We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Lights Beefeater

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 22/10
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Harbour Lights Beefeater
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
312
198
155
77
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
312
198
155
77
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak ribs salmon cooked breakfast lovely meal waitress judith voucher
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We went as a group for a family birthday on a Sunday lunchtime, first time we had visited in a few years and a very long time since we last used the place for a celebration, it was the choice of one of our more...senior members of family as a throwback to years gone by, plus he likes a good steak. On arrival our section of the restaurant was empty (but soon filled up) we dined as a group of 10. Handed an A4 sheet with a list of items/dishes not available, must have been about 20 on there, at the bottom was the desserts that were available, only three choices, a sundae, fruit salad or fruit salad with ice cream. Was told they had had a busy Saturday night, inexcusable. Service was friendly ish but not exactly professional and at times a little aggressive. No finesse or polish or empathy at all. Food was okay at best, starters were presented on white plates no frills no garnish no seasoning looked soulless and bland and mine of breaded mushrooms tasted as it looked. Mains were just about average I guess, same boring presentation (bit of green stuff thrown on), cold chips on arrival, except that my partners pasta dish was terrible but she was too polite to speak up, said she has had much much better from a packet heated in the microwave from the supermarket. I had a mixed grill which was okay but not nearly as good as I remember. Waitress didn’t even move along the table to hand out coffees, we had to pass along, it wasn’t as if we were in a booth or anything, there really was plenty access etc. Black Forest Sundae was good. Overall it was a bit of a shocker and a real shame. Definitely, definitely won’t return.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fantastic time at this beefeater tonight. Sat in the bar area and were looked after by Lorraine. Fantastic friendly and helpful service and always looking to go the extra mile and think what we might need. Great drinks and food. Also really good...that they are making customers aware what food they don't have before we look at the menus with a printed list, smart approach to the food shortages to which tjyw have no control over and this seems the best way to minimise impact to the customer. We had 2 chicken ceasar salads and chips. Really tasty and great portion size.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated next to the Premier Inn, we really enjoyed a cold beer on a hot day. Unfortunately, the outside tables are situated right next to a busy main road but there was a comfy sofa next to an open window. Returned in the evening for...dinner. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed fish& chips and gammon and chips which were good value for large portions. Also enjoyed the coffee and cake dessert. This is a popular venue so may need to book.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came for my sisters birthday today and decorated our table on 32 , food was amazing kids enjoyed it . We would like to say a massive Thankyou to Shannon she was very friendly and helpful even if she was rushed off her feet...didn’t fail to make our kids happy what a great worker she is Thankyou agian . We will defiantly come backMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely delicious Beef dinner, with roasts & Yorkshire puds, parsnips & cauli cheese. Served by the friendliest waitress Kelly C. - she was very busy but happily went around helping everyone & making sure everyone was OK.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

We dined here for a Sunday roast and ordered roast beef, we were not disappointed! Delicious and such great value for money, nice selection of vegetables including cauliflower cheese 😁 Great friendly service as always.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Harbour Lights, General Manager at Harbour Lights Beefeater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for such great feedback about our new roast offering! It's going to get even better when our menu changes next month! Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Louise - General Manager

Reviewed 22 August 2021

We had a meal at this restaurant last week. We had a breaded mushroom starter which was ok, my husband ordered a beefburger which was good, I unfortunately went for the 'new' Ricotta and spinach Cannelloni . This is a new addition to the menu...and was dreadul. It did look as if it was a meal from the day before which had been heated up! The dish was just some very dried shrunk pasta with no sauce at all. The waitress Fern (very good waitress and very attentive), asked if we were happy with the meal, I showed her my dish and she immediately asked if I wanted a replacement but I declined. She said she would mention it to the manager as I wanted to make sure that no one else was given that meal in the future. Fern offered to take the meal off the bill and this was done. It was very disappointing as the rest of the meal was good. PLEASE make sure the chef rethinks this meal for the future. Again, Fern is an excellent waitress and I hope Beefeater pay her well!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Harbour Lights, General Manager at Harbour Lights Beefeater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback - this was passed onto myself and the kitchen manager on the day and we have re-addressed this dish. I am so glad you enjoyed Fern's service, she is certainly a big asset to our restaurant! Kind Regards Louise -...More

Reviewed 16 August 2021

Came here for a family Sunday roast as I couldn’t be bothered to cook one. We wasn’t holding out much hope as haven’t really ever had a nice one. The price was good for the quality of food. The beef was so nice, potatoes crispy...and Yorkshire’s perfect. There were a couple of things they had ran out of but this was corrected and reflected in our final bill. Staff were rushed off their feet and work incredibly hard, hats of to all of them. Will definitely be going back again.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Harbour Lights, General Manager at Harbour Lights Beefeater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed our "best ever roast" we have been working really hard to get this dish right and are all very proud of it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Louise- General Manager

Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

Have used this Beafeater many times, and gets better and better Kellie always top class , and reflects in the whole team , with excellent service this time from Danielle . As stopping at hotel next door , looking forward to tonight's meal too !!!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Harbour Lights, General Manager at Harbour Lights Beefeater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this great feedback - the girls were thrilled to read it! Kind Regards Louise- General manager

Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

Visited this branch on the 03rd august 2021 as we are staying local for a holiday. We didn’t expect much from this site as we have been to so many beef eaters over the years and boy we were wrong! We were served my waitress...fern and boy she was amazing. From taking our orders to delivering our delicious food she was helpful & kept the kids occupied while we decided what to have. She made this visit extra special and the food was simply the best out of all the branches we have been to. The wife wanted to come back for the steak (we live 3.5hrs away in west Wales) hahaha. She kept our drinks topped up and we didn’t have to ask for a refill. I was amazed by ferns expertise and she should be awarded for making us feel so welcome and happy. Waitresses like this don’t come along very often! Thank you fern! See you soonMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Harbour Lights, General Manager at Harbour Lights Beefeater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are lucky to have Fern in our team! Kind Regards Louise - General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
34 reviews
.01 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour hotel
831 reviews
.04 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,587 reviews
.11 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) hotel
1,528 reviews
.26 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blue Margarita Cocktails, Wine Bar & Tapas
38 reviews
.72 km away
Gracie-Ann's Tea Room
492 reviews
.66 km away
Prezzo - Port Solent
757 reviews
.73 km away
Casa Brasil
754 reviews
.74 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
PlayZone Portsmouth
129 reviews
.63 km away
Odeon Cinema
118 reviews
.73 km away
Portsdown Hill
343 reviews
.32 km away
Port Solent
324 reviews
.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Geoff E
14 August 2021|
Answer
Response from Margaret P | Reviewed this property |
When we were there in June, booking was advised. It was busy, so booking may be advisable.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harbour Lights Beefeater

Yes, Harbour Lights Beefeater is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Harbour Lights Beefeater is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3