We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

OHSO Social

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 746067
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband devoured his mussels in minutes and said they were amazing! My burger was very enjoyable but would have preferred the relish on the side as it was quite an overpowering taste and there was loads of it! We've visited before and I'm sure we will be back again!

Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Came here in February this year with my son and friend after a conference. We had seen it the night before and thought it looked lovely, it was extremely busy which I thought might be a good sign. We stood in long queue to order food and drinks. Didn't mind that... but there was only one poor girl serving behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank bevsabbatella
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walking along sea front we decided to stop here for a beverage break, was very busy and the food looked nice, will maybe try and once warmer weather is here.

Helpful?
Thank mill73
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Considering this is the only bar on Brighton seafront with direct beach location, it's very disappointing that the owners can't make more effort. Where do I start? Maybe the rusting exterior, or the appalling Beefeater style food, or the uninventive beer selection, or possibly the dirty tables and cutlery? Ok, let's take each one in order. Appearance: the place is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
Allyson M, Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I will pass on your suggestions regarding decor to the boss. As for the beer I am sorry but over the weekend we had issues with the San Miguel taps so we had to take them off as we pride our self on selling quality product. We hope you re consider and join us again... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wedding here, bar too expensive! Service at the bar VERY BAD! They cannot make drinks?? confusing I know but true, probably the worst place to be on the strip! I'm so confused to the good reviews this has had, please don't be fooled there are so many amazing CHEAP bars in Brighton, don;t do it look elsewhere!

Helpful?
Thank TwisterMr
Allyson M, Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear this. When was your wedding? I would like to get to the bottom of this matter as we pride our self on the service provided. Please contact me directly at Ohso to discuss this matter. More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice place to get lunch by the pier. Right on the sea front, it has tables on the beach with great views. Pleasant atmosphere, bar service rather than table service, and terrific chips. We'd come again.

Helpful?
Thank Wolfen2016
Allyson M, General Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Thank you for kind words. We hope to see you in the summer. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good restaurant I enjoyed every second of my meal you guys should be proud of yourselves too well done!

Helpful?
Thank Luca A
Allyson M, General Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Hi Luca, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us. I hope you join us again soon. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here on lovely sunny Saturday. The place was really busy but we managed to get a good table. Nice place to sit and watch the passing crowds. Service to order was initially good as there was two serving and the food arrived quickly and was very nice. However within half an hour one of the girls behind the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Droggs
Allyson M, Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Thanks for your honest and kind review of your visit to us we aim to make all our guests stay as enjoyable and care-free as possible, unfortunately you are right we did not anticipate such lovely weather in the middle of February. We are doing our best to build our team now so that this doesn't happen again. Please do... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took the family out for a day in sun. This bar is a great location to sit and the kids run around on the beach. Extremely busy venue but pleasant staff. Drinks a little expensive but worth it for the view. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
Allyson M, Front Office Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Hi Wendy Thanks for your kind review of your visit to us we aim to make all our guests stay as enjoyable and care-free as possible. Glad you enjoyed your family day out with us. Please do come back and see us again soon. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On an unusually hot day for February, we found a great seat at this bar overlooking the sea and the pier. Restaurant was extremely busy which made for a great atmosphere, the staff were friendly and helpful. We had the fish and chips which found were great value as it was large size. Highly recommend!!!

Helpful?
Thank Tash A
Allyson M, General Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Ohso. Please come back and see us again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed OHSO Social also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to OHSO Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 746067
Description
Ohso Social is Brighton's best seafront beach bar! By day we've got a family friendly cafe bar feel, open for hearty, feel-good classic pub grub, tasty salads and Mediterranean inspired sharing platters. Food is sourced from local suppliers and served from breakfast (9am on-season or 10am off-season) right through 'til an early dinner service.

In the evening, OhSo turns down the lights and transforms into a beach-side party spot, with DJs at weekends.

Bookings are welcome and off-season we offer full venue hire, making us ideal for corporate functions, the 'big 40' party, networking events and more.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of OHSO Social and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from OHSO Social staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?