We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yinjibar

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Charles Street, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DF, England
+44 1482 228998
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been to this restaurant a few times and the food has always been great. A really good selection of dishes including quite a few more unusual ones. Huge portions. Very friendly service and the food arrived very promptly even though it was busy.

Helpful?
Thank HMK2013
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner popped in the other day and ordered the scallops which was absolutely to die for, succulent and juicy packed with flavour and massive too with some lovely Asian noodles on top. Someone on the table next to us got the soft shell crab which also looked amazing and they said it was too so I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very popular Chinese restaurant probably because of the value for money it represents. The portions are huge ( if that's what you like), the set menu for 2 could have fed 4! The food is tasty but bulked out too much with onion. It was close by our hotel so we dined there before the theatre. Not a repeat visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuartb420
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food average if that. Crispy tofu would be described as soggy. No apology just excuses. Made apologetic complaint and felt from management that we were to to blame. This is after having asked for advice in choosing from menu. Couldn't at all recommend this place especially in light of response from management to gentle complaint.

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Hull overnight staying with family. My nephew took us to Yinjbar as he eats there often. The food was delicious we had sea bass, salt and pepper squid. and a prawn and ginger dish. We started with dim sun and drank jasmine tea. It was very busy with all the events in the city center.but the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam F
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been going regularly for about 12 years but moved out of the city so it's the first time we've been back for about a year ,while visiting the "we are hull"show for city of culture we called in to eat it's still as good as ever worth a visit ,fast fresh food and great prices Awesome #hull2017

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a friend's birthday the food is every body enjoy and service also fine the is bit small rather everythings ok

Helpful?
Thank Jack S
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with my husband for lunch on Christmas Eve, heard really good things, but had never tried it. We were in the area and looking for something to eat, went to a couple of pubs, the last one recommended Yinjibar. The resturant is small, but tidy and clean, the staff were friendly and polite. We had dim sum, duck and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Starletti_Ellie
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's really middling quality food. Dumplings are average, the last time I went my chive dumplings were still frozen in the middle. I can't give a great review to reheated food. Lots of people I know rave about this place but it's nothing special. I did actually really enjoy the california roll, to be fair.

Helpful?
Thank eggbertshootsfire
Hull
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Friday night for a meal with six other ex work colleagues. Very nice greeting on arrival, drinks ordered first, Chinese beers. We debated the set menu for eight that was offered to us but decided to let everybody choose their own courses. We couldn't believe how quick the starters were brought to us after ordering. Everybody enjoyed their starters... More 

Helpful?
Thank HullMike

Travellers who viewed Yinjibar also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Yinjibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Charles Street, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Kingston-upon-Hull
  • Phone Number: +44 1482 228998

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Yinjibar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Yinjibar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?