We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sussex Arms

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HL, England
+44 1273 327591
Website
Tuesday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon 11:00 - 23:00
Thu 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Chanced upon this for pub lunch with friends. It is placed in something akin to a piazza square with other cafes and restaurants neighbouring. Myself and friends arrived fairly early in the day with only just a handful of folks having drinks. We took our drinks and ordered food. Friendly service the other side of the bar and food arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve L. K
Jonathan B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you so much for your lovely review and rating! We're always pleased that customers enjoy their whole experience, environment, service, food and drink, so to hear you did was great for us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and hope that you enjoy every visit with us. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,145 reviews
799 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in Brighton from London and made our way to through the markets and stopped at the Sussex arms for a few drinks we sat outside in the sunshine and listen to the music played buy very musical buskers. It was great .the pub is clean and the staff friendly a pub menu a good selection of drinks well... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
Jonathan B, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Dear James So glad you enjoyed your visit to us! When the sun is shining there is nothing better than a drink from our wide selection, sitting outside and the live music playing. Thank you for your rating and review, and we look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit, hopefully you'll enjoy some food from our wonderful... More 

Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went to this pub in Brighton at the weekend for drinks with my boyfriend and to watch the boxing. Great atmosphere watching the boxing full of locals as well as tourists like myself visiting. The bar staff are very friendly and welcoming. There is wide selection of beer and wine and also enjoyed a lovely Sunday roast. Would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank tashad74
Jonnyboyrocks, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hi tashad74 Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us on the night of the boxing, so much so you returned the next day for one of our yummy roasts! It means even more that even through we are very busy on both days we still gave you great... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Visited the Sussex Arms for lunch on Saturday with wife and 3 kids and one of the worst eating experiences ever had Ordered 1 kids fish goujon meal, sharing burger platter, jacket potato and hot chicken and bacon sandwich. The place wasn't busy but after 45 minute wait no sign of food. Then the next table family of 4 who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
Ju L, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hello Kevin J, Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry to hear that you had a really bad experience at the Sussex Arms last Saturday. If you could please contact me by email at 7258@greeneking.co.uk so we can resolve it together privately, I will be more than happy to talk to you about it. I'm looking forward... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Lovely staff,unflustered even though on a busy sunny Sunday.Enjoyed the food,always piping hot and reasonably priced.Good selection of beers & wines so no complaints there......our only complaint was the dirty(couldn't miss them)toilet brushes in the ladies toilets!!!!

Helpful?
Thank CHEEKYPEEKS8
Ju L, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hello Cheekypeeks, Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and selection of drinks. Have you tried our roasts that Sunday? Thank you for pointing the toilet brushes, indeed they were a bit old and dirty. We all hope to see you back really soon. Kind regards, Julie More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Couple of pints on a Saturday early evening. Busy pub showing live football. Semi-attentive bar staff and decent enough array of drinks.

Helpful?
Thank richard s
Ju L, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hello Richard, Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that the staff was not attentive enough, but thank you to point it out we will work on it for the future. We really hope to see again soon and we hope that during your next visit you will have a better experience in our pub. Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Staff remembered us which was really nice. Really friendly pub good selection of drinks. Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Wellykaynie
Ju L, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hello Wellykaynie, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I was really glad to see again the after your first visit, you are such a lovely couple. And I really hope to see you both again soon. Kind regards, Julie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Staff were very friendly, polite, accommodating and service good with our meals. We managed to get a table at front of pub once people disappeared after football showing. We were two couples and everyone enjoyed their food. Only thing I'd say I'm afraid the back area does smell of the toilets (strong type of urinal cake type smell) and hence... More 

Helpful?
Thank RIGGSY666
Jonnyboyrocks, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hi Riggsy666 Thank you so much for your recent feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed the food and drink and found the service good. We are, however, disappointed that there was an issue with our toilets. We have recently had a leak which has now been fixed, so we hope that when you visit us again you will find... More 

Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Popped in for a beer to watch a game of football. Asked the manager if the game was on but he said there was a different match being shown. However, his colleague then asked what game and then changed one of the TVs over so we could watch our match. I thought this was a nice touch / gesture. Bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank kdw72
Ju L, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Dear kdw72 Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, we do try and to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay, so we're glad we were able to show the right match for you to watch whilst you were with us. We hope to see you again very soon! With Thanks, Guest... More 

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I called in here for a drink with my wife and 16 year old son last week. The manager nodded to the bar maid to alert her to my son's potential underage status. They seemed keen not to serve us. They told us that in the UK, 16 year old's must have ID. We live in the UK and visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
Ju L, Guest Relations Manager at The Sussex Arms, responded to this review

Hello John, Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit in our pub. We may not have been very clear about the ID check, indeed the premises license does not allow us to serve alcohol to everyone who is under 18 even if they are with an adult, this is why we have... More 

Travellers who viewed The Sussex Arms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Sussex Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 327591

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sussex Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?