We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swans Nest

$$ - $$$, British,
Station Road | Exminster, Exeter EX6 8DZ, England
+44 1392 832371
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good26%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“sandwich” (5 reviews)
“steak” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road | Exminster, Exeter EX6 8DZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Last week we had our Christmas get together and paid £22.50 for a two course meal and disco....I waited at the carvery for around five minutes before someone came out to carve my meat, the turkey was a sad excuse for one with only one...More

1  Thank Wendy W
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had a family meal here. I hadn't been for years. The Christmas decorations gave the place a lovely Christmas feeling. We were treated wonderfully. Our order for food and drinks was taken at the table. The food was very tasty. Our individual needs were...More

Thank annwebber1
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Ann, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful Christmas!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Place looks like it could do with a good clean and revamp , seats are ripped and tatty, food area ie carvery has seen better days, Food was poor over cooked, and over priced , service at the expensive bar was ok , service at...More

Thank 714brian
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, thanks for leaving a review Brian! We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Please email us at bookings@swans-nest.com - We'd like to look into this further. We hope we have the pleasure of your company again!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited with a group. Over the years the owners have changed and whilst dated inside the food has been ok. Sunday was an exception, some of us were lucky and only had to wait 10 minutes in a queue of about 15 to be...More

Thank travellingrosiedevon
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and having the foresight to pre-book with us. We're sorry to hear that you were less than pleased with your visit to us. As we're sure you can imagine, Sundays are our busiest days...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visit the Swans Nest about once a year and have witnessed it’s various changes over the past 6 years or so. There appears to be either new management or they have had a rethink and are making a much more positive approach to hospitality...More

Thank hepa
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for getting in touch and leaving us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and the service. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the background music; next time, please feel free to ask us to turn it down a little. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our Mid Devon village travel group ran 2 coach loads to the Swans Nest near Exminster for our annual Christmas dinner. About 80 of us descended upon this popular restaurant that we have visited several times before in recent years for Xmas dinners. We arrived...More

Thank manrow
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for your wonderful review - We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and the options available to you. We hope to see you back again soon and that you have a wonderful Christmas!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Birthday meal for 30, put in back room which looked drab, not welcoming. Ordered pint coke which was poured from £2 coke bottle, and charged £3.10 what a rip off!!! Carvery queue went on and on queued for 20 mins to get served, cauliflower cheese...More

1  Thank lewtrenchard
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. Reviews are very important to us so that we can continue to improve our service. We will take your feedback on board and discuss what we can do moving forward, especially regarding the sweets and cauliflower cheese....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped into The Swans Nest on a recent visit to Exeter. We had ham and mustard, bacon Brie and cranberry and delicious fish goujons with tarter sauce, all accompanied by chunky chips or rather fabulous fluffy crispy mini roasted potatoes. Lovely friendly service a nice...More

Thank Joe W
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joe, thanks for leaving us such a lovely review! Your meal does sound lovely, we're so glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Have been several times before but wow Sunday was awful,was led to table right at back that wasnt even laid up but a young girl whos manner and language was awful.Had to wait 1hr and 20 mins to get served yes they were busy but...More

Thank ninEngland
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with us. Please email us at bookings@swans-nest.com - We'd like to look into this further. We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

This visit was awful, had to ask for some different cauliflower cheese, as the one we were expected to put on our plate was swimming in water and turning a funny colour. The fresh one didn’t look to clever either. Very disappointed.More

Thank jackiw2016
Emma B, Social Media Manager at The Swans Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi, thanks for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with us. We hope that besides the cauliflower cheese, you enjoyed the rest of the meal and the service. Please email us at bookings@swans-nest.com - We'd like to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Restaurant at the Salutation Inn
305 reviews
1.58 km away
The Turf Locks
285 reviews
1.61 km away
Charcombes Lounge Club House
9 reviews
.74 km away
The Galley Restaurant
791 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Topsham Museum
127 reviews
1.59 km away
Pebblebed Vineyard
107 reviews
1.49 km away
Topsham Quay Antiques Centre
50 reviews
1.54 km away
Bowling Green Marsh
9 reviews
1.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vanessa O
9 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Katherine M | Reviewed this property |
they have a part of the pub accessible to dogs
1
Vote
Stephen L
26 December 2014|
Answer
Response from nick m |
Carianne Topliss
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road | Exminster, Exeter EX6 8DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter
  • Phone Number: +44 1392 832371
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing