We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 01/08
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$56
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
303
149
104
66
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
303
149
104
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club sandwich steep hill the pub for sunday lunch sit outside devon
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food here is wonderful. So interesting and delicious, and a huge range of options! The atmosphere is lovely and the views are stunning!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tried to go for a quick drink around 5pm and 95% of the tables were available. We were asked if we were residents and it was a straight ‘no’. Absolutely no attempt to accommodate, especially given how empty they were. Really disappointing and will not...be returning.More

Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The servers were extremely rude when we tried to get a table for two and I'm guessing judged us on the way we were dressed (beach sundress is apparently scandalous) and made up something about being closed to the public. Our two middle aged friends...then went in and were let in with no problem. Very pretentious and when the same server saw us at our table he said nothing. Very dissapointed and was not offered a menu. The only saving grace was the amazing view.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Firstly I would like to apologise for your disappointment with your dining experience. Unfortunately due to the look of the building we are constantly confused with just being a 'pub' by the seaside. This is not the case as the site is actually...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Food was outstanding. However, as we were about to leave there was a torrential down pour that lead to flash flooding. The lovely lady serving us offered us a lift back up the hill with the complementary Hotel mini bus. We had to wait for...the bus to return as it had just taken one load of customers. When the bus returned their was one resident waiting for the ride. However, we were told by a snotty nosed young dark haired girl from behind the bar that we could not get on the bus as we were none residents. They were happy enough to take our money for food and drinks. Needles to say will not be returning a bit of good will and customer service goes a long way. Very disappointed.More

Helpful?2  
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon jillyw5122020, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food i will pass this on to our chef. With regards to the lift, unfortunately we do only offer this to our resident guests as we are restricted...More

Reviewed 26 June 2021

I spoke to a member of staff yesterday and asked if there were any tables for lunch today as it our wedding anniversary and we wanted to go somewhere special. He said they were fully booked inside but if there was a table available outside...we could have lunch there. We travelled from Dartmoor and arrived just after 12.00pm to be told by a young girl that there were tables outside but they were only serving drinks, no food. No apologies.More

Helpful?1  
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon Navigate306671, Thank you for your feedback. After talking to the manager on shift. She has told me she offered you a table outside for drinks as she had a busy day ahead with bookings and we only had benches available which are not...More

Reviewed 23 June 2021

Went here for a drink followed by a meal the next day, food was good but the wife found a hair in her pudding. To our surprise, nothing was done about it. Also, f you pay by cash they will not give you change. Very...unusual policy. Be warned, pay by card so you don't get ripped off.More

Helpful?
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon 951vinceh, Thank you for your feedback. First of all i would like to apologise for the incident with the hair i want you to know we take hygiene and preparation of food very seriously however sometimes things do slip through. This meal should...More

Reviewed 14 June 2021

Very friendly welcome, attentive service and very good food. Fantastic views towards Babbacombe Beach and beyond. The hotel is reached via a very steep incline, and some taxis will want to drop at the top of the hill. The hotel does have it's own Land...Rover to cover this eventuality This is definitely work visiting - you must book though as it is very popularMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

Good Afternoon JPXC, Thank you for your feedback. Its always lovely to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. The Steep hill is all 'part of the charm', indeed so much so that we did have to invest into an electric van! I Thank...More

Reviewed 6 June 2021

We went for lunch a couple of weeks ago in the conservatory part of the restaurant and had the most delicious fish and chips with the crispiest batter. This along with a particularly good rosé wine and it was lovely just to relax and watch...the sea - fortunately at this stage we had a break from the rain and the sun even came out!The staff were all very charming and helpful. The only drawback was that there were ongoing roadworks on the VERY steep, long narrow lane leading down to the Hotel - our taxi was able to drive us down there but by the time we had finished lunch , the Council had closed the road to all traffic for ongoing roadworks, and we had to walk up the huge number of very steep steps to get to where the taxi could pick us up. This I recognise is not the fault of the hotel but probably worth remembering if you don’t fancy or cannot walk back up the hill, as there is very little parking at Hotel level.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

Good Afternoon, Thank you very much for your feedback. We always enjoy when our guests have enjoyed the menu, all of which is sourced from our local suppliers. I can only apologise for the situation on the Beach Road, this was unfortunately out of our...More

Reviewed 5 June 2021

After calling to book a table I was told they were at full capacity. I asked for a reservation outside and they advised that it was first come first serve. I explained that given the location of the restaurant it makes “chancing” the first come...first serve recommendation a little risky, however, we followed their instructions. Upon arriving shortly before 12pm to a sea of empty outdoor tables I was immediately asked if I had booked. I explained the advise I was given but they wouldn’t allow us entry. They explained that they had to offer all the internal reservations the option to sit outside so therefore can’t allow walk ins. Apart from the evidently terrible business logic (always running at 50% capacity) it was absolutely contrary to what they had told me twice before. The duty manager got quite hot under the collar and inpatient within a matter of minutes to what I’m sure you would all agree is a perfectly reasonable complaint. The first day of our holiday ruined due to terrible customer service and uneducated emoloyees.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
CaryArms, General Manager at Cary Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Good Afternoon Mrs Broadley, Thank you for your feedback. I have responded via email directly, if you have any queries or would like to challenge any of my response, please contact me directly. I would deem this a rather unfair review as there is no...More

Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Much anticipated lunch with friends after Covid & our 1st ever visit to CaryArms. We were called on day to say road was closed & we should park at top & walk down. Such a steep, long walk on a wet day with little to...no signage of where to find the entrance?!? Leaving was even wetter, arrived home mud splattered and wet. Such a terrible affect on on our experience, sadly disappointed at any apparent lack of concern by the manager having given feedback to staff and asked to speak to her/him... but told not available to speak to us... won’t be rushing back!More

Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Babbacombe Hotel
324 reviews
.43 km away
The Morningside Hotel
87 reviews
.48 km away
Exmouth View Hotel
49 reviews
.54 km away
Trecarn Hotel
1,671 reviews
.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bay Tree Cafe
205 reviews
.87 km away
Hamiltons Club
236 reviews
.23 km away
The Buccaneer Inn
625 reviews
.31 km away
Babbacombe Inn
857 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Babbacombe Theatre
1,099 reviews
.20 km away
Kents Cavern
3,295 reviews
1.35 km away
Babbacombe Model Village
4,144 reviews
.91 km away
Babbacombe & Oddicombe - South West Coast Path
363 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Liz2211
23 July 2018|
Answer
Response from CaryArms | Property representative |
Hi, Due to the location of and design of the inn access for guests with mobility issues can be challenging. Although we have a car park large enough to hold the vehicles of our hotel residents we do not have space for... More
0
Votes
Tracy P
26 February 2018|
Answer
Response from suemV7127OV | Reviewed this property |
Unlikely. Requesting details of vegetarian options caused consternation. Menu on chalk boards, everything had mayo in it. Eventually received typed option of 4 mains, 4 sweets, but since when was egg content vegetable... More
-1
Votes
marilyntozer
24 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 254kathleend | Reviewed this property |
When I went on a sunday, the whole menu was still available, along with specials and the usual roast options. The roast was very good and very popular.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cary Arms

Cary Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4