We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

IL Bistro

6-7A Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
+44 1273 324584
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (50 reviews)
“pate” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
6-7A Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had eaten here years ago (we are not local) and once we had found the restaurant again on the lanes we booked for the evening. The fillet Steak was well cooked. All the sides are extra which do add up though. Can recommend the...More

Thank Goodwoodgirl
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Me and my partner went for dinner and had one of the worst dining experiences we've ever had. We went for a sirloin and a fillet steak, both medium rare, with colcannon and spinach on the side and a peppercorn sauce. We were going to...More

Thank Jade H
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We visited this bistro as a 'tastecard' option and were pleased with the choice. On a sunny day it added to the atmosphere to sit outside and watch the world go by. Whilst advertised as a steak house, it does a variety of dishes across...More

Thank Christopher_Heaney
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Recently visited the IL BISTRO a couple of weeks ago when on a day trip to Brighton. I knew the lanes from my university days but stumbled upon this fabulous restaurant due to their lunchtime set menu. The restaurant itself is lovely and inviting, and...More

Thank TeddingtonAudiTT
Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably the best fillet steak I have had. Reasonably priced, lovely wine. Tucked away in The Lanes in Brighton... Perfect for a romantic evening :)

1  Thank Sarah B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dined here with a group of people, overall group was very positive on food and service. I had the fish cakes to start which were a little bland and lacking taste although hot, for mains I tried the mussels from what is a very nice...More

Thank MinecraftSteve
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal and friendly service. Will come again! Prawns and smoked salmon starter was superb as was steak and tiramasu for afters!

Thank RuthFogg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came upon this gem by chance and what a fantastic little restaurant in the heart of Brighton. The food was extremely well cooked and presented, calamari, lamb chops, liver and bacon. Generous portions and taste heavenly. (They also do set menus at great prices too)....More

Thank Graeme80
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were umming and aahing about where to eat as we walked around the lanes in Brighton. The amount of restaurants to choose from is unbelievable, but in the end we settled for IL Bistro, a small family run Bistro in the...More

Thank Michael N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a dinner with my partner. He had a tomato and red pepper chicken dish and I had a chicken and blue sauce dish from the specials menu. Both enjoyed our dinner, the blue cheese sauce was lacking on the blue cheese side but...More

Thank Kathryn S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brighton Burger
220 reviews
.02 km away
Plateau
735 reviews
.06 km away
English's of Brighton
1,162 reviews
.06 km away
Giggling Squid Brighton
871 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Lanes
4,347 reviews
.08 km away
Old Police Cells Museum
67 reviews
.05 km away
Kellie Miller Arts
12 reviews
.02 km away
Visitor Information Centre
18 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Denise B
Michael, the waiter most certainly did not offer to substitute or replace our meals. Had he done so, I would not have reviewed your restaurant. When we drew his attention to the amount of gristle, his response was to shrug and say 'the plate complains'. He showed the plates to the chef and then offered us a glass of limoncello which we declined, as we were drinking red wine. Given his response, there seemed no point in mentioning the dessert. You do yourself no favours with your response to my review. A simple apology might have shown your business in a better light.
25 September 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from BDeverell | Reviewed this property |
Not really sure how this question is relevant to me!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:30
Thursday
11:30 - 22:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-7A Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 324584
  • E-mail
Description
Locally owned and locally loved, IL Bistro is the original bistro in the lanes. A family run steakhouse brasserie that specialises in the best available scotch steaks, prime cut meats and seafood dishes. IL Bistro has worked with local food suppliers since 1976 and prides itself on being one of the longest serving independent restaurants in Brighton. Set in a fisherman's cottage which dates back to the 18th century in the reign of George I the restaurant is situated in the heart of the lanes in Market street and is within walking distance from the beach, Churchill square, the Royal Pavilion and the Theatre Royal and is open for pre theatre dining, breakfast and lunches seven days a week.