We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Inn

) #66 of 419 Restaurants in Exeter $$ - $$$ , Seafood, British
Dawlish Warren Rd | Cockwood, Exeter EX6 8RA, England
+44 1626 890203
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (126 reviews)
“seafood” (71 reviews)
“gumbo” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dawlish Warren Rd | Cockwood, Exeter EX6 8RA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We had a delicious lunch sat outside this picturesque pub. The location speaks for itself and my children were delighted to sit and watch the tide coming in, local wild life and the passing trains. We had the angler's platter of seafood, salad and bread...More

Thank TCRobertson
Reviewed 6 days ago

Whilst the menu offers a wide range of other delights those who enjoy shellfish will be more than satisfied by a chance to dine at The Anchor. The dining rooms were intimate; the service very friendly; the wine refreshing and the food scrumptious! Of course...More

Thank 247Mike7
Reviewed 1 week ago

Asked a taxi driver in Dawlish if he knew anywhere I could get a good seafood meal and he told me about The Anchor Inn, so glad I went, beautiful pub/restaurant over looking the water and with a fantastic menu of fresh seafood. I decided...More

Thank Yorkie1948
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3 families, 6 adults and 6 kids + 1 dog. Lovely meal, helpful staff, great setting all at a fair price.

Thank David M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Anchor for an evening drink 4 adults and 4 children we had a dog with us so chose to sit outside. We bought a round of drinks for £30.00 and began to enjoy our drinks when a female member of staff came...More

3  Thank MaraBund
scott h, Manager at Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Firstly although I fully back my supervisor for her actions that day I feel I must apologise that you left feeling insulted, perhaps it could have been handled in a more discreet fashion but obviously any possible suspicious/illegal behaviour on the premises has to be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tuesday this week I paid The Anchor a visit for lunch. Knowing what I wanted beforehand, I was not disappointed! I ordered the cold fish platter, which consisted of prawns, shell-on prawns, crab meat & salmon. A seasoned salad, Marie-Rose sauce & new potatoes accompanied...More

Thank carling5
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Seafood was excellent. Five courses between us and none could be faulted. The service however was virtually non existent. I had to leave the table three times to find a waitress. On two of these I found staff in a huddle passing the time of...More

Thank Moorman48
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Popped in here for dinner last tues , we were the only customers but it was quite early . The barman was very welcoming and polite and nothing was too much trouble . The meals arrived quite quickly and were piping hot and delicious. Would...More

Thank francisfamily154
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We just popped in on the off chance as it was 3pm. They were still serving ( until 9pm ) and we could choose from the full menu. The food was delicious and freshly cooked.The service was just right with no fuss. We will definitely...More

Thank Sandra P
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The perfect pub! Great location, good service, fabulous food and a good range of ales!! The Rev. James is a nice pint and a refreshing change from the predictable Cornish ales found in so many Devon pubs. How about stocking Teignworthy Reel Ale??? The scampi...More

Thank Chris P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ship Inn
208 reviews
.11 km away
Cofton Country Holidays
63 reviews
.92 km away
The Atmospheric Railway Inn
41 reviews
1.24 km away
Cofton Chippy
18 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Meadow Golf Club
14 reviews
.70 km away
Dawlish Warren Beach
879 reviews
2.13 km away
Dawlish Warren Nature Reserve
107 reviews
1.91 km away
Exmouth to Lympstone Walk
171 reviews
2.29 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
hunnybee218
We are staying in exmouth how would we cross the river exe . By boat only?
22 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Robert L | Reviewed this property |
Yes there are regular ferries back and forth during the day. Not sure what time they stop. Exmouth to Starcross and up river too.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$30
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dawlish Warren Rd | Cockwood, Exeter EX6 8RA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 890203
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing