We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bear

High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AX, England
44608652992
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good37%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (31 reviews)
“casserole” (3 reviews)
“onion rings” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What a great place! Turned up on Sunday for a quick drink and greeted with great beer and the best ‘left over roasties’ I ‘ve ever had! So much so we came for dinner the following night. Great pork belly for me, steak pie for...More

1  Thank TimTheVoice
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Very friendly welcoming staff. Had the fish and chips and was the best we have had in a long time. Hot and fresh.

1  Thank corkers75
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect for a cold wet day - log fire and great food. The lunch menu had plenty of choice and was very reasonably priced. There was also a childrens menu. The food was excellent. I would be very happy to return here.

1  Thank blt100
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tuesday is market day. We visited for lunch. Three kids two adults. Lunch specials for £5 we ok (fish finger sandwich and fish cakes). Kids burgers were processed frozen and greasy unfortunately. Three hungry kids left most of them. Maybe the non-kids and non-£5-specials are...More

Thank Ben C
BlackBearAdmin, Owner at The Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your opinions. We never stop trying to improve so feedback is important to us. Firstly I totally agree with you about the kids burgers. At first we did offer a smaller version of our home made...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a drink before going to the station on a Sunday , it is very much an old mans pub (nothing wrong with that ). The locals are friendly, this is a sports pub though so when going on Sunday they had 4 screens...More

Thank enlightenedfoodie
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for lunch on a very cold Sunday and received a very warm welcome. The food was excellent value for money. We both had beef and ale pie which was well cooked with lots of tender meat and plenty of gravy. We had chips...More

Thank Chris W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here twice now with my baby grandson. There's plenty of room for a pushchair and they have a highchair. Really friendly and a small but delicious lunch menu - soup and cheese on toast was just the job! Though it's a pub, it...More

Thank SuzyMH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just been in and had two pints of the Cotswold gold, staff very friendly and beer very good at a cheap price

Thank Kevin A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a table for 4 for lunch on New Years Eve. Pleasantly surprised the food and service was excellent.

Thank petergNorfolk
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We stopped at the Black Bear for a quick bite of lunch and a pint. The pub offered a range of food for £5. I had leek and potato soup served with cheese on toast and my husband had chicken caserole with a herb dumpling...More

Thank Bobbie M
PreviousNext
12345631
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Moreton-in-Marsh Hotels
White Hart Royal Hotel
2,104 reviews
.05 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
1,226 reviews
.07 km away
The Manor House Hotel
1,176 reviews
.21 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
395 reviews
6.76 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Yellow Brick Cafe
353 reviews
.06 km away
The Spice Room
701 reviews
.04 km away
The Cotswold Tearoom
168 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Moreton Gallery
18 reviews
.18 km away
Secret Cottage
1,312 reviews
.14 km away
Cotswolds Mystery Tour
208 reviews
.14 km away
Cotswolds Guided Tours
149 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KAREN M
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BlackBearAdmin | Property representative |
Always best to. That way a table is guaranteed. Give us a call on 01608 652992 if you'd like to reserve one
0
Votes
Martin G
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Richard R | Reviewed this property |
As with many pubs in the U.K. dogs are not only welcome but commonplace
0
Votes
28 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BlackBearAdmin | Property representative |
Hi there. Im sure we could! Would you prefer to contact me direct? (01608) 652992. Ask for David
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$25
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh
  • Phone Number: 44608652992
  • E-mail
Description
Pub Food, including a range of foreign dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing