We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Azzurro - Portsmouth

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unit R11U Victory Business Centre Somers Road North | Seafront Upper Level, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 1PJ, England
+44 23 9283 2111
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Booked this place as a last minute thing,wasn't sure what to expect. Not sure where to start....so let's do food the menu is good and food ok (some of the food we had was good some bit basic and clearly shop bought. the service again up and down with one young lady doing her best (she was very sweet) the... More 

Helpful?
Thank justin s
Province of Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The place itself is very nice, with a lovely view over the sea. I had a delicious coppa gamberetti as starter. I ordered a pizza rustica. It was very good, but the base was too thin. Plus the service was quite slow, but generally speaking I had a good lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Giulia M
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Giumia M Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon Regards Karen More 

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was informed the pasta was fresh. It was not, it is dried pasta not cooked through. Not al dente but not cooked. When I complained the manager argued with me. Very poor service

Helpful?
Thank pauline h
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Pauline H Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to the manager who remembers you and apologies as he never wants to upset anyone and he noted that you enjoyed the lunch offer of a pasta and small wine. You wanted a larger wine ( only small is included in the offer) and you were unhappy about this... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here with my wife for a quiet spot of lunch and it's was brilliant. The Lasagne that I ordered was fresh and very tasty while the Spaghetti Bolognese that my wife ordered was also amazing. The view of the water and boats was very relaxing and made for a chilled out time. Keep up the good work .

Helpful?
Thank SSN123
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear SSN123 Thank you for your lovely comments and Daniele and his team wish to welcome you back again soon Kind Regards Karen More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staffs are very rude. Me and my partner went in for lunch and the staffs doesn't look like they want to help. They all stood behind the bar, speak and laugh in their own language. Also, its not a dog friendly restaurant. They won't serve when you have a dog.

Helpful?
Thank LokYi F
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear LokYi F Apologies for any dissatisfaction . We do not mind dogs on the terrace but unfortunately our policy is not to have a dog in the restaurant unless it is a guide or hearing dog Regards Karen More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Azzurro on Gunwharf Quays is only a shortish walk from my home so it's not surprising that I go there regularly for coffee with friends and/or business clients. I did so yesterday too - that is, I meant to go for a coffee. It ended up as a long lunch with beer, pizza and desserts. As ever, all were enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank CSK33
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear CSK33 delighted to hear your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon Regards Karen More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I had been looking forward to eating here on Tuesday afternoon. The restaurant was virtually empty inside and out. We sat down outside with our dog, read the menu for 10 minutes and decided what we wanted. When I went inside to order they said we cannot as they do not accept dogs. There was nobody else... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yauyu2
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Yauyu2 I have provided feedback to your complaint already on the previous review apologies again Karen More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is by far one of the best places to eat in Gunwharf. The food is so incredibly well cooked here, never had anything less than an exceptional meal. Great value and service is reasonably good, sometimes excellent. I usually have pasta, sometimes restaurant skimp on the portion size but they get it just right here.

Helpful?
Thank EXmiles
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your valued and kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Karen More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic service and the food is absolutely amazing! Try the risotto! You're sat straight away and the waiters really do care - the service really is 5 star. So is the food. The food comes out super quick - in some cases too quick! And we left totally stuffed after having a brilliant meal. It also wasn't too expensive -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma F
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Emma F thanks for the fabulous review - and you are totally right we really do care and we hope that you will be back soon Kind Regards Karen More 

Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited at 5pm on April 6th 2017. Ordered a Chicken Caesar salad and a lasagne. The lasagne was OK but I was surprised to be told that there was no bread available! The so called Ceasar salad arrived - inedible. It was difficult to know which part of the chicken the meat had come from, if it was indeed chicken!... More 

Helpful?
Thank WalesPriscilla
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear WalesPriscilla I am very sorry to read your comments and apologise for any dissatisfaction. Your comments have been noted and we will use these to improve Regards Karen More 

Travellers who viewed Azzurro - Portsmouth also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Azzurro - Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Groups, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit R11U Victory Business Centre Somers Road North | Seafront Upper Level, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 1PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9283 2111
Description
Azzurro is a popular chain of Italian restaurants across the UK serving a mixture of pasta and pizza staples together with a selection of more sophisticated dishes. This Portsmouth branch is set next to the Spinnaker Tower in the revitalised area of Gunwharf Quays, and has a relaxed, family-friendly vibe, with colouring sheets and children's menus to keep the kids entertained. It is also a splendid choice for summer functions, with the outdoor terrace offering a spectacular view overlooking the Solent. Inspired by the finest Italian recipes, Azzurro uses the freshest ingredients to create a great selection of classic Italian dishes and frequently changing specials to ensure that you can enjoy a new culinary experience with each visit. Each meal is freshly prepared on-site, meaning that you will be served good food fast, rather than just fast food. As well as stocking some truly exceptional wines from both traditional and New World regions, the bars at Azzurro also offer some of Europe's most loved beers on draught and bottled.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Azzurro - Portsmouth staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?