We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Maid's Head

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a pre-booked group of about 16 people with meals being ordered on the day. Once we were all seated, we ordered our meals which arrived, with shouts of, who ordered ?????, the staff checked at regular intervals to make sure we had drinks & the food was up to standard. We were not the only group booked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank MickTw
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. It is always difficult when we have a large group in and they wish to pay individually for their own meals, we should have checked with you before so apologies if it slowed down the payment process. Look forward to seeing you again More 

Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Visited my local Pub the Miads Head on Sunday for Sunday Lunch Service was friendly and efficient - Roast Beef Meal was great with generous portion of beef - Yorkshire Pudding and selection of Freshly cooked vegetables Will be visiting again soon

Helpful?
Thank Dragonssmith
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

Called in half way through a walk on a gorgeous autumnal day. Visited before and get more disappointed every time we visit. Very friendly welcome and extremely impressed by the request for a jug of water to be brought to our table straight away as the waitress could see that we were hot. Thank you. My husbands Hunters chicken arrived... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank M0ses666
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

I read the quite mixed reviews of The Maid's Head with some surprise after eating there. It's in a very picturesque setting in Wicken, and there is plenty of parking. We were welcomed in a very friendly manner and shown to our table by our excellent waitress (red hair in a well cut bob, sorry I didn't ask your name,... More 

Helpful?
Thank madamealfredcarriere
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

Had heard good things about this pub and restaurant, the website and menu was inviting. Beautiful thatched building with cosy interior. Unfortunately our visit was disappointing. The waitress was very Dry and so was my husband's meal! Simple, ok starter followed by a less than attractive plate of food. Won't rush back😔

Helpful?
2 Thank hayley_butteriss
Bonsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and friendly service. Food was very tasty and service impeccable. Good pint of Doom Bar. Interior was very welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

I use the Maids Head whenever I can. I run a walking group and go there twice a year with them. I also go for birthdays, wedding anniversaries and any other time I can. It is only 45 minutes from my home.

Helpful?
Thank nicholaswalks
Wicken, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

Visited here for meal, starters were really good but unfortunately the mains let the meal down. My wife had sausages which had skins so rubbery they were really hard to cut, let alone chew and my burger was so full of herbs it had no other taste. Shame really - there are times the place does really good food, unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pete H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. I cannot commend highly enough the courtesy and thoughtfulness of the staff who looked after our disabled guest.

Helpful?
Thank Fenlander2012
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

Visited the Maids Head to meet an old family friend, initial impression were excellent until my food came out!!! I ordered a mixed grill that was supposed to have Steak, chicken Breast, sausage, gammon and the accompaniment My partner ordered the gammon what came out was a disappointment to say the least!!! My plate had HALF!! an undercooked chicken breast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hmcneil88
gillian2103, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your food. I wish you had told me before I cleared your table that you were not happy with your food then I could have done something to correct it. We always try to please our customers with our food and are not happy on the odd occasion... More 

Travellers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

 
Stretham, Ely
Reach, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Maid's Head and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
20 days ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Maid's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?