We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hain Line

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tregenna Place, St Ives, England
+44 1736 792920
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 319: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I went into the pub with my wife to have dinner. I ordered the 14oz Aberdeen Angus steak for myself and Beef Lasagne for my wife. The Lasagne was advertised as with salad but came out without any salad at all. My steak came out as ordered but wen it came trying to cut into it with the steak knife... More 

Helpful?
Thank VespaRich
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in here for a drink and was intending to order food. It just wasn't inviting, no atmosphere and the lay out was odd. We finished our drinks and left, not to return

Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love Wetherspoons normally but this branch struggles, high staff turn-over maybe? Ordered food a few times there and it's rarely satisfactory so I don't bother any more.

Helpful?
Thank jcjcjc1008
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we cant really do much with the layout, we just try and make the seating arrangements comfortable with the limited space that we have. Not really sure about your comments about the food, I will certainly be passing this on to my Kitchen Managers. I hope you give us another chance again in the... More 

Plympton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just wanted to compliment not just the front of house staff but the kitchen staff too. We had your special of 2 x 14oz Aberdeen Angus Rump Steaks with additional sides on Sunday 12th March at approximately 13.45 and all I can say was it was cooked perfectly (and I'm a fussy eater when it comes to steaks cooked correctly)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard D
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Hi Richard, thank you for your review!! Its lovely to get a 5* review and to read your great feed back. I'm glad our service and food exceeded your expectation. Hope to see you again soon!! More 

St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Husband and I came home from work and just fancied going out for tea. Unfortunately we should have gone elsewhere, I ordered the skinny steak, medium. The salad that came with it was nothing more than a garnish with a slice of red onion in it and my steak came out very rare, the blood was swimming on the plate.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJO1991
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place and great service , eaten here 3 times in the week due to a business meeting always asked how my food is without fail and good choice of cask ales , pint glass or tankard it didn't effect the taste and it's the best price in town, for that they can keep the handle :)

Helpful?
Thank happychappywoop
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We're glad you've walked away happy from your previous visits and look forward to seeing you again in the future More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This has got to be the worst wetherspoons Went there on a Saturday lunch time I asked for a pint of Abbott ale in a handle glass no Abbott no handle glasses only one bar staff upstairs only one bar staff down stairs. The place look like a beach cafe inside.

Helpful?
Thank buzz2030
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Dear Buzz, Im very sorry that we didn't have Abbot on when you came in. We rotate our beers here as we like to support our local Cornish breweries. With regard to the glass, we don't carry handled glasses due to space behind the bar. We are quite limited being quite a small Pub and if were to have every... More 

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hv just got back from a lovely 4 days in St Ives . For most of those 4 nights we ate at The Haine Line . Great food , great service . Really is lovely upstairs . A special mention to Georgia , nothing is ever too much trouble . Well done all .

Helpful?
Thank g5urf
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review the Hain Line. I will pass your gratitude onto Georgie!! Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back to The Hain Line in the future. More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
208 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

Another great wetherspoons pub with the usual good standard of food and drinks. Great for breakfast too!!

Helpful?
Thank Yvette7
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Hi Yvette, thanks for the great feedback!! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit!! More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

Came here for an early evening meal. Barmaid very friendly and good at her job. First visit the place and sat at a table on the lower level, which was near the "al fresco" area. The food was to a very good standard.The only reason for a three star rating was because of locals coming from the outside area through... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaestroPlymouth
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review The Hain Line. Im glad that you enjoyed your visit and found the food good. I find it quite disturbing however about your other comment regarding smokers. The way I read it is that someone has walked through the Pub smoking, from the entrance on the road through the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Hain Line also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Hain Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tregenna Place, St Ives, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 792920

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hain Line staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?