We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The County Kitchen

6-8 Grosvenor Street, Cheltenham GL52 2SG, England
+44 1242 300100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (44 reviews)
“poached eggs” (26 reviews)
“beef brisket” (8 reviews)
Closes in 8 min
9:00 AM - 3:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, Mediterranean, European, British, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-8 Grosvenor Street, Cheltenham GL52 2SG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 508 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went for a nice quiet evening meal and was very pleasantly surprised. We all had diffetent meals which were all fantastic and the staff were great too - would definitely reccomend.

Thank jimmy_drumstix
Reviewed 5 days ago

My wife and I were in Cheltenham for the literary festival and wanted a decent brunch lunch. The county kitchen reserved us a table and couldn't do enough for us. The service ( Rosie) was impeccable. I and the most delightful English breakfast - in...More

Thank steve w
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, I like the relatively small menu. It usually means that they do them well. And they do! great food, large portions and a competitive price (at least compared to Oxford!). I'm not usually one for desserts but I can't wait to go back to...More

Thank DeanOxford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter reserved a table for 6 of us, the table was ready for us when we arrived. It was very busy, the food took a while but it was all freshly cooked. I had the veggie brekkie, excellent as it had spinach & avocado...More

1  Thank TOGsNotts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Met with family for lunch and between us we had breakfast/brunch items, salads and kids' options all of which were hearty portions and delicious. The price was really reasonable too. Would definitely visit again.

Thank Fredthebluedog
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I popped in for a quick brunch and we both had the veggie breakfast with coffees for £8! Great deal - service was lovey, polite and quick. Only downside was the coffee, was boiling hot and the milk wasn’t done well -...More

Thank Katie L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a bit of dinner and found this place on tripadvisor. Although most reviews were for breakfast or lunch it was open and we rang them to check. The guy on the phone, Jack, was great and we popped in early evening....More

Thank Kiran S
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great food everytime, always a friendly service and very accomodating. A weekly visit from us now!!!

Thank HenrySUK
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We found this small cafe/restaurant via Trip Advisor and We were not disappointed. It is only a small place but it has a lovely relaxed atmosphere with good service. The food was excellent. We ordered the Sea bass and the Lamb which were both very...More

Thank Justina S
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We went here for a Sunday Roast with my parents who were visiting us. Having been here before and had a great meal we went, secure in the knowledge that we would have another great experience. As amazing as the food was, unfortunately our experience...More

2  Thank miss_rodriguez
Richard W, Owner at The County Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, I am sorry for the delay in responding. My apologies for the poor experience you had, this is not our normal level of service. On the day you visited we had two new members of staff working front of house. One of the waiters...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Marinades Restaurant
300 reviews
.05 km away
Cabbages & Condoms
138 reviews
.09 km away
The Grape Escape
88 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Everyman Theatre
338 reviews
.33 km away
Cheltenham Playhouse
54 reviews
.24 km away
The Minotaur and the Hare
23 reviews
.40 km away
Earl's & Co.
174 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
packard
24 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Richard W | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your question we serve beer that brewed in Cheltenham and produced by Battledown Brewery. I think we have been discussing this today with you on Facebook? Look forward to seeing you soon
0
Votes
junesilv
31 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard W | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your question, we would love to welcome you for lunch on the Saturday, which is our busiest day of the week you will definitely need to book, all the best rich
0
Votes
Leigh T
1 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Richard W | Property representative |
Hi, we are open during the day but not at night. Many thanks, Rich
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-8 Grosvenor Street, Cheltenham GL52 2SG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1242 300100
  • E-mail
Description
We are all about amazing food in a relaxed, informal setting. We let our food do the talking. We are for fine food, not fine dining !
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing