We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Barge

The Folly, Hertford SG14 1QD, England
+44 1992 581871
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“brisket” (3 reviews)
“burgers” (13 reviews)
“pie” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Folly, Hertford SG14 1QD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very friendly pub right on the Lea Navigation. There is a very good selection of beer and this time of year there is usually spiced cider and mulled wine too. The bar was very busy but we were taken to our table...More

1  Thank Paul J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had the good fortune to walk into this lovely pub last evening. Your New Zealand bar man very helpful. Comfy and really nice place. Will come back again. Roy & Jane Cordon. Visiting from Cyrus.

Thank Roylion
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely pub with open fires, great staff and a really good selection of beers and ciders. The food looks good but I have only ever eaten pork scratching's here. Nice location right on the river.

Thank hypnomick
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Good food and varied menu, very friendly and good service. Lovely views of the river. A popular pub always busy.

Thank Marilyn P
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch on the off chance they had a space. Luckily they managed to fit us in. Lovely spot by the window sadly not over looking the canal but we didn't mind. We were seated quickly but the forgotten about as...More

Thank Suzanne B
howmanytimes, Manager at The Old Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Suzanne, thanks so much for your lovely review we're glad you enjoyed you're food! I'm so sorry you had to wait to get someone's attention, Sundays are a very busy day for us, we do try our best to look after everyone as best...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

£5 a pint in an old dated pub, thats not changed since I was last there 10 years ago. Mate got ripped off on his round, just a dull, over priced few pintsMore

Thank Craftbeerlover666
howmanytimes, Manager at The Old Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Sir or Madam, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. A small selection of our craft beers or strong ales are £5 a pint as they are specialist products, other beers and lagers start at £3.65 a pint. As displayed on...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting fantastic barman possibly the worst food I have ever been served. Meat pie with literally no meat unbelievably awful.More

Thank ericedward
howmanytimes, Owner at The Old Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Eric, I'm so sorry I have only just seen this review. I have looked into the matter and it was a genuine mistake. (and one I have taken steps to ensure will never happen again) I can only apologise, as Josh did at the...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Considering this is on the river its such a shame you are tucked at the back if you want to be outside. I appreciate there is no way you could put tables facing the river although there were years ago before the pub was extended...More

Thank jansjournal
howmanytimes, Manager at The Old Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Jan, Thanks for your feedback. There are several tables at the front of the pub. (Next to the river) We can't put seating directly next to the river as this is a narrow public footpath and the land does not belong to us. (The...More

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

First time been to this pub beautiful setting lovely food nice atmosphere altogether A nice Sunday roast with friends

Thank John D
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Food and staff ok but won't be going back because of rude landlord!!!! Behaviour towards staff and customers was disgusting

Thank laurence809
howmanytimes, Manager at The Old Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Laurence, we honestly have no idea what you are referring to! Please could you give me some more info so I can look into this further? When was this exactly and who was involved? Thanks, Sally.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lussmanns - Hertford
638 reviews
.22 km away
Turkish Kitchen
369 reviews
.19 km away
Woolpack
106 reviews
.20 km away
Rose Cafe
75 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hertford Theatre
105 reviews
.22 km away
Hertford Museum
59 reviews
.09 km away
Hertford Castle
45 reviews
.35 km away
Hartham Commons
12 reviews
.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
62warren28
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from howmanytimes | Property representative |
Hi, apologies for the delay in response we have been away. We currently only have three lads that work on the bar and none of them can remember any such exchanges. I am sorry that you feel you have had a bad experience, I... More
0
Votes
Sammark12345
10 January 2017|
Answer
Response from howmanytimes | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for the enquiry. Unfortunately our license doesn't allow children after 7pm. We do serve food all day Monday to Saturday (12 - 10pm) and until 6pm on a Sunday. We would be happy to accommodate your family if... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Folly, Hertford SG14 1QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hertford
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 581871
  • E-mail
Description
Situated at the head of the river lee navigation in Hertford, The Old Barge pub makes an excellent destination for cyclists, walkers and river users. A proper family (Children welcome until 7pm)local pub in a riverside setting with a beer garden, small car park and sheltered, heated smoking area to the rear.A delicious contemporary British menu, with daily chef's specials, complements an extensive range of real ales, World beers, lagers, ciders, perrys, wines and a premium bottled selection.There is a pub quiz night every sunday, and a music quiz every last Thursday of the month, & regular beer festivals throughout the year. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing