We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water Margin - CLOSED

Gunwharf Quays | Opposite the Spinaker Tower, Restaurant on the first floor, Portsmouth PO1 3TZ, England
+44 23 9229 3388
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good31%
  • Average23%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“king prawns” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gunwharf Quays | Opposite the Spinaker Tower, Restaurant on the first floor, Portsmouth PO1 3TZ, England
All Details
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016

Always go to the Water margin when staying in Gun Wharf great food friendly staff, have visited since place opened must be 10 years or so, but must say to manager its looking tired and needs refurbishing.More

Thank Peter S
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Hello Peter Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear that diners enjoyed their experience, particularly from a regular diner such as you. "Great food, friendly staff" Thank you for such nice comments, i will pass your these on to our team....More

Reviewed 10 September 2016

The on line Menu, clearly advertise's Ice Cream, but on the number of occasions we recently visited the restaurant in the evening in August/Sept, none has been available?. This has been brought to the staffs attention on paying the bill, no explanation was given, as...More

Thank cedar13way
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience. The on line menu advertises ice cream, but also says "All dishes are subject to availability and may be substituted" We have had...More

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Don't come here expecting great Chinese food, it's average overall. Think it's best to avoid anything that's been fried as all is very oily/greasy. The noodles are OK, and some of the curry-type dishes weren't bad. Price is OK considering the location and once you...More

Thank Sail1960
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you liked the noodles and curry dishes and found our all you can eat buffet to have a reasonable price. We note your comments regarding the fried dishes...More

Reviewed 1 September 2016

We were last at the Water Margin in 2013 and while not regulars it was our usual choice for lunch when at Gunwharf Keys. Having been disappointed at a nearby pub we drove to somewhere that had always been reliable previously but were sadly disappointed....More

Thank Peter E
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Hello Peter Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. "The staff were pleasant enough" Thank you for this I will pass your comments to our team. Unlike many of our competitors, we do not mass produce. Our food is cooked in...More

Reviewed 28 August 2016

Food is hot & plentiful, self service, all you can eat for one price. Only problem is that it is like sitting in an old Works Canteen from the 50/60's. It has lost it's appeal since being re-opened after a fire, even it's Staff have...More

Thank Carol T
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hello Carol Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you found our all you can eat buffet to have hot and plentiful food. Our layout has to be open plan and large format. Unlike an...More

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Canteen style all you can eat Chinese buffet. Nice food, regularly restocked. Also serve pizza, chips etc for those that don't like Chinese food. Drinks are expensive.More

1  Thank Earl68
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and that you found our all you can eat buffet to have nice food. We serve 4 different pizzas, chips, Hash browns and many...More

Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is a buffet restaurant and the food is amazing, if in Portsmouth and you like Cantonese food this is the place.More

Thank Wendy W
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello Wendy Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and that you found our all you can eat buffet to have amazing food. We hope to see you back soon. Sunil...More

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The Water Margin is a Chinese / oriental "all you can eat" buffet restaurant. PLUS: There are a huge range of dishes available for the evening sitting and less for lunch (but it's cheaper). There is a Tempanyaki grill to cook food to order too....More

Thank Graham N
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Hello Graham. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and that you found our all you can eat buffet to have a huge range of dishes and good price. Yes The...More

Reviewed 17 August 2016

The food is good, it's a bit like the school canteen and I did find it amusing that my 13 years old son had to be charged as an adult because he is tall.More

Thank steve r
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello Steve. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and that you found our all you can eat buffet to have good food. It is especially pleasing to hear this from...More

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Avoid this so called restaurant been to much better street markets in China, dirty, smelly, food Urgh kitchen don't look will not be back oh! Over pricedMore

Thank snagbuster
JohnW1960, Manager at Water Margin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

We were sorry to read your review. It is difficult to respond to this, as you don't tell us in any detail what you didn't like about our food, or what "food Urgh" means. We welcome constructive criticism; this enables us to improve our customer...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Loch Fyne - Portsmouth
1,690 reviews
.17 km away
Carluccio's - Portsmouth
665 reviews
.14 km away
The Old Customs House
972 reviews
.14 km away
Cafe Rouge Portsmouth
768 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
HMS Warrior 1860
1,846 reviews
.28 km away
Spinnaker Tower
3,843 reviews
.07 km away
Gunwharf Quays
1,905 reviews
.11 km away
Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries
1,144 reviews
.42 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$10 - US$18
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 16:00
Monday
17:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
17:00 - 23:30
12:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gunwharf Quays | Opposite the Spinaker Tower, Restaurant on the first floor, Portsmouth PO1 3TZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9229 3388
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing