We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Layton Rakes

) #114 of 589 Restaurants in Blackpool $ , British,
17-25 Market Street, Blackpool FY1 1ET, England
+44 1253 743710
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good41%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (16 reviews)
“roof terrace” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
17-25 Market Street, Blackpool FY1 1ET, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We called in for a drink on the Fri afternoon and we went up on to the rooftop a really nice area very pleasant.. we went back on the Saturday after and decided to have our lunch .. I must say it was the best...More

Thank 81margaret
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very pleased about the continued efficient service that you received. Unfortunately due to local licensing laws and noise complaints etc. we have to close the roof terrace at 10pm latest. Otherwise It would be open much...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a 2 day break in Blackpool and came here both days for our dinner. Drink and a burger for less than £10. Quick service and a lovely place

Thank Gina W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a 5 day holiday break in Blackpool, on a coaching holiday. On Thursday 29th June 2017 we went shopping in Blackpool town centre, after doing our shopping we decided to visit the Layton Rakes a public house owned by the Wetherspoon pub...More

Thank yorkieborn
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once again popped in for a quick drink and snack. The staff were not as friendly or courteous as when we visited the last time. Still thought it was a little too expensive for a Wetherspoons but as it is a seaside town I suppose...More

Thank Michael P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

But nice Wetherspoon pub under the tower but at the back although there might be a sea view from the upstairs bar. cheaper than other places nearby.

Thank Andy C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Meal was alright just tasted wetherspoons which is okay really. Enjoyed the cosy atmosphere and found staff (maybe manager with beard) on 1st floor very friendly. Other customers were entertainment enough tbh.Was sorry when it was time to go as enjoyed people watching from first...More

3  Thank Truthfulady1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Selling point seems to be that it offers a rooftop terrace for alfresco cheap lager, but apart from that it's a normal Wetherspoon.

Thank Damian T
Reviewed 17 June 2017

this placewas modern from the outside but was very dark on entry . good pint of john smiths for £2.49 .

Thank chris1953jr
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We visited for a evening meal and ordered useing the new app. This is great no queueing just order and wait. This is where the service stopped. On delivery our doom bar pints we were told if we want more it was quicker to go...More

Thank mysteryvisitor1
Reviewed 2 June 2017

A three story W/spoons with a roof terrace. Reasonable but not large selection of real ales. Quieter than the Lion and Albert. Beer was good, eventually after the first dead pint. Second was excellent. Food? No tomato soup, nor any other; tough if you are...More

Thank StewKent
Nearby Restaurants
Bella Italia Blackpool Church Street
654 reviews
.11 km away
The Coffee Pot
116 reviews
.12 km away
Las Iguanas
486 reviews
.09 km away
123 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blackpool Tourist Information Centre
240 reviews
.11 km away
Escape Room Centre
76 reviews
.13 km away
High Jinx Magic and Illusion Show
89 reviews
.12 km away
The Mitre Pub
104 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lauren F
5 October 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Suffolkpool | Reviewed this property |
yes it does
1 September 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from thelaytonrakes | Property representative |
Afternoon, yes children are allowed on the roof terrace at night providing that they are supervised. The licencing hours for children are until 11pm Sunday-Thursday and 10pm Friday-Saturday
15 March 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from thelaytonrakes | Property representative |
we do accept contacless on all 3 bars
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 00:00
09:00 - 01:00
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17-25 Market Street, Blackpool FY1 1ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 743710
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing