We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chestnut Tree

High Street | High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
+44 1451 820474
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good39%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (59 reviews)
“rarebit” (8 reviews)
“cottage pie” (6 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
High Street | High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went along to this tea room at Bourton on the Water. First time visit to this tea room. Quick service, friendly staff, competitive prices. Lovely surrounding. Will defiantly go again when in the area. Give it a try

Thank Robert W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing. That's all really. Good food, great service, good choice. The Cotswold Rarebit with bacon is particularly special.

Thank Paula M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When me and my husband first walked into the tearoom we were welcomed by a young waitress with a friendly smile. This lovely young lady then served us with amazing manners. She even laughed at my husbands terrible jokes. We couldn't have asked for a...More

Thank dianeksmith8
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On the main high street so easy to find, friendly place with clean facilities. Had creme teas , very nice but not extra special, good prices though.

Thank Jackie C
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

The tea room was a traditional style with many teapots on display. I had a cream tea that came with 2 huge scones and a pot of tea. The scones were evidently home made and fresh out of the oven. It was light and fluffy,...More

Thank Mari W
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Having given this cafe a poor review some time ago, and seemingly upsetting the owner by a fair and honest review we decided to give it a second chance. It certainly won't get any more. Disgusting food rude staff. Give this one a miss (it's...More

4  Thank sarahbarron1
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review

Only you apparently

Reviewed 15 April 2017

This tea room and restaurant was lovely with exposed beams that had pottery teapots hanging from them. The tables and chairs were solid wood. The menu was quite comprehensive, with vegetarian and gluten free options. We were able to have decaf tea, but soft drinks...More

Thank Carol D
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This was our second time at this restaurant, after the first being quite satisfactory at best. The second time round was a very embarrassing and uncomfortable experience. Tnks happened on Mothers Day. Both of us entered, we were shown to our table, and ordered. After...More

Thank JeanMarc_Camilleri
RichardC012, Owner at The Chestnut Tree, responded to this review

Too late now as you have published on the biased Trip Advisor system but this was not us you have the wrong location. But damage is done.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Superb - cream teams lovely light and freshly baked, staff attentive and friendly so glad we came! After a bad experience with another restaurant I am so pleased we came here, thank you to all the staff for turning things around for us! X

Thank kellywicheard
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We waited over 20 minutes after sitting down for one of the waitresses who enjoyed chatting to each other a lot more than serving. We then after several attempts to get served, just got up and left.

Thank tedosborn
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bakery on the Water
498 reviews
.06 km away
Rose Tree Restaurant
971 reviews
.03 km away
Smiths of Bourton,
232 reviews
.12 km away
The Croft Restaurant
952 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cotswold Motoring Museum
1,212 reviews
.07 km away
Dragonfly Maze
490 reviews
.41 km away
Birdland
1,111 reviews
.50 km away
The Model Village
1,058 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
ssach85
Hi, We are visiting Bourton on the Water this weekend. We are vegetarian and do not eat anything that contains eggs. If we were to book in advance, would you be able to cater for out dietary requirements?
4 May 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from 625lynn | Reviewed this property |
Personally try another venue, there are lots of nice tea rooms about.
1
Vote
RichardC012
How did you make it £9.50?????
9 July 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from RichardC012 | Property representative |
Sorry Chrisp4112 it is a failing of the Tripadvisor system Michael P you are not comparing like for like then in your comment and it is a morning drink and cake offer i.e. finishes at midday
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$9
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 05:00
Monday
10:00 - 05:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 05:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 05:00
Thursday
10:00 - 05:00
Friday
10:00 - 05:00
Saturday
10:00 - 05:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Bourton-on-the-Water
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 820474
  • E-mail
Description
Our tea Room and Licensed Bistro is located adjacent to the River Windrush in the beautiful Cotswolds village of Bourton-on-the-Water which has been described as the 'Little Venice' of the Cotswolds and is one of the most popular tourist spots in the region. Famous for its cream, afternoon and celebration teas along with superb breakfasts, lunches, snacks, cakes, pastries and ice creams, The Chestnut Tree looks forward to welcoming you on your next visit. During the summer you can take tea on our private lawn adjacent to the river Windrush or maybe enjoy an ice cream or seasonal fruit from our take away kiosk.