We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spice Island Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Bath Square | Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JL, England
+44 23 9287 0543
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely old pub, good beer and food, the highlight was watching the boats pass by. The pub is situated next to the main channel into and out of the port, so you get a close up of a variety of craft, from small boats to the Brittany Ferries ships. We were not alone as this is a very popular spot,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walking back from the Gunwharf Quays on a warm sunny Saturday and saw a free table and decided to stop for a drink. This turned into a delightful couple of hours with a fabulous meal. We both had the burger and fries with the extra beef topping and were extremely pleased with our choice. Great value with the added bonus... More 

Helpful?
Thank hobby11
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had visted the inn before and had a wonderful meal before i headed back home to ESSEX , I had the steak it was large cooked how i liked it the service was friendly and the meal was really lovely however on my second visit with my daughter totally different i ordered the same meal, well the steak was... More 

Helpful?
Thank andreasphotography
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here several times in the past for food and have never had a bad meal. But we decided to try here again with the two kids. There were a few things that they had run out of on the menu, so I decided to go for fish and chips. Fish came out with the end curled up which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having lived in Portsmouth for many years we have used this pub on and off over this time. Our recent visit on Easter Sunday we were surprised to see the restaurant nearly empty, when we got our food we realised why. It is not good the menu gives one impression, the actual food delivered completely different, it was cold, greasy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Happyh0llyday
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful setting for a nice family drink beside the sea. Great service and reasonable prices. A pleasant place to watch boats

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
SpiceIslandInn, Manager at Spice Island Inn, responded to this review

Emma, thanks for your lovely review of Spice Island. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ate at this place today with my family and the service and the food where very good. They where flexible to the needs of someone with a food intolerance and food arrived at a good pace. I was about to ask a female waiter with bunny ears if she was wearing them because she wanted or it was something... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria M
SpiceIslandInn, Manager at Spice Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi Maria, thank you for your review of Spice Island, I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I can assure you the bunny ears on Easter Sunday worn by two of our female staff were a result of personal choice and getting into the Easter spirit, and in no way a company requirement. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
354 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here whilst out walking around the harbour. The pub is at the head of Spice Island and so is in a prime location. The selection of beers and ales is ok but they did have a couple off. We did not choose to eat here but they do offer a relatively typical pub menu.

Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
Southsea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't be fooled by the lovely redecoration, it's the only redeeming thing along with the views but the food I've experienced here has been repeatedly poor and disappointing, I always get suckered in when the sun is shining. Ordered the lamb rump with fondant potato and on the bone steak and chips and literally that is all you get for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Changmeikui
SpiceIslandInn, Manager at Spice Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. However, could it have been a review for one of the other businesses in the local area? None of the food items or prices you have mentioned in your review appear on our menu, we also have not had a refurbishment since last year. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here last night, so very disappointed. There was 24 of us for a birthday celebration, most of us had pre ordered and paid a deposit. So we were expected and the staff should have been prepared. There was mis communication, lack of leadership, lack of experienced staff, we still had a wait for starters, then the shambles that followed,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LouandKeith
SpiceIslandInn, Manager at Spice Island Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback, but I am very sorry that you had such a negative experience with us. If you would like to email us at 7977@greeneking.co.uk we can investigate this further for you. King Regards, Management. More 

Travellers who viewed Spice Island Inn also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Bath Square | Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9287 0543
Description
The Spice Island Inn is situated on The Point in Old Portsmouth with the most beautiful view across Portsmouth's busy harbour, Gunwharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower. Originally 3 pubs that were converted into one in 1991. We are an exceptionally busy pub in the warmer summer months and if you want to have a leisurely drink and/or something to eat this is the place for you. We have 2 bars and tables in the upper bar can be reserved, there are a number of seats outside too which are very well used in the summer months. Some people believe Spice Island is a restaurant, but in reality it is a pub with a good food offering. Our speciality dish is hand battered fish & chips which is popular with many of our customers. We do hire out our upper bar for private functions and events.There is always at least 3 cask conditioned ales available, with guest ales making a regular appearance.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Spice Island Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Spice Island Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?