We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

South Quay Hill | The Harbour, Newquay TR7 1HT, England
+44 1637 874062
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (156 reviews)
“fruits de mer” (51 reviews)
“fresh seafood” (24 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
South Quay Hill | The Harbour, Newquay TR7 1HT, England
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Beautiful fresh seafood. We started with some fresh oysters, and then shared a very generous portion of the fruits de mer - half a lobster, beautiful crab, a large piece of fish each, mussels, served with a delicious sauce and some bread to pop it...More

Thank sbn5
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Very nice meal with professional and attentive service. Fruit de la Mere was very nice and although a challenge to manage on your own it would have been a disappointment if shared between 2, as listed. The surroundings of tbe harbour were lovely but the...More

1  Thank rd100191
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We stopped in without a booking last night and struck lucky on getting a table! Wonderful staff, beautiful setting looking out into quite harbour. Food fresh and tasty... Little retreat in Newquay - highly recommended!

Thank Nicola C
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went to boathouse after reading g all the Raving reviews and was thoroughly disappointed. I ordered scallops for starter which was just adequate and not tasty at all. The main was seafood stew which was mainly potatoes and vegetables and very few fish. My...More

Thank Jyothish3
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on a Wednesday night in June. It was busy which is a sign of a good restaurant. Our booked table wasn't ready so we had to wait. The order was taken and we waited 45 mins for the starter which was field mushrooms...More

Thank mandy f
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came for lunch last year, which was lovely so when we arrived in Newquay last night for one nights stay, we managed to get an evening table. The food was very good, the ambience was perfect in a shabby chic restaurant with great views....More

Thank jodie f
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to visit based on Trip Advisor Reviews and were not disappointed. Fantastic location and outdoor seating overlooking the harbour. Outdoor heating is also available for cooler evenings. All food was cooked perfectly. we had the the Fruits de Mer for our main course...More

Thank hollas2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my family and we all enjoyed our meals. Location is very nice, staff are friendly/attentive and the food was very good. I'd definitely recommend to friends and family.

Thank BramhallHatter
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was treated to a meal by my grandson and his partner. Had never been here before. It was a very busy restaurant so I'd advise you book beforehand. Was lovely sitting having a drink and watching the seals in the harbour.

Thank Sally2208
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

popped in to sample some local seafood ..... And glad we did !!!! Very good indeed , lovely staff and very relaxed atmosphere.

Thank lisaandpaul17
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Cloud
279 reviews
.16 km away
Harbour Fish and Grill
622 reviews
.10 km away
The Beached Lamb Cafe
834 reviews
.08 km away
Truscotts
493 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Porth Beach
599 reviews
.37 km away
Blue Reef Aquarium
1,163 reviews
.37 km away
Newquay Activity Centre
909 reviews
.41 km away
Bodyboard-Holidays - Private Day Lessons
269 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
NancyWho
I am disabled. Is there parking?
25 May 2017|
Answer
Response from valleysfamily | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately there is no parking to get get to this restaurant. There is a small beach on one side and a number of steps on the other. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Sarah F
Can you take dogs in the Boathouse, would love to go but my little mut has to go with me ( on holiday) Thanks
16 July 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from SomersetFoxy | Reviewed this property |
I believe you can
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$67
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Quay Hill | The Harbour, Newquay TR7 1HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 874062
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing