We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Clarendon Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2ED, England
+44 23 9282 2617
Website
Today
17:30 - 23:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 17:30 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 17:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visiting my friends in Portsmouth, came by after hearing good things, wasn't disappointed. Lovely food, large servings, and relaxed atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Francis1988
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've lived in Portsmouth for years and Agora was a restaurant i have never thought to go to. Having recently gone to Turkey several times in the last few years and have fallen in love with the country my boyfriend and i wanted to sample a little reminder of the glorious food for his birthday. The food was out of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleytee
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with friends on Friday night, great atmosphere and even better food, good service and good value for money,would definitely recommend to anyone

Helpful?
2 Thank andym740
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Back in Portsmouth after a long gap, we decided to grab a meal in Agora, one of our past haunts. The service was as prompt as always, with friendly staff that remembered us even after a long gap. Food was a tasty as ever and with my gluten free diet they were kind enough to modify the dishes to my... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AGL28
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everyting was definitly so great. And staff was so friendy. I had best lamb ribs . Thanks AGORAAA 😚😚😚

Helpful?
2 Thank Cansu S
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to last night with my wife and little son. I just had a delicious lamb ribs with my wife. Was absolutely fantastic.. waiter was so helpfull and friendly. Thanks so much agoraaaa.. We'll definedly go back👍👍👍

Helpful?
2 Thank Serkan S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and lovely atmosphere! We will definitely return.... However, it's rather cold if you are sat on a table near the door... I'm a slow eater and my food had gone cold in no time due to the door constantly opening!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lmacw
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We checked on TripAdvisor and we weren't sure where to go but this agora seemed to be the best option for grilled food,unfortunately they were no where close to food or service,the shop was freezing and we were shivering non of the customers around us took a jacket off,we asked the waiter if they can put a heating or ac... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hmaish
Agora33, Owner at Agora, responded to this review

Dear customer, Your wife already wrote comments and I did responded below. I would not go further as you have very bad intention. Your conscience I hope now relief by giving 1 star twice which we did not deserved. Many thanks for your kindness customs. We are very much thanks to all my customer who rated very good in 15... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our dinner at Agora was superb. I can't think of anything they could've done better: The restaurant was immaculately clean, the staff were friendly and warm without being overbearing and the food was outstanding. My calamari was the nicest I've had and the moussaka was out of this world. The prices are very reasonable too - 3 starters, 2 mains... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a busy Saturday night, fairly cold outside. Having asked at several other restaurants for a table only to be turned away, we were suprised but hugely relieved when The Agora found a table for us. It was in a tight spot right by the open kitchen but we were not bothered at this point. We had been given... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
Agora33, Owner at Agora, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I am extremely sorry for your experience on Saturday. We were extremely busy as you had seen and one staff did not turn up last minute and one staff was training. Although very busy time, our 2 waiters and their helper tried their best. In fact we should not dine walk in customer on saturday without reservation but... More 

Travellers who viewed Agora also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Turkish, Greek, Middle Eastern, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:30
Monday
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
17:30 - 23:30
Saturday
17:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Clarendon Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9282 2617

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Agora and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Agora staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?