We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tudors Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
23-25 Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1EZ, England
+44 1727 853624
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Staines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We dined at the Tudor Restaurant last night and have to say had an absolutely wonderful evening. We haven't dined in the Tudor restaurant since September 2014 for one reason but have been in at Great Fosters for many other occasions. The Tudor restaurant is very special and the level of service was always good. Yet now it is on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irene G
Level Contributor
3 reviews
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016

The Tudor is a real find with warm friendly staff serving superby cooked food.Great value for money.We visited today for a family birthday lunch and came away so pleased that we found this tudor gem in the heart of St Albans

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Located within the White Hart Hotel the lovely oak panelled dining room with inglenook fireplace makes for a gorgeous setting. We were served by a charming Italian waitress from Milan who was very helpful throughout. The menu has plenty of choice albeit the starters were a bit limited. The mains choice was good with different meats and fish to choose... More 

Helpful?
Thank 138Paul138
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

Went here a few years ago and the service was diabolical but the food was good. So we thought we would give them another try and this time the service was fine, we had a very nice efficient young waitress and the food was very good. It was quiet there but it was a lunch time. Glad we went back.

Helpful?
Thank Janet M
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Like many other people, we went here as part of the Travelzoo steak and Prosecco deal. The waitress was very friendly and welcoming. We were a bit early so had a drink in the bar before going to out table. We opted for starters as well. The baked Camembert was superb and risotto pretty good. The steaks were disappointing: cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank M S
J M, Owner at Tudors Restaurant, responded to this review

We would like to apologise for the problem with the steaks. We did receive one whole fillet that was apparently below the normal standard. We have changed supplier since that date and we are pleased to confirm that this has solved the problem. It is well documented on the Travel Zoo offer that we charge the full 12.5% service charge.... More 

home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

6 of us went for fillet steak and prosecco (travelzoo offer). Asked for the prosecco when we arrived and then waited 25 minutes for it. We all had starters which were ok although the rice in the kedgeree was very al dente. It was a nice touch to be told we could swop the steak for anything else on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

We went for lunch with another couple on a Travelzoo voucher for fillet steak meal with Prosecco. The fillet steak was served with triple cooked chips, shallots and a side salad and everything was delicious. The steak was so tender and the flavours in the shallots and jus very good. The Travelzoo deal meant that we ate for about half... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindylou1949
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

Had a great fillet steak dinner on a travelzoo deal for £29 for 2 people, glass of presecco each and a fillet steak dinner. A bargin and a great steak! Ambiance was spoint by playing pop music in such an old building, but then the servers were all very youung, inexperienced staff.Great value. Go!

Helpful?
Thank Dons12345
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

Calm relaxed feel. Gorgeous food and at a reasonable price. Nice interior, great for a winter meal out as has a lovely warm feel.

Helpful?
Thank jane32968
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

Came here for a Sunday roast, there was no staff to be seen when we walked in and as I am disabled I needed to sit, the dinning room was near empty so I sat down instead of waiting - good job too as we waited a good view minutes before any staff appeared. When the waitress did appear she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gigi_Winnie

Travellers who viewed Tudors Restaurant also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Tudors Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$50
Cuisine
British, European
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23-25 Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 853624
Description
Tudors is a delightful oak panelled restaurant within the historic White Hart Hotel which was built in 1470. We have a very pleasant outside terrace area for summer dining and in the winter we always have a real fire burning in our grand fireplace within the restaurant.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tudors Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tudors Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?