We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maid's Head

$$ - $$$, British,
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“snapper” (2 reviews)
“whitebait” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Their daily menu featured many other choices other than the traditional roast. We all had different starters but we all had the roast beef for mains and alll had different deserts. A helpful hint on the menu was that the beef was medium rare but...More

Thank Roland P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped for lunch and shared a couple of baguettes - Tuna Mayonnaise and Brie with Cranberry Sauce, accompanied by a pint of Rev James in my case, and a large Coke for my wife. The baguettes were tasty, though the bread itself was rather...More

Thank StanstedPete
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked in here for a a birthday treat at the weekend as I have driven past it so many times on the way to Wicken Fen and it looks really inviting. I did mention on the booking that it was for a birthday, which...More

2  Thank Claire C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The starters were very good, Nachos, Melon and Prawn cocktail, however the gravy on the roast beef was like eating JAM ! we asked what is in the gravy ? Maderia or something similar ? the waitress came back and told us that the Chef...More

2  Thank 562Wendy44
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fab meal from the starter,main was fab and the pudding was brill must go again very soon might try the lunch tim meal great staff and the beer was lovely

Thank Tim G
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful building with interesting history. All the staff were lovely, especially the waiter who was doing a fantastic job for a busy Wednesday evening. All 3 courses were amazing. It was nice to see a 'fully stocked' ladies bathroom.

Thank Jack B
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

The pub looks lovely from the outside and has plastic cutlery and colouring equipment to amuse children. There is a large menu and a separate wine list. I was however quite disappointed with the food and service. The Sauvignon Blanc was not chilled and the...More

2  Thank cewilkinson2001
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

I am really sorry you had an issue with your meal on Saturday. If I take one point at a time. The Pizza is cooked in the oven but must have been left in too long. The chips are hand cut prepared in our kitchen...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We went to The Maids Head for lunch during a day out to Wicken Fen as we had two small children who don't really enjoy National Trust menus! There were 4 adults and 2 children. The pub looks delightful , full of character and with...More

2  Thank Elizabeth D
Reviewed 17 July 2017

It had been about 5 years since we last visited the Maids Head mainly because it involves a car journey and therefore no wine with the meal for one of us. Although our past experiences had all been good I had heard various recent reviews...More

Thank Michael E
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review. We take note of your comments we the veg and desserts and will look at making a slight adjustment. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stopped at the Maid's Head for a quick lunch on the way to Wicken Fen. Nice day and folks eating inside and outside, ambience good. In the evident upgrading some care has been taken to keep a pub feel. Off the light lunch menu we...More

Thank Bob186225
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Many thanks for your posting. Our omelettes are very popular, especially at lunch time. We offer a full menu all day from 12 noon (except Mondays).

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Five Miles from Anywhere No Hurry Inn
276 reviews
3.48 km away
Dyke's End
120 reviews
4.45 km away
Five Bells
92 reviews
4.77 km away
The White Pheasant
493 reviews
5.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
South Angle Farm Park
11 reviews
2.49 km away
Burwell Museum
29 reviews
4.74 km away
The Animal Experience
201 reviews
7.10 km away
Wicken Fen National Nature Reserve
419 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hilary P
29 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Stuart H | Property representative |
Yes, we are child friendly. We have a Young Guest Menu and supply highchairs if required.
0
Votes
Cindy S
19 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stuart H | Property representative |
Yes we have a pool table 50p a go
0
Votes
Carole G
27 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Stuart H | Property representative |
Dogs are very welcome in our Bar Area where you can also enjoy our full menu
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$27
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing