We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duttons

$$ - $$$, British,
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
01244-40-18-69
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“duck wrap” (25 reviews)
“burger” (47 reviews)
“salad” (39 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Went in for early dinner at 5 only a few people in there from start to finish spot on friendly and helpful I had tortilla never tasted anything before lovely duttons burger big portion would definitely be back

Thank Expat52NewMexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife is a fan of Dutton’s in Chester which is located just off the main shopping street. We booked a table for two but sadly all outdoor tables were taken up by smokers and we didn’t fancy breathing in foggy fag odour so stayed...More

Thank DrREvans
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a delicious Sunday lunch at Duttons last week, accommodated my elderly parents and were looked after very well. Excellent service from our waitress Beth and drinks from Paige. Highly recommend a visit

Thank lozzielips293
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review on your recent visit! Our Sunday lunch is very popular- I’m glad you enjoyed it and that the girls were able to look after you so well! Thanks again, Amy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here a few times now and it never disappoints. Great food, good coffee and friendly staff. Always a good place for lunch in Chester.

Thank temwall
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for your review of your visits! The team will be delighted to hear your comments- we look forward to seeing you again soon. Amy

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant evening although we have had better evenings here. It was particularly busy & we were given a seat in a drafty area right by the door. When we challenged this we were told that there were no other seats. We decided we would stay...More

Thank Tawny2017
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello- thank you for your review on your recent visit with us and your great comments regarding the team and food! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon, Amy

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friends went to duttons for some food last week, we were met promptly by a lovely waitress named Cat who was very helpful to not only me but the elderly women behind us aswell, she was very friendly and professional.More

Thank Kane S
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for leaving us a lovely review on your recent visit! I will pass your comments on to Cat who will be delighted by these- I’m delighted she was able to look after you so well! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We opted for Duttons over similar places having wandered past and seen its quaint location and surprisingly large size, hoping it would be a cosy dinner location. On returning it turned out that only a small part of the bar was open for dinner, so...More

1  Thank BRod22SCC
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit, I’m sorry to read that it was so disappointing on this occasion. I will be looking in to this matter further to find out what/how it has happened so that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Duttons with some friends after work and we all ordered the Sunday beef roast. It was definitely one of the best I’ve had in Chester, and for £10 each there was more than enough! The atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very...More

Thank bethanl310
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your roast dinners and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again, Amy

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We decided to book a meal in Chester for the family as it was a late booking we struggled to find a table. I had never been to Duttons but thought we would give it a try. Admittediately on looking at the menu I thought...More

Thank jacovelli8
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and am delighted you enjoyed the dishes from our new menu! We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Amy

A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, United Kingdom
45
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went in last Saturday for lunch with my mother. Waited a good few minutes to even be acknowledged! When a nice young girl spoke to us, we said we just wanted a table for 2. She then went to speak to another older waitress. She...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so sorry to read that you were disappointed when you last tried to visit us. I have discussed your comments with the manager that was hosting on the day you visited who has...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
403 reviews
.10 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
2,785 reviews
.16 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
1,970 reviews
.17 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
694 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chef's Table
1,145 reviews
.06 km away
Cheshire Sandwich Company
352 reviews
.01 km away
Sergio's
1,770 reviews
.07 km away
Veeno Italian Wine Cafe
217 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Cathedral Falconry and Nature Gardens
431 reviews
.06 km away
Chester Cathedral
4,198 reviews
.09 km away
Walls of Chester
5,089 reviews
.12 km away
Eastgate Clock
773 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul B
14 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ahickman6 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s suitable at a lunchtime It gets very busy in the evening
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: 01244-40-18-69
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;