We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brasserie Blanc

1 Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FR, England
+44 23 9289 1320
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak tartare” (35 reviews)
“cheese souffle” (13 reviews)
“duck” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Went there last week and was delighted with the service and food. Friendly staff, very attentive and lovely decor

Thank victorianauk
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went here with my wife a few months back and absolutely loved it. I had calf's liver which was to die for, my wife had a steak which was superb and we finished off with some cheese and a couple of bottles of wine. It...More

Thank Paul N
BBPortsmouth, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good morning Paul Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. So lovely to hear you and your wife enjoyed your food with us. We can't wait to welcome you back to try some of our spring offerings....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had such a perfect meal. We sat outside in the sun was just perfect. Had the set meal. Wow what a set meal. Could not easily choose Keith had the fish starter and pork. I had fish and pavlova Was yum yum yum. Can’t wait...More

Thank sgreen3
BBPortsmouth, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Thank you so for leaving us such a lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our pre fixe menu. This set menu changes the first Thursday of every month to make sure all of our dishes our made with the freshest and most...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I attend the restaurant for a meal prior to attending a conference at the local university. My initial impression of the restaurant was favourable as it is modern and bright but this initial impression was ruined. I ordered a Ham Hock starter and could feel...More

Thank ChristopherAuckland
BBPortsmouth, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening Christopher Please let me apologize for the mix-up but it seems I have an incorrect telephone number for you Would you please email me at portsmouth@brasserieblanc.com to rectify this issue Yours sincerely Braden Shimmon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant serves lovely food and is set back from the noisier part of Gunwharf Quay and you do need to book. Thoroughly recommend.

Thank michealjean
BBPortsmouth, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review Michael. We look forward to seeing you soon. All the best - Braden

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered my main - King Prawns with Sticky Black Rice at £18.50 which came out with 3 prawns. Apparently 3 prawns is the company specification. Totally underwhelmed

Thank VacancesHampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit to this restaurant.(Friday May 11th) A very warm welcome . All the staff were wonderful especially our waitress Julia who was so helpful and friendly. We never felt rushed and we felt totally relaxed. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we couldn't...More

Thank hglc
BBPortsmouth, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Thank you so much for our amazing review. So lovely to hear that you entrusted us to celebrate such an important occasion and congratulations on your wedding anniversary. I have passed on your compliments to Juliya, you really made her day. We can't...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal , staff very pleasant and attentive , really cannot fault our evening the May bank holiday ended perfectly

Thank Christina K
BBPortsmouth, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Christina Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We strive to provide the best food and customer service around. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Cheryl

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for the first time yesterday. First thing I did I made a big deal about must not have alcohol, please make sure my drink is non-alcoholic. All went ok, until I ordered chocolate mousse with cherry compote. Cherry compote in all European countries means...More

1  Thank janab007
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our waitress was very pleasant and helpful, we do recommend this restaurant the menu was good and varied, with myself being a Vegetarian, there was a several items to choose from and very well cooked

Thank cherokeedee12
BBPortsmouth, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed both service and food and that our vegetarian options were good and plentiful. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Cheryl

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1,371 reviews
.05 km away
Royal Maritime Club
842 reviews
.49 km away
The George Hotel
439 reviews
.49 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
1,695 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Feed Cafe
322 reviews
.19 km away
Wagamama
576 reviews
.27 km away
Las Iguanas
851 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
HMS Warrior 1860
2,071 reviews
.44 km away
Spinnaker Tower
4,403 reviews
.32 km away
Gunwharf Quays
2,339 reviews
.19 km away
Portsmouth Museum
218 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Colin1947_9
19 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sasha012 | Reviewed this property |
Your right, we have avoided the fries for quite some time they are rubbish, I guess we concentrate on what they do well, and over look some points that are poor sadly to reduce costs.
1
Vote
lionelcb
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stewart100 | Reviewed this property |
As others have said. On the website. Tried to post a link but Trip Adviser won't allow it
0
Votes
Debs_Portsmouth
8 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Teightoh | Reviewed this property |
Waiter my Gazpacho soup is cold! again!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$54
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9289 1320
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing