We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Cafe

24 Upper Hamilton Road | Prestonville, Brighton BN1 5DF, England
+44 1273 503917
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good13%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (17 reviews)
“hash” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 Upper Hamilton Road | Prestonville, Brighton BN1 5DF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

As we walked through the door the enticing aroma got our tastebuds dancing. This combined with the cheerful welcome from the staff set a 'high bar' from the start. I had the pleasure of tucking into the BIG Breakfast, which was flavoursome and perfectly cooked....More

Thank TaffyMatty
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Visited here with a friend for lunch, chosen as it was highly rated on TA and I like trying out new places. We each had the Bigger Breakfast; big tasty pork sausage, couple of rashes of delicious bacon, fried egg (cooked to perfection though I'd...More

Thank bambifalls
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Found this place with a hangover ..... AMAZING, we had meat eaters, gluten free and vegan friends and everyone could eat.

Thank marina s
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We always seem to have to queue for a table no matter what day of the week, but it's always worth the wait! Lovely fresh smoothie and wonderful breakfast hash.

Thank Jackie S
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I was told about this cafe by a relative and was only let down by how rude and ignorant the waitress was. She was very cold and had no customer service skills at all, It felt like I had done something wrong every time I...More

Thank Billy H
JoesBrighton, Owner at Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Billy, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm very glad you enjoyed the food and music but I'm obviously disappointed and sorry that the service was poor on this occasion. I am surprised as my staff are usually...More

Reviewed 26 February 2017

At least in the winter with limited indoor seating, this pleasant cafe has become a victim of its own success, with all tables taken, so we needed to sit outside on a damp cold morning for almost half an hour for a table to become...More

Thank markbrigh2n
JoesBrighton, Owner at Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Mark, Thanks taking the time to leave a review and apologies that you didn't enjoy ever aspect of your time with us. In response to some of the points you have made: Parking is an issue all over Brighton but the area where we...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing breakfasts, good atmosphere. Really recommend the hangover hash and full English. Friendly staff :)

Thank Elliott W
JoesBrighton, Owner at Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Elliot, Many thanks for your great review and we're super glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Go here often and the hangover hash is always outstanding! Lovely relaxing area, cheerful staff and great background music!

Thank Tommy C
JoesBrighton, Manager at Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi! Many thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm really glad you enjoyed the food, staff and music! Hope to see you again in the future. All the best Dan

Reviewed 1 February 2017

I have visited Joe's on several occasions and it's never disappointed! Everything I've had here has been the delicious !!! The coffee, the food, the staff everything is perfect. The breakfasts are amazing!! Very well priced and the standard is very high!! Best breakfasts in...More

Thank Ciz1995
JoesBrighton, Owner at Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi, Thanks for your amazing review, I'm really glad you have enjoyed all of your visits to Joe's! I love sharing reviews like this with our staff as it is very motivating and it keeps us going strong. Hope to see you again in the...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Popped here for breakfast, great choice, well cooked and tasty. The hash offers lots of options, unless you are famished go for standard portion as they are generous. All in a all a good fresh breakfast.

Thank JWBayton
JoesBrighton, Owner at Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again in the future. All the best Dan

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 44 hotels in Brighton
Travelodge Brighton
833 reviews
.33 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
2,811 reviews
.71 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1,727 reviews
.97 km away
Britannia Study Hotel
316 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Last Post
38 reviews
.21 km away
Red Snapper - Brighton
167 reviews
.54 km away
The Chimney House
162 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brighton Open Air Theatre (B.O.A.T)
37 reviews
.39 km away
Booth Museum of Natural History
208 reviews
.42 km away
Preston Manor
122 reviews
.42 km away
Brighton & Beyond Tours
92 reviews
.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Elaine E
10 January 2016|
Answer
Response from reviewFace | Property representative |
Hi Elaine, Thanks for you message but I think you may be getting mixed up. Joes Cafe is very much an open business and this listing on tripadvisor is ours, not that for 'A cup of Joe'. Also no one called George has ever... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Upper Hamilton Road | Prestonville, Brighton BN1 5DF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 503917
  • E-mail
Description
We are passionate about food and believe in the power of a great breakfast and a hearty lunch! We pick all of our suppliers carefully to ensure they are top quality and more importantly local. All meat, veg & eggs come straight from Sussex based farms to ensure the food is fresh and traceable. For breakfast we serve everything from a classic fry up to a spicy Spanish hash, all accompanied with quality, freshly ground coffee and delicious cakes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing