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am really sorry you did not enjoy your fish and chips, this is one of our popular meals and we have many customers who order this on a regular basis. I can only apologise if you did not enjoy your meal and if it not come up to our normal standard, I can also assure you we do supply... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We find the meals here are not consistent .. have had lovely meals but also been disappointed maybe different chefs? Today it was mid afternoon and there was a lovely cosy atmosphere with fire burning. however although plenty of staff around (generally laying up tables etc) no one seems to be on the button with prompt serving, the waitress forgot... More 

Helpful?
Thank steve712
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am really sorry you were disappointed with your visit to The Maids Head, we have recently recruited some new staff and obviously the training was not adequate before they were allowed to work on the restaurant floor. We were aware of the bread issue as our past supplier had let us down on deliveries, we have now changed supplies.... More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impressions were good, staff changed our table so it was more accessible for my elderly mother in law. Staff attentive and drinks arrived quickly, sadly it went rapidly downhill from there. Took 40 minutes for 2 starters to arrive, then mains took another 35 minutes. My burger was obviously microwaved it was a grey colour and tasted foul, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janette H
Stuart H, Manager at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience when visiting us in December. Firstly all our burgers are made in house and not microwaved but grilled. I not sure what happened to your burger but they are normally very well liked with some of our regular customers ordering burger many times. We have also addressed the issue of the Bolognese... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

This was a pre-booked group of about 16 people with meals being ordered on the day. Once we were all seated, we ordered our meals which arrived, with shouts of, who ordered ?????, the staff checked at regular intervals to make sure we had drinks & the food was up to standard. We were not the only group booked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank MickTw
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. It is always difficult when we have a large group in and they wish to pay individually for their own meals, we should have checked with you before so apologies if it slowed down the payment process. Look forward to seeing you again More 

Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Visited my local Pub the Miads Head on Sunday for Sunday Lunch Service was friendly and efficient - Roast Beef Meal was great with generous portion of beef - Yorkshire Pudding and selection of Freshly cooked vegetables Will be visiting again soon

Helpful?
Thank Dragonssmith

Travellers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

 
Stretham, Ely
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Reach, Cambridgeshire
Soham, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Maid's Head and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
21 days ago
2 months ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Maid's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?