We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Farmers Home

) #105 of 717 Restaurants in Southampton $$ - $$$ , British,
Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
+44 1489 860457
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Went to the farmers for lunch with my other half, I had the mixed grill and was ok and my other half had a ploughman's lunch that see enjoyed. I haven't been there for a few years and I felt that the food wasn't as...More

Thank Wozzer75
Reviewed 4 days ago

Just had a meal with my wife and I paid nearly £19.00 for a piece of sirloin steak. The steak was chewy and at least a quarter of it was fat or Grissle, it was warm at best and if Gordon Ramsey had been presented...More

Thank Paul G
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Paul G, We are very sorry to hear about the steak you had. We work closely with our butcher to get superior quality steaks and will be investigating how it was that you received something not up to standard. The only way we can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great food but response to our question we would like one of those tables over there please was :-'not those ones you wont - they're booked' felt like just walking out his manner and words were so cruel and unfriendlyMore

1  Thank gmax777
Jason G, Owner at The Farmers Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear gmax777, We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the food in our establishment but troubled by the report about the service you received. We would very much welcome some more information from you about your visit emailed to thefarmershome@gmail.com - time and date,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to the Farmers Home many times as a couple and with friends and family, always excellent food and service. The staff are very attentive and the food is good English no fuss food, they also have a great garden area for sitting...More

Thank foordy65
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second visit, took my boyfriend this time. Had the beef wellington again as it was on the specials board, and the other half had a steak from the menu. Nothing to complain about at all. Food hot, fresh and plenty of it. Did not need...More

Thank Sandra F
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed this experience wide range of food a lovely dining experience friendly staff attentive service a real professional establishment who take food seriously

Thank Gary V
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Is there a reason for the poor food? Have enjoyed the home cooked ham salad here for several visits, not today, ham was pale and insipid looking and tasteless, small amount of salad (which was brown). What a shame, maybe have to cross off list....More

Thank Jpw385
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely evening for a family 60th birthday. Lovely location, great food and very friendly, helpful staff.

Thank Suzanne B
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We have visited many times and have always enjoyed ourselves. The food is excellent for Gluten Free, and the outdoor garden area is great for a sunny day. Good value for money and friendly staff!

Thank Emma-Jane B
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Went for food , restaurant prices for pub food , found staff really couldn't be bothered, not rude but we felt as though we were being intrusive by ordering food . Food portions were very small and quality was very disappointing. Was told to sit...More

Thank DavidRuth R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Robin Hood
283 reviews
2.09 km away
Brewery bar
286 reviews
2.93 km away
Elsies Traditional Tea Room
219 reviews
3.01 km away
Regginas Ristorante Italiano
518 reviews
2.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kennet & Avon Canal
60 reviews
.77 km away
Botleigh Grange Spa
57 reviews
3.24 km away
Bishop's Waltham Palace
61 reviews
3.74 km away
BellaCrafts
6 reviews
4.28 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
kelsi25
Do you have a baby change facility? Thanks
11 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Jason G | Property representative |
Hi Kelsi25, Yes we have a flip-down baby changing table in one of the ladies' cubicles. Kind regards
0
Votes
Elaine R
Does it have a disabled toilet please?
28 July 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Jason G | Property representative |
Hi Elaine, We don't have a disabled toilet at the present time; due to the age of the building we are still working on the logistics of one. Our toilets are up two steps from the bar area but there are level entry dining... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Heathen Street | Durley, Southampton SO32 2BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 860457
  • E-mail
Description
Tel: 01489860457
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing