We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gateway Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
+44 1539 724187
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (15 reviews)
“fish and chips” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Very pleasant and quiet stay here the other month whilst i was up working in the area, comfortable and clean rooms for a good price. Enjoyed a particularly good burger which great pub chips and onion rings on one night. Couldnt always catch breakfast in...More

Thank tom l
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Tom, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We have recently taken over the business so i believe you stayed under the previous ownership but we are glad nonetheless the you enjoyed your stay. If you come to stop again please...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely little hotel, very clean and comfortable. Dinner was very tasty, I had rump of lamb and my friend had a steak, washed down with a lovely red wine. Atmosphre was relaxed and cosy. Breakfast next morning was also very good too.More

Thank maryon59
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Maryon59, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your comments as we and our team work very hard in making sure our guests do enjoy themselves and we're all glad...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service, friendly people, good food at a reasonable price, just can’t work out why it’s not more popular. Easy parking and great ambiance finish he package.More

Thank Colin D
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Colin, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Having recently taken over the business reviews like your will surely help us take The Gateway Inn to where...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for lunch and found a lovely re furnished pub beautifully decorated but very expensive and lacking in atmosphere. I chose the pea and ham soup which at £4.95 was very reasonable, unfortunately there was not a piece of ham anywhere in the...More

Thank Sharon M
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're sorry that you found our prices to be expensive. We do try to be competitive in the local market and do offer quality, locally sourced food but we will of course...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’m never usually one to review a meal but I have to let my views on this gem of a place known. We were driving towards Lake Windermere and happened upon this place. It was absolutely wonderful, from entering we had a warm welcome from...More

Thank fmelling
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and a glowing one at that! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your birthdays too. We look forward to seeing you both again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a great stay at The Gateway Inn. The pub/hotel is very impressive from outside. Inside the pub is very welcoming after a cold day of walking in the lakes. The food was really good and value for money. The rooms...More

Thank John W
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello John, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us look forward to seeing you again soon. We have only recently taken over the business but have already implemented some changes to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have written this place down in the past. Glad to say we have been pleased with the food and the service recently. We live half a mile away so I suppose it's our local. I think the place has a new manager and it...More

Thank dginz
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dginz, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You are correct, we have recently taken over and whilst there's still lots to do to get The Gateway Inn to where we want it to be we're glad you've noticed a difference...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set up high, the sturdy double fronted house of Lakeland stone provided a comfortable 2 night stay. However in our experience it was the staff team that justify 4 stars. Faced with situations out of their control i.e. a power cut across half of Kendal,...More

Thank Lavarcham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful restaurant, beautifully and conveniently situated. Nicely decorated dining room and the food was reasonable in price, good quality, and attractively served. Would have been perfect to celebrate a very special occasion for our party of seven on a Sunday lunchtime but it soon went...More

Thank Valerie M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well turned up at 3:05pm and couldn’t get in. Went across the road and had coffees out the chill. Once in, all very nicely decorated complete with the usual cobwebs in the bathroom. The shower needed a degree in plumbing to operate but once mastered...More

1  Thank bezzershubby
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths
489 reviews
.07 km away
Deja Vu
673 reviews
2.54 km away
Farrers Tea and coffee Shop
223 reviews
2.73 km away
Slate Bar and Cafe
102 reviews
2.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brewery Arts Centre
334 reviews
2.94 km away
The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
135 reviews
2.85 km away
Kendal Museum
91 reviews
2.78 km away
The Antiques Emporium
34 reviews
2.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Clare D
26 October 2017|
Answer
Response from TheGatewayInnKendal | Property representative |
Yes we have a children menu
0
Votes
Redfox6475
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from VicarNigel | Reviewed this property |
Yes - as far as I am aware
0
Votes
Dan W
29 August 2015|
Answer
Response from TheGatewayInnKendal | Property representative |
Hi Dan W! we start serving food at 12 and serve all day until 9 we serve coffees and drinks from 1030 Dale
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$33
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 724187
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing