We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Grill

98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
+44 1797 222114
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“gambas” (18 reviews)
“steak” (90 reviews)
“chateaubriand” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 993 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited this restaurant yesterday. We hadn't booked but were seated on the understanding that the table was needed in two hours which was fine with us. The staff were very attentive and the food was well cooked and filling. We both had steak albeit different...More

Thank hocklej
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Brilliant grill with a wide selection. Service was brilliant. Food was very good. The most extensive wine list I have seen. Rye is certainly a place for good food. Will be back to this relatively inexpensive grill.

Thank EdClew
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Slow service. Tuesday night, not that busy. 20 mins before order taken. One vegetarian option and waiter said no cream available for mushroom and artichoke fricassée. One artichoke and a few mushrooms on a bed of rocket and a base which can only be described...More

Thank Sue W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful food at a reasonable price. Excellent service and buzzy atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Thank AmyLouPeg
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'AmyLouPeg' We were thrilled to read your feedback, thank you! We hope you'll come and visit us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Do not bother to order a drink with more than 1(!!!) Person at the bar.. tom cruise ( well he thinks he is shaking that metal mixer about 20 times ) just stands there grinning for 15 minutes while he continues to ignore you standing...More

Thank Wernhamhog
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is a comfortable open feel to the area in which we ate even though we were close to the bar. The waiter was helpful although we did feel a little rushed in taking our order. The mezze board between four was a perfect starter,...More

Thank condomcalling
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'condomcalling' Thank you for your kind and candid feedback. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I come in for afternoon tea Saturday and just want to say how disappointed I was it was for our anniversary and we was so disappointed, the cakes and scones were so dry we couldn’t eat them and once we was given our afternoon tea...More

1  Thank Sammie88Ella
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sammie88Ella Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here and on social media. We have been investigating the details of your complaint with the staff who served you . Please be assured that we welcome all guest feedback and do our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Saw this as we were walking down the street and were immediately drawn in. Great dining experience with a good selection of food. Very pleasant and efficient staff. Extremely relaxing and unhurried.

Thank Cogzn
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 'Cogzn' We were thrilled to read your feedback, thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope you'll come and see us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The menu looked enticing but we were disappointed to be served steak which was still bloody (we had asked for medium) on a wooden board. Within a few minutes the steak had oozed blood onto the table which was most unpleasant.More

1  Thank Saraki
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Saraki We're very sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing and that your steak was not cooked to your liking. We hope you brought this up with our staff at the time. We are always happy to substitute wooden boards for plates if...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a business dinner last night. The restaurant was a bit loud for it, but it is a very nice facility. The scallop appetizer was very good. The sweet pepper base went well with it. The grilled lobster was good as well. It was...More

Thank Eric P
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 'Eric P' Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your scallops and lobster. We also have a private dining room, our Benson room, for meetings and private dinners. Our staff would be pleased to...More

PreviousNext
123456100
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Rye
The George in Rye
1,461 reviews
.01 km away
The Regent Motel & Bar
58 reviews
.12 km away
The Mermaid Inn
1,062 reviews
.14 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
842 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mahdi Spice
350 reviews
.13 km away
The Fig
261 reviews
.14 km away
The Union Steakhouse
537 reviews
.09 km away
Tuscan Kitchen Rye
679 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Mary's Parish Church
623 reviews
.15 km away
Rye Heritage Centre
317 reviews
.29 km away
Ypres Tower Museum
251 reviews
.21 km away
The School of Wizards & Witches
61 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steven O
2 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Charlie S | Reviewed this property |
Steven, I'm not 100% certain but, yes I think there was.
0
Votes
Mark C
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GeorgeinRye | Property representative |
Hello Mark C We welcome well-behaved (and not too large!) dogs in our bar area and in the Courtyard garden. Unfortunately we cannot allow them in the main restaurant or in the rooms. We hope this helps, but please don't... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Rye
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 222114
  • E-mail
Description
The George Grill and our bar, The George Tap, are temples of all day dining, serving a modern European menu with a sunny, Mediterranean slant. At the heart of the kitchen is a Josper wood-charcoal grill, where our kitchen team, led by Robert Wright fast-cook seafood just caught from Rye Bay, local meats and vegetables. The George Tap offers a large range of wine by the glass, including those from vineyards in East Sussex and Kent.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing