We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haywain

Constable Road | Cambridge, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
+44 1480 301519
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Constable Road | Cambridge, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

Wow What a find this was, friendliest pub I have visited in many a year.Good choice of drinks and food was so good we called back for a breakfast in the morning and that was the best decision ever, breakfast was fantastic and filled us...More

1  Thank midgebay
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. it means so much to us all when we hear comments like this. Thank you so much

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Unplanned visit to this pub which does a large variety of meals . The service is prompt with ale at a reasonable price . The golden years offer for the over 60's is a bargain at £4.79 for 2 courses with generous portions .

Thank graham c
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Despite being busy due to the football the Bar team were friendly, polite, and had great product knowledge and were happy to and took time to answer all my questions with regards to the menu. We ordered the Surf and Turf, Hunters BBQ Chicken, Chicken...More

Thank 451katy
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

A right little home from home for a few of the stives lakes anglers. Good food, friendly locals, Good location for the local shops. Extensive selection of ales and lagers...

Thank gordy12345
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Gordy12345, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Haywain. It's our pleasure accommodating you and all the fisher people

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Was really disappointed as went for lunch ordered a burger and chips. It took an hour for the food to arrive then when it did there was a big long black hair in it. So then it took another ten minutes for another one. It...More

1  Thank Liz R
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi Liz, we are so sorry we didn't provide the service you expect on your visit. The delay in the food should have been communicated to you and there was no excuse for the hair. Sorry we didn't get it right on your visit

Reviewed 9 February 2017

We visited here while staying with relatives. The Staff were helpful and friendly. The meal was very good and a reasonable price. We enjoyed our visit.

Thank animalcrackers74
General Manager A, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service.

Reviewed 6 January 2017

As a Sizzling Pub you get what you would expect, hot fast food with a long standard menu and at ridiculously low prices. The staff are very attentive and helpful, going out of their way to adjust my choices once they knew that I had...More

Thank mandy187045
general manager a, Public Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Mandy, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to us. We really appreciate the feedback. We are happy that you found our team to be attentive and helpful, we strive to be the best. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Went for a quiet drink with a couple of friends and got to the table saw they were doing food! Went to the bar and apparently the kitchen was shut even though the menu says 10 and it was 9:30 apart from that the pub...More

1  Thank kylelfc21
general manager a, Public Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Haywain. I'm sorry that on this occasion we had to disappoint you. I hope that you will visit again and try our varied menu.

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent pub family run great and such a freindly atmosphere and good deals on the stella 'food is great good value for money cant be beaten anywere

Thank hartly66
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Lunch on a Monday. Quiet. Ordered chicken & steak. No steaks. Half rack instead. Plus fishcakes & house salad Main food arrived in 15 minutes, chips a few minutes later. Chicken overcooked and stringy, rack good. Fishcakes overcooked. , salad lacking onions, slaw & onion...More

2  Thank Mike G
general manager a, Guest Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Mike, I'm dreadfully sorry that you had a bad experience on your visit to us here at the Haywain. If you had brought any of the issues you had to a member of the team here we would have endeavoured to put it right....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Di Rita's Italian Cuisine
81 reviews
2.26 km away
Restaurant Molise
168 reviews
2.24 km away
Little Acre Kitchen
62 reviews
2.14 km away
Welcome Chinese Restaurant
150 reviews
2.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Ives Electric Riverboat- Day Boat Tours
57 reviews
2.88 km away
Houghton Mill (National Trust)
278 reviews
3.34 km away
Raptor Foundation
208 reviews
3.35 km away
The Manor at Hemingford Grey
72 reviews
3.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Constable Road | Cambridge, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 301519
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing