We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 29/10
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$14
CUISINES
Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

4.4 km from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Improve this listing
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
148
191
133
85
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
148
191
133
85
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork sunday roast ice cream pudding meats voucher
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed the carvery ,it was clean and very well organised. The staff especially Ann were very polite and caring. Food hot and tasty ,veg cooked well not soggy all in all very good choices .

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to The Toby yesterday evening to meet two of my daughters and my son-in-law. It’s the first time we’ve been there since re-opening after the lockdown and it was unusually quiet, which was great for us. It’s a lovely building and the bar...is comfortable and a nice place to wait until your meal time. We were seated at our table at the booked time and went to get the carvery which we all wanted. All I can say is if you’re a vegetarian, you need not fear that meat will get into your dish. I have never seen such meagre portions of meat carved and served in my life! I have been to many Toby restaurants over the years and I always enjoy a hearty meal there. I also argue with food snobs who look down their noses at The Toby that they are more honest and offer superior fare to many pseudo food places that dish up cash and carry gruel in the name of posh-nosh, however, by definition a carvery is all about meat and last night was most definitely not about meat. I don’t know whether the lad carving is new to the job or whether he was instructed to give such tiny portions -but all five of us were surprised how little meat was dished up and also how badly it was carved. I can honestly say that there was not a decent slice of any of the meats on our plates. The carver tries to use the maximum amount of the joint with minimum waste -completely understandable, but we were given fat, gristle, burnt ends with minimal decent meat. This has never happened before and I still believe that The Toby is a great value meal -but if this is now the new instruction to staff to give meat portions such as we had, then customers will vote with their feet. Happily the rest of the food was excellent and it didn’t ruin our night -but we heard other diners saying the same things we were saying. Please listen Toby!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for the 4* review Sorry to see that you weren't given enough meant I will address this issue with the kitchen regarding the meat so we can make sure this doesn't happen again

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our waitress mollie was very nice and always made sure we had everything we needed. She interacted with my 2 year old daughter and was always laughing and smiling. The atmosphere was really nice and the food was beautiful

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lauren Thanks so much for the 5* review Glad you had a lovely visit Will pass on your comments to mollie and the team Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 16 September 2021

Booked table for 12:00pm, no waiting for being seated which is always good. received drinks while we joined the queue for the carvery which we were looking forwards to. We noticed that the plates were cold, the food looked good quality, having served the Veg...tables on the plate, we went to put gravy on our plates, these were not labelled and not hot. We spoke to one of the staff regarding the cold food, we were not the only ones! we were told that it was probably the air conditioning. The quality of the food was good but the whole meal was ruined because of cold meals.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Z3110ZNgeoffs Sorry to see that you haven't enjoyed your visit we will pass on your feedback to the kitchen about the cold meals to ensure this doesn't happen again!!

Reviewed 16 September 2021

Cold food Scraps on cold meat Small portion Just trying to have lunch after work not happy at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi V9942UXmarkp Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit will feed this back to the kitchen so it doesn't happen again

Reviewed 16 September 2021

Called in late afternoon and ordered a ham and cheese wrap and sandwich . This came with roast potatoes . In all of our many years of dining out had we been presented with such appalling food . It’s enough to say that the potatoes...were completely cold and burnt to such a degree they resembled pieces of coal . I do not exaggerate . Having complained these were replaced with exactly the same ! A further complaint resulted all too late in another plate that based on previous experience we not unreasonably rejected . The assistant manager ,conceivably orchestrating events , seemed totally unapologetic perhaps because this has now become the norm at The Green Farm. We refused to pay for the food , which I would not have fed to my dog, and paid for the tea which unlike the rest was fit for human consumption. Avoid this place like the plague.....there are far better places in the area that pride themselves in what they serve and also recognise customer service .More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Alangee, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Hi Alangee, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that...More

Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

I took my mum for a Sunday dinner treat and booked a table in advance. When we arrived the staff were courteous and polite. Was given our table and told Trey would let us know when we could go to the Carvery. 5 minutes later...we’re we’re in the queue to get our meal. I had lamb and was given a huge portion of meat which tasted great. It melted in the mouth and was really well cooked. All veg were plentiful and hot. They had dumplings which seemed a little odd for a roast dinner! Service was impeccable and waiter was very polite, knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Hi Keith Thanks for the 5* review So happy to see you had a lovely time and the food was good will pass on your comments to the team Look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 29 August 2021

Terrible unfriendly service until we left where they expected us to return soon. The waitress was very rude when we asked to change tables as the table was very small for 5 guests.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Hi Callum Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit Will investigate the issue with the service you received to make sure this does not happen again

Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

Went for breakfast. Didn't realise that coffee and fruit drinks weren't included!! Queuing up was nightmare, big tables down the middle. Run of of napkins to hold hot plates. No one around to ask. Also not much to choose from. One one sort of egg...(fried). Order vegetarian sausages which were cooked to order. They were over cooked and tough to eat. Couldn't find anyone to reorder. Gone down hill. Know bank holiday and busy but standard should drop!!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Hi Darkone Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit It does state on our menus and online that breakfast does not include drinks. apologies regarding the napkins will speak to the team to make sure there are always napkins available for guests. Sorry...More

Reviewed 24 August 2021

I was no where near 2 meters away from the people next to me on a different table , I could have touched them without even having my arms straight, I had to whisper to my partner we were that close , when I asked...if they could amends this in this circumstance they said no and didn’t speak to us again until we had to get up and leave because we was so uncomfortable! Rude stuff and way to crowded, just money grabbers not worried about anyones safety !More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Hi Rhiannon Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit. Due to restrictions being lifted the 2 metre rule no longer applies which is why our tables are close together. If we had other tables free at that time the team would have happily...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
442 reviews
.05 km away
Village Hotel Portsmouth
1,604 reviews
1.35 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG hotel
789 reviews
1.87 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth
161 reviews
1.87 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Highbury Cafe & Restaurant
64 reviews
1.18 km away
Indian Kitchen
13 reviews
1.18 km away
The Golden Hind
307 reviews
.78 km away
Green Posts
88 reviews
.81 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Portsbridge Cosham
146 reviews
1.06 km away
WW1 Remembrance Centre
55 reviews
1.09 km away
Hilsea Lines
7 reviews
.48 km away
Ocean Retail Park
5 reviews
1.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sarahmK1491RS
24 July 2019|
Answer
Response from RobertFGCarter | Reviewed this property |
There is parking but it is tight especially on corners. I wouldn't be happy even with a small trailer. There is not much street parking nearby either.
0
Votes
expatmale
20 December 2016|
Answer
Response from TCHilsea | Property representative |
Hello expatmale, There's a Travelodge right next door to us that shares the same car park. Couldn't be closer. Visit their website for more details
0
Votes
Z4752LSalans
22 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Z4752LSalans | Reviewed this property |
I think it is a weekly draw...
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Toby Carvery Hilsea

Yes, Toby Carvery Hilsea offers takeaway services.

Toby Carvery Hilsea is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3