We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Baobab Cuisine

8 Trafalgar Street | North Laines, Brighton BN1 4EQ, England
+44 7530 338456
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good17%
  • Average17%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
13 Sep 2017
“Very nice restaurant”
13 Aug 2017
“Low key and delicious”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
8 Trafalgar Street | North Laines, Brighton BN1 4EQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's my first time trying Senegalese food and it didn't disappoint. I ordered the Senegalese Chicken Curry

Thank Marianna C
Reviewed 20 October 2017

it was our fault really we could see the disappointment coming and still stayed. It is a charming if not particularly clean place. we tried to order fish, but that was sold out ( in Brighton?). we then settled for pork chops. I ordered potatoes...More

Thank Sochi Y
Giulia G, Manager at Le Baobab Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

are you sure you were at our restaurants? we do not sell pork chops as the Chef is Muslim... and we either have potatoes, but actually sweet potatoes, the same with roasted veggie - perhaps you meant grilled veggie? it is also quite hard for...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Having travelled frequently in West Africa, we were delighted to discover a West African restaurant had opened in our home town of Brighton. We certainly weren't disappointed. We went with two friends and therefore had a range of starters and mains. My sardines were delicious...More

Thank BrightonLibby
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The place is nice decorated and the staff is very friendly. The food was simple but nice so it fulfilled my expectations. I recommend to go if you feel like having a little taste of something different.

Thank Eli Á
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

For a larger person it is very difficult to sit at the table as they are very low. Food was basic and bland to my taste, could not see how it was specific to Senegal . Starter came out very dry and with no sauce...More

Thank Ripitup2014
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Such a great little find, tucked away in the lanes near the station, this a cute little place to head for dinner with fab atmosphere. Only about 5 or 6 tables so it feels very intimate and cosy. The food is fresh and delicious and...More

1  Thank rosysophie
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This small restaurant in heart of Brighton has so much to offer. We went on a Thursday night but the place was full. There was only one server but she managed the situation really well. Food was great and serving size is larger than usual,...More

Thank Omar H
Reviewed 13 August 2017

A perfect place for dinner during the calm of summer holidays with only four couples dining. Delicious and very reasonably priced meals. The empandas are wonderful. Great Senegalese (I assume) music in the background. Smiling service from Giulia, but if there's a bigger crowd and...More

Thank willosussex2017
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I was already familiar with Laye's excellent cuisine from Bologna, Italy. Laye's stand was often present in conjunction with Bologna's diverse multicultural food scene, especially in relation to the "Human Rights Night Film Festival", a festival on human right films that Giulia Grassilli has been...More

1  Thank Dario M
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I went with my brother to try something different. We were both really impressed firstly by the nice decor and the welcoming staff. My brother had a delicious fish platter which included a whole seabream, king prawns, squids and clams, all for the modest price...More

Thank Giac K
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Brighton
Blanch House
1,249 reviews
1.06 km away
Hotel Una
1,021 reviews
1.13 km away
Artist Residence Brighton
1,145 reviews
1.11 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
1,050 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Manjus
74 reviews
.01 km away
Kitchen Cafe
101 reviews
.06 km away
The Prince George
200 reviews
.02 km away
Carlito Burrito
208 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Laine
2,521 reviews
.11 km away
St Bartholomews
106 reviews
.24 km away
Snoopers Paradise
26 reviews
.26 km away
St Peter's
29 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Baobab Cuisine staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Trafalgar Street | North Laines, Brighton BN1 4EQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 7530 338456
  • E-mail
Description
Started as a Street food in London and Bologna, Le Baobab Cuisine is now opening its first ever restaurant in Brighton. Le Baobab Cuisine offers a taste of gourmet cuisine from Senegal, all prepared on site by Chef Abdoulaye Gaye with fresh vegetable, fish and meat and special African ingredients – from smoked fish to gombos, yam and peppers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing