We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chatwins

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
+44 1244 344068
Website
Today
08:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I was waiting for the Roman tour and needed lunch. I got a jacket potato and it was filling. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was a little better than the food.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you found the service friendly. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visit this cake shop about once a month, when my son visits me and we go for a walk around town. I can't faulty the food. The steak pies are to die for (not literally!). Apparently, they also do a mean vegetable slice for the Veggies. The 'Copenhagen' cakes are so unbelievably tasty that there should be a law... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank frankjones2015
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Lovely to get such positive feedback. Pleased you enjoy our products, and thanks for taking the time to let us know. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was currently shopping and thought id pop in Chatwins. Its been recently updated so they was plenty of nice seating areas upstairs.A range of homemade cakes was on offer. My cup of tea was served in a pot, little bit of milk on the side. The little touches was nice. I also liked how they put the logo on all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Pleased you like the changes. Thanks for letting us know. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved it here! All the food looked fresh and delicious (especially the cream cakes!). Staff very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Roanne C
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your cream cake. More 

East London
Level Contributor
250 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely cup of tea and a snack. Bright and modern. The only problem was that the toilets are on the second floor, which is an issue if you have problems with stairs.

Helpful?
Thank Sandrobear
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed you enjoyed your cup of tea and snack, and we appreciate the positive review. I agree having the toilets on the top floor is far from ideal, and when we refitted the shop we did consider alternatives. Unfortunately due to the narrow shape of the shop, there really wasn't a better solution. I do hope... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Not a friendly place to visit or enjoy a lunch with a family! The toilets are at the top of the building making nappy changes a nightmare! Staff were very glum and had no customer service skills!

Helpful?
Thank MinionBee
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, even if we have done something that the customer is not happy with, it helps us a great deal. I agree having the toilets on the top floor is far from ideal, and when we refitted the shop we did consider alternatives. Unfortunately due to the narrow shape of the shop, there really wasn't a better... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stopped at Chatwins for lunch while shopping with a friend. the food was lovely and the service prompt.

Helpful?
Thank Jrfamily15
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, always nice to hear that the customer has enjoyed their visit. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

Popped in with a friend for a quick bite to eat and had a very nice beef roll and coffee, friendly and efficient staff and nice and clean too ( the staff and the café )

Helpful?
Thank bluesb0b
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, and pleased you enjoyed your hot carvery roll and coffee. I know the staff read our reviews, and will appreciate the positive comments on the service. More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Weekend away in Chester and found this place by chance when we needed a coffee and lunch stop. Delicious carvery baps with a side of superb wedges, washed down with cups of very good coffee. The staff were very charming, especially the lovely lady on the till upstairs who made me feel like a really valued customer. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, always nice to hear that the customer has enjoyed their visit. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

i can not complain about chatwins, everytime i go its brilliant and tasty food with amazing selection of cakes and the toffee fudge donuts are to die for... always fresh food with friendly polite service, kep it up guys. however could you plase please please start making toffee fudge donuts on mondays.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, and yes, the Caramel Doughnuts are one of my favourites as well, apologises if being without them on a Monday is causing you withdrawal symptoms. More 

Travellers who viewed Chatwins also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 

Been to Chatwins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 18:00
Thursday
08:00 - 18:00
Friday
08:00 - 18:00
Saturday
08:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 344068
Description
Estblished in 1913, this family Bakers have been serving the people of South Cheshire with award winning Bakery products for over 100 years.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chatwins and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Runcorn, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chatwins staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?