We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#12 of 36 Bar in Hereford
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
86
25
7
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
86
25
7
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade chips sunday roast cheesecake sandwich steak garlic mushrooms wye valley brewery cooked beautifully great tasting the pub visit hereford butty bach food arrived light lunch bite to eat food was amazing specials board
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

This dog friendly pub in the heart of Hereford was great for a recent lunch stop. Staff were very helpful making sure our dog had fresh water. Food prices were average and the food itself was very tasty. My hunters chicken came heaped up on...a big plate consisting of chicken breast, parmaham. Melted cheese and a thick BBQ gravy along with fresh veg and rustic new potatoes. Certainly a meal with a twist and very nice. Well worth a try if your in this area.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 June 2021

Booked tables for 13 of us to watch the football -n the beer garden. Fantastic atmosphere, great attentive staff, good beer and delicious food. We had cheese and meat platter (amongst other things) and loved it. Cheese dip to die for (chef's secret recipe). Landlord...is a great guy + warm and friendly welcome.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Unremarkable pub from the outside but the food was amazing. I went for the salmon burger (sound unusual but go with it) and my hubby went for the chefs curry. Prompt service and friendly staff too.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

With no one watching the TV, empty tables and the speakers far too loud. Kindly asked to have it turned down. Received a cart blanch No!. It is a real shame and disappointed at a time independent business are wanting us to return. Sad to...say we will not be returning.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

Absolutely lovely meal, sat outside under cover with heaters. Food was lovely and fresh, great prices and nice variety

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

When we walked through the back we were pleasantly surprised as the pub interior and especially the beer garden were lovely. The service was excellent and they catered for picky tastes with charm and patience. Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 April 2021 via mobile

Lovely helpful staff, a very accommodating chef. We’ll definitely be returning...our favourite place

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 December 2020

I've eaten here a few times and the food is always good, with loads of choice on the menu and also always a wonderful flavour of cheesecake on offer (I had oreo) the staff are friendly and attentive and we are looking forward to visiting...agian.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Booked a table for 6 (all from the same bubble) 5pm. We entered to a very empty pub 6 people in the bar and 2 tables in the restaurant with a few drinking outside. We sat down and handed the menus then ordered drinks with...a waitress who clearly didn't want to be working (owners daughter maybe as giving out orders to other staff) then asked about the chilli to be told that is the wrong menu.... That's the evening menu, being late afternoon were we able to order of that instead of the smaller lunch menu? NO was the reply very sternly! We ordered the food 50 mins later our food arrived....(With one dish forgotten about which then arrived within 5mins 🤔) I'm sorry to say it was very mediocre and clearly the suppliers have increased the prices but the quality has definitely slipped. Tripple cooked chips is more of an excuse to over cook them as they clearly were over cooked. The burgers were dry and the buns just as dry 😌 The honey roast ham.... Was sliced in the supermarket (wafer-thin) and not home cooked as expected, on my last visit (January) the lady (whom I assumed to be landlady) ws telling me in great length about her son the self taught chef and how almost everything on the menu was homemade! The menu really is poor quality and over priced in my honest opinion. Very sad to say we won't be coming back, made to feel unwelcoming, maybe just an off day for the staff but the food certainly has got worse then the standard before C19More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?5  
204charliea, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Good evening, Thank you for your review, we take every review on board. As we are always looking at ways to improve. Could you please drop us a email, with the date you came in just so we can look into this review please. The...More

Reviewed 1 October 2020

How many places can you have an excellent lunch with drinks for under a tenner ? We shared probably the best roast beef sandwich ( rare ) with horseradish, coleslaw & a basket of excellent chips with a pint & a half of Butty Bach...& handed over - metaphorically - £9.50 ! Couldn't fault it, and only 50 yards from The Cathedral. PerfectMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Green Dragon Hotel
1,205 reviews
.15 km away
Castle House Hotel
595 reviews
.36 km away
Travelodge Hereford
422 reviews
.61 km away
Merton Hotel
140 reviews
.69 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ponte Vecchio
378 reviews
.09 km away
King Street Kitchen
238 reviews
.07 km away
Rocket
281 reviews
.13 km away
La Madeleine
410 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hereford Cathedral
1,949 reviews
.11 km away
The Black and White House Museum
268 reviews
.29 km away
Hereford Bull Statue
70 reviews
.31 km away
St Peters Church Hereford
25 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Spread Eagle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spread Eagle

The Spread Eagle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4