We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Haywain

$
British, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Constable Road, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
+44 1480 301519
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a Sizzling Pub you get what you would expect, hot fast food with a long standard menu and at ridiculously low prices. The staff are very attentive and helpful, going out of their way to adjust my choices once they knew that I had a dietary issue. Highly recommend if you like good basic food, but maybe not for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandy187045
general manager a, Public Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Hi Mandy, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to us. We really appreciate the feedback. We are happy that you found our team to be attentive and helpful, we strive to be the best. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a quiet drink with a couple of friends and got to the table saw they were doing food! Went to the bar and apparently the kitchen was shut even though the menu says 10 and it was 9:30 apart from that the pub is lovely and the staff were lovely

Helpful?
Thank kylelfc21
general manager a, Public Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Haywain. I'm sorry that on this occasion we had to disappoint you. I hope that you will visit again and try our varied menu. More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent pub family run great and such a freindly atmosphere and good deals on the stella 'food is great good value for money cant be beaten anywere

Helpful?
Thank hartly66
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Lunch on a Monday. Quiet. Ordered chicken & steak. No steaks. Half rack instead. Plus fishcakes & house salad Main food arrived in 15 minutes, chips a few minutes later. Chicken overcooked and stringy, rack good. Fishcakes overcooked. , salad lacking onions, slaw & onion flakes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
general manager a, Guest Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Hi Mike, I'm dreadfully sorry that you had a bad experience on your visit to us here at the Haywain. If you had brought any of the issues you had to a member of the team here we would have endeavoured to put it right. We hope that you will give us another chance to improve your opinion. More 

Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Nice beer garden, which was lovely and clean. Staff were lovely and the cute dog station outside was great for hot weather. Decent price for drinks.

Helpful?
Thank EmilyNunney
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Was at the CHARITY school quiz night mentioned above. The pub GAVE the prizes and beefburgers for free so the primary school would raise even more. The quiz was well supported and so the pub was heaving. The staff bent over backwards to accomadate everyone and keep the copius number of food orders flowing from the kitchen. They are all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia N
Corby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

In the area for bank holiday. The Haywain was recommended by nearby campsite warden. So thought we'd pay a visit on the Sunday. Was hugely disappointed that although they were still advertising Sunday lunch on every table we saw, when I actually went to bar to order Sunday lunches I was informed they weren't doing Sunday lunches that day. Bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Whenever I'm back home in Cambridgeshire I find time to visit this lovely pub. The staff are really friendly the food is fabulous and the landlord Steve Lowe can't do enough for you.. It's a great place for family and friends to eat and meet and the pub also does lots of things in the community for charity 😀 well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean O
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

Second visit in 8 days. First visit for a recommended Monday quiz night which was brilliant fun with great bar staff and really nice local / regular participants that really make you feel welcome and a nutty Landlord who was outstanding. Whilst there we perused the menu which is extensive and cheap to say the least so a second visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bone D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016

I have been in the haywain a few times and highly recommend it, the staff are always helpful and friendly. I have eaten there on numerous occasions and the food has always been fantastic. The only thing I dislike about the pub is the occasional man utd fan that can be seen when they are playing and the pub has... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 58brownie2016

Travellers who viewed The Haywain also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Haywain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Constable Road, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 301519

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?