We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wheelhouse

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
+44 1803 834446
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Popped in for fish and chip lunch with cup of tea. As always great quality and quantity. Best fish and chip restaurant in town by far - good food, good value, plenty choice on menu, clean and comfortable with friendly staff - what more do you need?

Helpful?
Thank TraceyStourbridge
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had takeaway fish and chips from here on my 1st night of a recent holiday in Dartmouth. When coming away to the seaside expectations are always high as you assume it will be the freshest fish caught that morning etc etc. For me it was no different to any average fish and chip shop anywhere around the UK and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SentByGod
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

Dear "Sent by God" ( wow, just wow! I think that tells me all I need to know) anyway..... Yep, we are "just a fish and chip shop" :) I think we find ourselves high up on trip advisor because we don't pretend to be anything that we aren't. We don't claim to be cheap, but we certainly aren't the... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

had a lovely portion of fish and chips on evening with a bottle of rose . Unfortunately the rose was not chilled , however a bucket of ice was soon found and all was good . the staff were very accomodating and the fish and chips were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank cidersteve2014
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My granddaughter told me where to go for Fish & Chips and they were excellent.Will call again when next in Dartmouth

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer570
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have had takeaway food from here before which has been very good. However tonight the food was barely edible with the chips being dry and stale-like. If it was early i would think that it was leftovers from lunchtime. My fish cake was tasteless. Will go to Rockfish next time.

Helpful?
Thank clairejg04
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We fancied fish and chips, but my friend prefers gluten-free food. We were delighted to find a take-away who could oblige! Freshly cooked fish. Delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Janice T
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a long drive down and need of sustenance you can't beat fish and chips, and we weren't disappointed. Good food and friendly staff and reasonable prices, the Wheelhouse is obviously popular with locals and visitors to Dartmouth and although there are apparently 65 other places to eat in the area we will be going back to the Wheelhouse 😊

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
Devon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the regular fish and chips and mushy peas which came with a pot of tea for £7.95. Nice fish but the chips were very pale. Friendly service. It was a Wednesday evening so it was very quiet in Dartmouth.

Helpful?
Thank ruthiereed
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on Saturday lunchtime. The waitress was a lovely girl and very helpful. the fish and chips are cooked to order and were piping hot when they arrived. The batter was crisp and not at all greasy and the mushy peas were the best I've had for a long time. The pots of tea came in spotless white china... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarmar95
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. :) We are happy you enjoyed your meal, appreciated the service and our attention to teapots - very important :) Just wanted to apologise for the lock on the toilet door - you will have seen my sign that said it had been fitted on the Tuesday and that it was broken... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took a trip out to Dartmouth with my family and mum in law! It was a lovely sunny day so decided that as it was just gone 1.30pm on a Saturday we'd stop for fish and chips! Decided to choose the wheelhouse as it looked clean and the food looked nice! Service at first was good so we placed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant on Saturday. I have spoken to the staff on duty ( as I was not there this Saturday ) and they can only remember one incident of a "mix up with the fish " and so it appears that the following happened. I understand that you ordered garden... More 

Travellers who viewed Wheelhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$18
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 834446
Description
Take away and licensed restaurant serving great British fish and chips,(including calamari, scampi, seafood platter and specials such as skate, hoki, rock and plaice) brilliant burgers,pies and pasties fresh crisp salads and sandwiches. Children's menu, highchairs and changing facilities

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wheelhouse and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wheelhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?