We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Balancing Eel

The Sloop Car Park Back Lane, St Ives TR26 1LR, England
01736-79-67-92
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cod” (46 reviews)
“mushy peas” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Sloop Car Park Back Lane, St Ives TR26 1LR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 453 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
124
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't believe some of the reviews I've seen for this place! Fish and chips were amazing - and the portions were great! I'm a gluttonous pig and a haddock and chips with mushy peas filled me right up! Lovely staff and fairly quick service considering...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this lovely little restaurant last Thursday evening. It is above the take away very near the harbour. We were a family of four adults and two children. I had the battered cod and salad. The cod was delicious with crisp batter and the...More

Thank Madame-Shades
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always get our order to take away here and it is a fantastic fish and chip restaurant. The fish is excellent, I usually leave the batter but it's delicious here. Definitely one of the best in St Ives.

Thank khebbs
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best fish and chips around. Nice crispy batter and great chips. Don't be put off by the queue, they're worth the wait.

Thank rbrealey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't bother you get more chips in a happy meal than in a large chips in here. poor service long wait better off down the road seagulls get more than you.More

Thank Justin B
BeelOwner, Owner at The Balancing Eel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Justin Thank you for taking time to write a review and I'm really sorry to hear your experience and see the portion size you received. Clearly something has gone wrong and you have been handed the wrong order. Our portion sizes are generally...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Small portions, expensive but generally nice fish and chips. Small soft drink = extortion. Staff were nice and friendly.

Thank john b
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good traditional chippy, left stairs is take away, right is restaurant. We had 3 Fish (Haddock) and Chips, 2 Cod Roe and Chips, 1 Curry Sauce, 1 Gravy and 6 Ketchups; it came to £29. Staff on the ball got the order completely correct. Good...More

Thank Tolchy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

St. Ives was very busy so we decided for a take away and eating on the benches overlooking the harbour. The fish and chips we took was simply amazing, fantastic, one of the best!

Thank paolovbossi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned after remembering the food from our visit two years ago and were definitely not disappointed. In fact, we ended up going twice during our stay this time! We ate in the restaurant, slightly more expensive than takeaway but no risk of marauding seagulls! One...More

Thank WordsleySmp
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Up a small flight of stairs you find the hustle and bustle of the Balancing Eel. We only used the take away service and having had chips one evening and been very impressed we then returned for a full meal. The cod was excellently cooked...More

Thank Cookie288
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Moomaid of Zennor
381 reviews
.03 km away
The Digey Food Room
229 reviews
.08 km away
Caffe Pasta
890 reviews
.07 km away
Mermaid Seafood Restaurant
767 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Ives Harbour Beach
495 reviews
.21 km away
St Ives Museum
214 reviews
.22 km away
The Penwith Gallery
46 reviews
.06 km away
Harbour Amusements
35 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
amberpop
22 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BeelOwner | Property representative |
Hello there 'amberpop' and apologies for the delay first of all in responding to your enquiry. At the end of March our opening times will be 12.00 noon until 2.00pm and 5.00pm until 8.00pm. We look forward to welcoming... More
1
Vote
Bamforma
9 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BeelOwner | Property representative |
Restaurant prices are slightly more; about £1.60 more for cod and chips. We are not licensed but currently offer a bring your own policy for beer, cider or wine - with no corkage charge.
1
Vote
Craig B
2 July 2016|
Answer
Response from James H |
Hi, staff member here. We don't have gluten free batter, but we have options for steamed fish or other alternatives.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Sloop Car Park Back Lane, St Ives TR26 1LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: 01736-79-67-92
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing