We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kashmir Tandoori

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Palace Street, Canterbury CT1 2DZ, England
+44 1227 462050
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 223: English reviews
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Called to book. Interestingly didn't take a reservation name of phone number. Arrived at correct time with one member going to park car. Waiting staff didn't seen that interested and we had chase up menu and order drinks..probably 5 minutes before we we able to order drinks. Ordered some poppadoms and ordered our meals. Took at least 45 min to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Kashmir, how disappointing that you cannot deliver on your service. It is not acceptable to forget an element of an order and simply say 'we will credit you next time'. The food was cold on arrival and an element missing (prawn puree). Will not be ordering from you again. Terrible. I would advise people to find an alternative resturant/take away.

Helpful?
Thank JBatchelorMpolley
kashmirtandoori, Manager at Kashmir Tandoori, responded to this review

Sorry for ur bad experience... one mistake doesn't not make us terrible ...we only advice a Credit because by the time we would of got your food out to you your mail of got cold . Sorry once again we had an extremely busy night More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
895 reviews
601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this restaurant for lunch in Canterbury with my partner and mother, mainly so that we could use the Gourmet Society discount card. Upon entering and asking to use it though, the manager mumbled something like "we'll see" and turned to walk into the kitchen. After we found him, that is, as we walked into a very small and... More 

Helpful?
Thank GandalfTheDrunk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son boards at the school opposite so I find myself eating here often. The food is generally of a high standard but I find my experience can vary depending on the time of the week. The relatively quieter days (Mon - Thur) provide exceptional food and service. my rating is based on those days. Over the weekend, the venue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iqbal H
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Has a disappointing meal here. The portions were generous but overladen with ghee which made the food rather unpleasant to eat. We both felt rather unhealthy afterwards. The one customer toilet was not especially clean and there were no hand drying facilities. The staff were friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank LucySky99
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Famished after walking a part of the North Downs Way, we were given a tip as to where we could find restaurants frequented by the locals. Being a Saturday evening and not having made a reservation, we were a bit sceptical whether there would be place for 5 in any restaurant. We were welcomed to Kashmir as if we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milton v
kashmirtandoori, Manager at Kashmir Tandoori, responded to this review

Thanks for u review 😎 More 

Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the outside this restaurant doesn't have much to offer. We saw many people look at the windows, and then through them obviously speculating whether to enter the portals. It is a pity that they didn't take that chance, as the food is fabulous. The staff are very courteous and attentive, the portions were large and we were unable to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susanej
kashmirtandoori, Owner at Kashmir Tandoori, responded to this review

Thanks 🙏🏾 More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived after a friend booked a table at this restaurat, the staff member who greeted us (I understand to be the Manager) was somewhat put out and told us to sit anywhere. After finding a seat, we ordered drinks from another member of staff who again did not engage, smile or even talk to us so no surprise when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smiffie2014
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed the food, some tasty dishes and a good selection room. However, and as per previous, the staff and the (I believe manager) could do with brushing up on his customer services skills. We basically got asked to vacate the table 5 mins after they cleared the mains plates, no desert offered and we had just both two bottles... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunburst1111
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There was a very friendly atmosphere. We had four vegetarian dishes and they were all very tasty. We will definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank A-happy-vegetarian

Travellers who viewed Kashmir Tandoori also viewed

 

Been to Kashmir Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Palace Street, Canterbury CT1 2DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Canterbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 462050

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kashmir Tandoori and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kashmir Tandoori staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?